We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and big room”
Review of Royal Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Royal Empire Hotel
Ranked #146 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I book 3 room, 2 of them are connecting room. Stay for 5 night.

Check In
At first they gave us the 3rd room at different floor. I told them the hotel has email us and confirm to give us 3 rooms - 2 are connection room , one is just next room ; all at the same floor.
The reception change the 3rd room to same floor.

Rooms
The rooms are spacious and clean.
Rooms come with 2 bottle of water daily and it has 2 slippers.
It is abt 4km away from the town.
Next to the hotel has a small market.

Breakfast.
They clean the dirty plate fast or slow or didn't set the table for the new hotel guest.

Check out
As our flight is 4pm, I requested to extend check up for 1 room til 1pm. They refused.
Only agree after my tour guide has a chat with them.

Overall , the hotel is good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pikarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Royal Empire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

This is my first visit to Siem Reap, Cambodia. Although the hotel is not in downtown, we did not feel it as such, as we had our bus waiting for us all the time.The breakfast in the hotel was good, except that it had too much catering towards Korean food, probably because the were almost 90% Korean guests at that time.
Room Service was very prompt,
Overall we enjoyed our 4 nights stay there

Room Tip: Rooms facing poolside are good
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jegaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This was my second stay at the Royal Empire Hotel and I enjoyed it as much as my first visit. I like the fact that it is not part of a faceless hotel chain and has some Cambodian charm. The hotel is not in 'downtown' Siem Reap but is only a short tuk tuk ride away (approx USD1.50 depending on your bargaining prowess!). I like the fact that it is out of the main tourist area so is not as frenetic.

The hotel appears to cater to a lot of Asian tour groups; this time of the year appeared to be more popular than when I visited in February 2010. The breakfast buffet has a lot of variety but if you appear at the same time as a group it can be a bit hectic. Having said that, my room was always clean and in great condition and when you return to the hotel after a hot, humid day of touring/shopping you are always greeted with a friendly smile from the staff.

I only ate one meal in the restaurant on this trip (lunch) which was fabulous (Amok). Whilst more expensive that you could get in Pub Street or the Alley, the additional cost is well worth it.

The hotel is next to a small supermarket and a market so you can get some supplies if you wish. There is internet access in the lobby, the only drawback with this is the design of the desks and unless you are under four foot tall, it is nearly impossible to place your legs comfortably.

Having said that, I would definitey stay here again.

Room Tip: I was offered a room overlooking the pool but chose room 520 at the front of the hotel. Because of...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viviennek28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Had a very pleasent stay at this hotel, staff very friendly and helpful,had a great massage nice pool and lovely garden around the pool, great outlook onto the pool and garden from the restaurant.The breakfast was very good of a morning with a very big selection of hot meals,we had dinner a couple of times in the restaurant and found it very good and very cheap for a hotel.

Room Tip: we were at the front had a view of the main road
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casper960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Got it on sale, paid less than 50 US a night with breakfast . Its a little out of the way (airport rd.) but there are these trikes you can get at anytime for between a buck or 2 to bring you to town(5 to 10 minute ride). The pool was nice but the gym was not too good(not that we used the gym after all the walking) rooms were comfortable and decent. Food was really good and our teenage son to this day still tells me we should have eaten at the hotel more.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugartee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stay there from 6 Aug till 10 Aug. The hotel upgraded my room. Decorated my room foc with flowers on bed and bath tub. Very romantic. Foc welcome fruit basket. Helpful staff and always take care of your needs. Responses are fast.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My husband and I have stayed here for 4 days.
All staffs at hotel are nice and kept clean the room and pool always.
Their buffet style break fast was also good, especially pho(soup noodle) is tasty!
I enjoyed it every morning.

The disappointing thing were credit card authority system did not work smoothly and it took so long time to verify.I think it 's better to pay cash than a credit card and another disappointing thing was shower ’ water temperature is a little bit low. I couldn't adjust the temperature.

This hotel's location is a little far away from down town but it is no problem.
We can take tuk tuk(Taxi) at very low fee.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lisneige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 km away
Ree Hotel
Ree Hotel
#186 of 361 in Siem Reap
218 reviews
1.9 km away
Angkor Holiday Hotel
Angkor Holiday Hotel
#185 of 361 in Siem Reap
541 reviews
1.7 km away
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
#85 of 361 in Siem Reap
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Apsara Angkor Resort & Conference
3.3 km away
Starry Angkor Hotel
Starry Angkor Hotel
#217 of 361 in Siem Reap
72 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Indochine D'angkor
Villa Indochine D'angkor
#193 of 361 in Siem Reap
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Empire Hotel

Address: National Road 6 | Airport Road , Phum Krous, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $44 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Empire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built around a stunning landscape with Khmer décor and hospitality, Royal Empire Hotel offers visitors to Siem Reap the ultimate in luxury and services. It features an outdoor salt water pool, a restaurant and bar, and free Wi-Fi access.Fitted with wooden flooring and styled with eclectic Khmer touches, spacious rooms at Royal Empire Hotel are designed to be your home away from home. Each room comes with satellite TV, safety deposit box, complimentary bottled water, tea /coffee making facilities, bathrobes, slippers and a private bathroom with bathtub, show cubicle, bathroom amenities and hair dryer. Guests can enjoy a dip in the outdoor salt water pool, workout in the fitness centre, and indulge in massage and spa treatments while delighting in the splendor of historic and charming Siem Reap Angkor.Emerald Restaurant specializes in both local and international cuisines ranging from Khmer, Chinese, Thai, Asian and Western served in a modern Khmer-styled setting, and offers a sensational view of the pool and landscaped garden through its towering glass walls. Hotel is only 2-minute walk to the Angkor Shopping Arcade night market, 5-minute walk to Cambodian Cultural village, less than 5-minute drive to the Pub Street, and only 10-minute drive away from Siem Reap International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing