We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and interesting rice wine flavors”
Review of Sombai

Sombai
Book In Advance
More Info
US$5.00*
and up
Sombai Infused Cambodian Liqueur: Workshop Visit...
Ranked #2 of 117 Shopping in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Sombai is a sweet home-made liqueur from Siem Reap. Sombai bottles are painted and decorated by hand, making each of them a unique piece and an amazing souvenir. We also have a non-alcoholic range of products under the brand name "Joe's Cuisine" including quality spices, aromatised sea salts, peppers and alcoholic jams. You can come for a "workshopping" including a free tasting, visit of the workshop and some shopping every day from 8am to 8pm. The Workshop is open daily from 8am to 8pm. After, we are available for free tasting and for retail sale at our stalls at the Made in Cambodia Market (King's Road) every day from 12pm to 10pm.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed May 20, 2018

My husband and I stopped by without a reservation on a Saturday afternoon. The staff was very helpful and took us on a short tour of the infusion room and gave us our complimentary tasting of all the rice wine flavors as well as the alcoholic jams (with water). We ended up buying a couple painted bottles to take back for our family, which came with very nice woven packaging and paper bags handmade with magazine pages. We were the only ones in the shop, so we got undivided attention from the very sweet shop staff.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank MinaT510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"infused rice"
in 24 reviews
"hand painted bottles"
in 30 reviews
"great gifts"
in 12 reviews
"kampot pepper"
in 12 reviews
"free tasting"
in 10 reviews
"tasting session"
in 7 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 6 reviews
"tasting room"
in 5 reviews
"fun tasting"
in 4 reviews
"vespa tour"
in 4 reviews
"tuk tuk"
in 31 reviews
"making process"
in 3 reviews
"no pressure to buy"
in 3 reviews
"unique experience"
in 6 reviews
"for sale"
in 4 reviews
"buy something"
in 3 reviews
"first hand"
in 3 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 285 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

We visited Sombai with our tour guide after our evening food tasting of Cambodian street food and it was excellent!

The host was super friendly and he spoke fantastic English. We began the tour with a workshop on how the rice liquor is made which included a very thorough explanation and look at how each flavour is made.

We moved on to the tasting and in total we tried about 11 liquors and 6 alcoholic jams. The liquors ranged from sweet, spicy to dessert type flavours, and the jams followed the same suit. We were also offered homemade banana chips and mango grown at the business which were delicious.

The bottles that Sombai bottle their liquor in are absolutely beautiful and represent Cambodian culture. The bottles are hand painted and so detailed they really are a work of art!

We bought some of the liquor and alcoholic jam to take home to share with our family and friends, as we enjoyed it so much along with an amazingly painted drinking cup.

A must visit if you’re in Siem Reap!

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

We were taken to Sombai by our guide as part of an evening food tour. What a treat! We were given a guided tasting on many flavoured liqueurs, all of which were delicious. The alcoholic jam was even better. The host was lovely and friendly. This is a great enterprise worth supporting.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank 1963biffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018

This place was down the street from our hotel so we decided to stroll over, and we were really glad we did. The tour of the facility and subsequent tastings took us about an hour, there were 11 rice wines, and 4-6 jams. We were the only ones there and the gentleman helping was a lot of fun and had good English.

The flavors were good and bottles were each uniquely painted, making for perfect souvenirs or gifts. They are not cheap, a medium size runs about $12, but we felt it was worth the experience. Definitely recommend coming!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank dmcneil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

The tour was good. The tasting was even better. Excellent wine and the jams were surprisingly good too. Staff is very friendly and even helped us with transport back to our hotel. It's a fun activity and good for souvenirs. It also supports disabled artists who paint their cool bottles. Definitely a must do

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Robinrvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sombai also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Sombai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing