We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
329
92
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
92
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dark wood tuk tuk angkor wat small pool beautiful small hotel oasis of calm fish amok away from the hustle and bustle visiting temples centre of siem reap beautiful room traditional cambodian thoroughly enjoyed our stay rooms are spacious home away from home lovely pool pool area is
Filter
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 439 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in December 2012 as part of our Cambodia tour. I found the hotel charming and the staff very helpful and courteous. The range and quality of food was good as was the value for money.

The only real downside is that the rooms can be noisy and the beds were very firm. The walls are thin but also the proximity of the rooms to the pool means that we were disturbed quite a lot. We may have been unlucky in that there was a family with several young children there at the same time as us but it did take the edge off the stay constantly hearing badly behaved kids moaning at high volume. Otherwise, it was very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garythegrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel, the pool, the rooms, everything is very nice and clean.
Unfortunately a lot of new staff who does not speak English well. Some had difficulties to understand even the difference between tea and coffee.
I booked a massage, but they forgot the reservation. At the end I got one, and it was perfect.
One day the whole crew was late and breakfast not ready on time, not even 1 hour later.
Good picknick basquet, but unfortunately the plates where missing. So we had to eat out of the bags.
The food and the drinks are very nice.
We had to book the New Years Gala Dinner. The food again was nice and the performance of the
traditional dancers good. But they tried to play games like the apple dance...... Many people, including us, where not happy about it and left the party before midnight. It was a pitty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_L_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2012

It's pretty far away from the Market and Pub Street area, but still within reachable distance via a tuktuk. Booked a family studio and it was great! Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Beds were really comfy. We had a couple of meals at the restaurant and the food was really yummy too (though a little pricey).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Hanuman Alaya. The hotel is small and impeccably decorated with artifacts from the region. It's out of the Pub Street area and off on it's own which is nice after a day of touring temples and perhaps I night out in town. The walls are a bit thin in the rooms but after full days of touring and being busy you hardly notice once you are in the room and recovering from your long day. Make sure you take the map at the front desk for you Tuk Tuk driver to find your way back. Three times and none of the Tuk Tuk drivers knew where it was. Excellent service and food quality also. If leaving early before the restaurant opens ask for a box breakfast and they will send you off with a nice bamboo basket of food for the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed for several nights and purposely stayed outside the core of Siem Reap so we could feel relaxed. This hotel was perfect for that type of stay.

Pros: It is immaculately clean and incredibly attentive service. The bottled water is always replaced in your room whenever you go out which is very helpful in the heat. There is a refreshing pool with purposed towels, and probably the best breakfast we've had in South East Asia. Highly suggest the bread bowl as it comes with excellent pain chocolate and croissants.

Cons: The room is incredibly dark at any time of day. It's not like you're going to be in your room during the day but it is hard to wake up because there is no natural light. The decor is a bit much but that's personal taste.

Again, don't expect to be close to Siem Reap at night. A tuk tuk should cost you $3 if ordered from the hotel. However, it means a quiet sleep and shorter ride to the Ankor archaeological grounds. The spa was decent and took away the aches and pains.

We didn't use their services to visit Ankor Wat and instead used our bicycle. It seems there prices were a bit higher than norm and advise getting a bike instead.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floor are very dark and suggest going to the upper floor instead.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdn_nomad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews