We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful oasis in Siem Reap with fabulous staff”
Review of maison557

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
maison557
Ranked #21 of 520 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We chose maison 557 over 'posh' hotels and are so pleased we did. Denise and her team run a wonderful operation, it was so nice to stay somewhere friendly and informative about the town. The rooms are great value and breakfast very good. Denise arranged trips, deliveries and lots of great conversation. We loved it and recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank expatsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2017

What an amazing property in an amazing city. From the start communication with the English owner was excellent and she continued to be very friendly and helpful during our stay. She kindly allowed us to check in very early at around 9am which was much appreciated after an overnight flight.
Wat Bo street is fairly busy with tuk tuks constantly zipping past, but once you step inside the gate of Maison you are instantly in a tranquil tropical paradise. The pool area is very inviting and was a refreshing place to cool off after a hot day exploring temples. The room was huge, luxurious and just a nice place to be, with a huge separate bathroom. I am a light sleeper, but never heard a sound from within or outside the property. I think there are only 4 rooms & during our 4 night stay we only ever saw 1 ever guest briefly 1 afternoon, so very private. The location itself is excellent, maybe a 2 or 3 min walk to the river & then another 2 or 3 min walk along the river before you reach the start of Pub street, so close enough to be an easy walk, but far enough away to be quiet. The little cafe right next door, Artillery, does an excellent ice coffee or fruit smoothie, there is also a nice french bakery 1 min walk away and some other nice cafes and restaurant before you get to Pub st. We loved our stay at Maison and will definitely stay again if/when we return to Siem Reap

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dags111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We stayed as a family and were appointed 2 tastefully designed rooms facing the pool with a connecting porch. I love the outdoor shower, the intimacy of the space with just 4 rooms in the pool area.

I had a relaxing time and I appreciate the simple touches such as the netted windows to prevent mosquitoes while keeping the air into the room.

The location is very central and only a short walk from the old market. The rooms are very quiet despite its central location.

I slept with the air-con on the 1st night on a January and it was cold. I wish they provide a thicker duvet - I had to ask for a blanket on the second night. The mosquito net in the room wasn't big enough for the bed.

The breakfast was very generous and the staff helpful to arrange an Angkor tour and provide directions in the town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back near the pool furthest away from the reception has weak (almost no) wifi but more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sixiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Perfect location. Just a short walk away from all the restaurants, pubs, markets in Siem Reap. Maisson557 is quaint guest house with the personal touch. It felt like we were visiting a cousin who handed over the keys to her home. The breakfast was perfect. We had a sunrise tour, left the hotel before 5 am and they staff had a boxed breakfast prepared for us. Tuk tuk drivers and guides were arranged upon request, and they were individuals the owners of the guest house trust (one snafu, the tuk tuk drive slept in on the morning of our sunrise tour, but no worries as we just grab another). The manager did a great job giving us advice on what to see and when.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim_Lee_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Lovely boutique hotel. Gorgeous rooms, wonderful welcoming staff and a fabulous breakfast to start your day with. A tranquil setting with a lovely pool in the courtyard and lovely to have an early evening drink before setting out to the town. Staff go above and beyond and were great suggesting things to do and where to eat- thanks Denise.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank JLoGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We found Maison557 here on TripAdvisor and we were excited to stay, given the wonderful reviews.

The hotel is a lovely quiet location not too far from the centre of town, with really lovely, simply decorated rooms. Siem Reap is a very busy place, but once you enter the front gates of Maison557 it's like being in another (much more peaceful) world.

Breakfast was lovely and we enjoyed sitting by the pool each morning to enjoy it.

We booked in to the garden villa suite, which has it's own pool, but we were a little disappointed that it wasn't as private as we'd hoped, as the garden is open to the rest of the hotel.

That said, the hotel is small, so you're never going to feel like you can't have quiet time, and often we felt like we were the only ones in the whole place. It's just like having your own home in Siem Reap.

The staff were lovely and special thanks to Borin for being so wonderful!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SujoyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Everything you read about the good things about this small boutique b&b is true. We felt so comfortable and at home while staying there. Alida is superb, provide us with all information we need in town and help us made reservation at Lemongrass Garden massage and FCC dinner on Christmas Eve, to beat the crowd. Mr T was our driver for three days to temples visit and Kampong Plok. He took very good care of us all the time, and hand us cold water every time we returned from a visit! The room was clean, bed was comfortable, top it up with sumptuous daily breakfast to start the day! The only thing we thought could be improved is the mosquito net in the room, it's short and tends to roll up during the sleep. Overall it's a great stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only 7 rooms here, all looks good, we stay in the cheapest room and it's great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _sltrip16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 km away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.7 km away
Khmer Mansion Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
Dream Mango Villa
Dream Mango Villa
#28 of 520 in Siem Reap
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Bloom Garden Guesthouse Villa
0.5 km away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#13 of 520 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
2.2 km away
Golden Mango Inn
Golden Mango Inn
#9 of 520 in Siem Reap
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to maison557? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about maison557

Address: #557, Wat Bo Street, Group 12, Siem Reap 93136, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $35 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — maison557 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover, sleep, eat, relax, enjoy. More than just a bed and breakfast! Your stay at maison557 will give you the opportunity to relax and enjoy our contemporary lifestyle with comfort and exciting food. Only a few minutes walk away from the famous old market across the river on Wat Bo street in Siem Reap and a short drive by tuk tuk or car to the amazing World Heritage Archaeological site and the Temple of Angkor. We have 4 en-suite rooms plus 2 outstanding suites. All rooms and suites with air conditioning & ceiling fans, wi-fi facility throughout, flatscreen TV's on request, private room safes, complimentary toiletries (2 rooms with outdoor showers) and bathrobes, bottled water, fresh fruits on arrival, private terraces to the rooms where our complimentary breakfast can be served, 2 swimming pools, tropical gardens, our outside bar & covered restaurant area. We can organize for you local tours & visits to any destinations you might like to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your maison557 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing