We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail was amazing”
Review of maison557

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
maison557
Ranked #11 of 502 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Maison 557 was our first stop in Cambodia. This was an amazing stay for us all because of the attention to detail provided by Alida. She gave us wonderful tips for our evening out, restaurant recommendation was spot on, local tips were so useful, and she was just a great over all resource! When we could come back for the evening we would find candles lit around our pool. We didn't have to ask for breakfast it was there shortly after we woke for the day. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Many thanks Alida you made our whole trip!

Room Tip: The rooms with a private pool area amazing!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CJ-Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for maison557
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

If you want to move away from the tourist hub then this is your hotel.Small and quaint.Very clean, beautiful garden and pool.The bathroom is absolutely beautiful and spacious...very spacious...This is the place to go if you are looking for something different! Amazing staff

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Trishell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This is a charming and well-located B&B. Many thanks to Alida and her team who provided useful directions and arranged good tours. Had a minor issue with spotty wi-fi coverage but this was perhaps due to ongoing maintenance work by the local internet supplier. Overall, would highly recommend maison557.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Most likely Maison557 is our all-time favorite place to stay. Anywhere, any price. That includes The Peninsula in Hong Kong, Hôtel de la Poste in Beaune, and any number of great little places all over Asia.

First of all, the help we got — from arranging a great birthday party *and* a great cake from another place, to providing drivers who became dear friends in a day or two, to stocking up a particular dark beer I like — was in a class I haven't come across since the Peninsula sent a Rolls-Royce to pick me up at Kai Tak Airport back in 1970.

Then, the size and layout of the hotel were perfect. Just a few rooms, and those arranged so each one has real privacy, plus plenty of space to sit outside if you like. When our family travels, we want to stay somewhere we can retreat to like home: leave bathing suits in front of the room, sit and chat in the garden, and have the feeling we are the main reason the place is open. Exactly how we felt at Maison557.

And the rooms! Very generous space, and the best design of anywhere we've been, with plenty of dressing, bathing and storage room in a rear section, and a great outdoor shower in the very back of the room. So you can sit and work, read or chat in your bedroom with your luggage, shaving kit, etc. out of sight, and feel as if you actually live in the place.

The gardens are a knockout, and the pool is irresistible. You have all sorts of choices of where to sit for breakfast. The soap is fantastic, and the bedding, and the towels.

You get the idea, right? No matter how often we go back to Siemreap, we will only look at other places if Maison557 is full. If you can get a room here, look no farther.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms are great, but I wished I hadn't put my sister into the biggest one. Which has...
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PanNDavidSichang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We booked this place because of the location and a room with a private pool. The reviews were very high. We were not disappointed.
I travel an awful lot and am lucky to stay in the best hotels around the world, but, I have to say, Maison 557 is without doubt a top contender.
Its not just the intimacy of the place and the sanctuary like surroundings, its Jeff and his exceptional team who make the place.
They are like a family who are welcoming you into their home.
Jeff supports the staff and families who work there and they love being there.
Breakfasts are exceptional.
Great location - 5 mins from the hippest cafe in Siem Reap- sister srey, and 8 mins to the markets and pub street. Laundry over the road for washing and ironing at $1 per kilo, and a little shop literally over the road for drinks. Also an iced coffee concession in there called V group and do better than starbucks frappachino for a £1 ( $1.25) .
They can arrange everything - transport through a trusted guy called Mr T is spot on. Alida, the manager will go out of her way to sort anything and everything.
We did the sunrise temple run ( $18 for all of us, plus $5 early start - don't forget the £20 bucks entry) and Alida sorted our packed breakfast and lunch. It was amazing. pastries, fruit, cereal and yoghurt, cheese, butter, milk. We sat on the wall of the temple moat and had it after the sunrise. We took our daughter who wasn't even staying there but They catered for all three of us without asking.
A definite contender for a trip advisor award, and I will be submitting them as a contender.
tuk tuks are $2 bucks everywhere so no where is far.
Keep up the great work Jeff, you're doing it exactly right.

Room Tip: private pool room is lovely. own private garden. worth the extra
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nachooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This charming, small hotel in the city center is clean and tidy and staffed by very professional, friendly and courteous staff, it made our stay at this hotel very satisfying. The room was big and comfortable, lovely and quiet garden with pool, while the breakfast offers an extensive range of options. There are several excellent restaurants within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We spend 3 amazing days at Maisson557. It is simply an oasis of peace and calm.
Breakfast is a sensational feast and the picnic breakfast they organised for us to take to the temples was incredible.
Alida is always happy to help and offer some guidance about the city and organise for you to visit the temples in the way that it best suits you.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 km away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#7 of 361 in Siem Reap
712 reviews
0.3 km away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,672 reviews
0.4 km away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#5 of 361 in Siem Reap
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Golden Temple Retreat
Golden Temple Retreat
#4 of 361 in Siem Reap
291 reviews
0.8 km away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,618 reviews
0.2 km away
The Privilege Boutique
The Privilege Boutique
#14 of 361 in Siem Reap
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to maison557? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about maison557

Address: #557, Wat Bo Street, Group 12, Siem Reap 93136, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 502 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $37 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — maison557 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover, sleep, eat, relax, enjoy. More than just a bed and breakfast! Your stay at maison557 will give you the opportunity to relax and enjoy our contemporary lifestyle with comfort and exciting food. Only a few minutes walk away from the famous old market across the river on Wat Bo street in Siem Reap and a short drive by tuk tuk or car to the amazing World Heritage Archaeological site and the Temple of Angkor. We have 4 en-suite rooms plus 2 outstanding suites. All rooms and suites with air conditioning & ceiling fans, wi-fi facility throughout, flatscreen TV's on request, private room safes, complimentary toiletries (2 rooms with outdoor showers) and bathrobes, bottled water, fresh fruits on arrival, private terraces to the rooms where our complimentary breakfast can be served, 2 swimming pools, tropical gardens, our outside bar & covered restaurant area. We can organize for you local tours & visits to any destinations you might like to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your maison557 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing