We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a buzz!”
Review of Sombai

Sombai
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Sombai Cocktail Class Liqueur Tasting with...
Ranked #2 of 113 Shopping in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Sombai is a sweet home-made liqueur from Siem Reap. Sombai bottles are painted and decorated by hand, making each of them a unique piece and an amazing souvenir. We also have a non-alcoholic range of products under the brand name "Joe's Cuisine" including quality spices, aromatised sea salts, peppers and alcoholic jams. You can come for a "workshopping" including a free tasting, visit of the workshop and some shopping every day from 8am to 8pm. The Workshop is open daily from 8am to 8pm. After, we are available for free tasting and for retail sale at our stalls at the Made in Cambodia Market (King's Road) every day from 12pm to 10pm.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed June 18, 2018

This was the last stop we had in our food tour and the concoctions are amazing! We were able to sample some of the combinations and the sticky cakes are delish. A bottle or two would be a good gift for some drinking buddies back home. :)

1  Thank Krisburt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sombai, Owner at Sombai, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Dear Customer,
Our heartfelt thanks for your nice review!
We are part of various tours who offer a tasting and the discovery of local flavours as part of their package. We are delighted that you enjoyed the combination of unique tastes in our liqueurs and jams. The hand-painted products and surprising flavours make a perfect souvenir to bring back home for friends and relatives indeed.

We hope you will recommend visiting Sombai to your acquaintances who come to visit Siem Reap soon...
Best Regards,
Joëlle & Lionel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"infused rice"
in 20 reviews
"hand painted bottles"
in 28 reviews
"great gifts"
in 11 reviews
"kampot pepper"
in 11 reviews
"free tasting"
in 9 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 6 reviews
"tasting room"
in 5 reviews
"tasting session"
in 5 reviews
"vespa tour"
in 4 reviews
"tuk tuk"
in 29 reviews
"fun tasting"
in 3 reviews
"banana cinnamon"
in 3 reviews
"fermentation process"
in 2 reviews
"great place to spend an hour"
in 2 reviews
"khmer curry"
in 2 reviews
"evening food tour"
in 2 reviews
"fun place to visit"
in 2 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 276 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2018

Chan was our guide and he is so cool. We tasted all kind of rice wine and alcoholic jam. Must to try when you are in Siem Reap :)

1  Thank Yukheng K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sombai, Owner at Sombai, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Dear Customer,

We thank you for your interest in Sombai Workshop and are happy that you enjoyed your visit.
We are extremely lucky to have Chan who is a sweet, devoted and attentive staff and thus ensures that your experience is the best it can be.
We are happy that you loved our flavours of liqueurs and alcoholic jams and hope you will recommend us to your friends coming to Siem Reap soon.

Best Regards,
Joëlle & Lionel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2018

We had an interesting tour and fun tasting adventure at Sombai, and I recommend visiting to pick up some unique local produce to enjoy or give as gifts.
The short tour of the rice wine infusing upstairs is interesting, and you can see the large range of handpainted art on bottles as well as the artists in the process of handpainting them.
By the time you've seen and heard about the different infusing combinations, you'll be wanting to find out what they taste like.
After heading back downstairs, you take a seat and are served a small tasting of each rice wine, as well as some Kampot pepper infused liqueurs and alcoholic jams. Everything is delicious and uniquely Cambodian. While the jams are 'alcoholic' they won't get you drunk, but the flavours are amazing. Recommend buying the sample pack of 4 of $9...they make a perfect gift, but also a few of them will be perfect to pair with blue or goats cheese in a platter.
This is a really unique Cambodian experience with something special to take home.
Recommend for anyone!

1  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sombai, Owner at Sombai, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Dear Nathalie,

We thank you for your visit and taking the time to write us an uplifting review!

The content of alcohol in the Alcoholic Jams (2,5%) is just enough to make you enjoy your Brunch/Breakfast or your cheese platter a little bit more:-) but they do get someone, not used to drinking alcohol, tipsy. You can indeed pair some flavours with ice-cream or panacotta, toasts or pancakes and the Merry Moscati (raisins/ white pepper) is perfect with a slice of Foie Gras while the Tipsy Umami (cherry tomatoes/ black pepper) will pair perfectly well with any cheese.
We hope you will recommend us to your friends and family who will later come visit Siem Reap.

Best Regards,
Joëlle & Lionel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2018

My husband and I stopped by without a reservation on a Saturday afternoon. The staff was very helpful and took us on a short tour of the infusion room and gave us our complimentary tasting of all the rice wine flavors as well as the alcoholic jams (with water). We ended up buying a couple painted bottles to take back for our family, which came with very nice woven packaging and paper bags handmade with magazine pages. We were the only ones in the shop, so we got undivided attention from the very sweet shop staff.

1  Thank MinaT510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

We visited Sombai with our tour guide after our evening food tasting of Cambodian street food and it was excellent!

The host was super friendly and he spoke fantastic English. We began the tour with a workshop on how the rice liquor is made which included a very thorough explanation and look at how each flavour is made.

We moved on to the tasting and in total we tried about 11 liquors and 6 alcoholic jams. The liquors ranged from sweet, spicy to dessert type flavours, and the jams followed the same suit. We were also offered homemade banana chips and mango grown at the business which were delicious.

The bottles that Sombai bottle their liquor in are absolutely beautiful and represent Cambodian culture. The bottles are hand painted and so detailed they really are a work of art!

We bought some of the liquor and alcoholic jam to take home to share with our family and friends, as we enjoyed it so much along with an amazingly painted drinking cup.

A must visit if you’re in Siem Reap!

2  Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sombai also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Sombai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing