We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top edge hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Siem Reap Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Wow, this place feels as comfy, clean and outfitted as a good hotel but has the lovely backpackers charm and is unexpensive as a hostel. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm room that was spacious and amazingly clean with an ensuite bathroom. All facilities like the pool, bar, restaurant are in best condition. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They organized a tuktuk-driver (ask for Serarn!) and a ticket for the boat trip to Phnom Penh for me. I have to admit: The best hostel I've ever been to!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnyfootballhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The SRH is all you can imagine when thinking of a perfect hostel. Atmosphere, rooms, service, crowd, etc. Swimming pool at the bar, large tables, nice couches along the pool, billiard, games, books and the best: a huge buffet breakfast with tea, coffee, fresh fruit, pancakes, toast, juices, corn flakes and muesli for 2$. We left because it was full and came back every morning for breakfast for another week. The rooms were spacious and modern, but not the cleanest we have been to in Cambodia. 

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawsteen1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Great location, great value for money, great dorms! I arrived on December 25th and we have an amazing Christmas Lunch!!! The owner and managers are helpful and funny people. Beer for 50 cents and double drink on happy hour really made my evenings!! The staff are also amazing, specially the lady who stays at bar in the mornings! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictorPrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Great, helpful staff. 2 free computers to use, lots of tours to choose from, lovely indoor pool, great tasting cheap food, and drinks. Central location, just a mere 4 blocks to the downtown tourist core of Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakedtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Siem Reap Hostel for 4 nights and 5 days. The service and staff were fantastic. We also had the greatest tuktuk driver. He became our friend. If you go there you should ask for Sarorn. He is trustworthy, friendly and honest. Overall, great experience!!!

On a side note, I was involved in a biking accident and it caused a lot of heartache because of the price they were charging and miscommunication. The staff were extremely helpful with translating with the nurse. They also advised that anytime an accident or problem happens to always call them first so they can help with the negotiations and translations.

If I go back, I will definitely stay at this hostel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors don't have a good wifi connection but there were plenty of places to sit on the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Hostel is in a great location, walking distance to the markets and pub street, dorm rooms are awesome and the food is pretty tasty. Loved the two girls that worked behind the bar in the afternoon/evening.
The tuk tuk driver that picked me up from the airport and took me on temple tours was fantastic, wish i could remember his name -sawani?
The only thing I could complain about is the atmosphere, a little too cliquey and people barely spoke to me. But I was probably there when the guests were duds. Awesome hostel, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dembirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hostel takes care of so many logistics you would have to worry about elsewhere - friendly, fair-priced transportation, information about all there is to do in the area (Siem Reap is more than just Angkor!), delicious food (including take-away meals for temple trips), even yoga and massage on site. We ended up staying longer than expected because my sister was sick, and it was a great place to linger for a while. By the way, the mango here was the best I've had anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danna84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 km away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 324 in Siem Reap
2,455 reviews
0.8 km away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#5 of 324 in Siem Reap
290 reviews
0.9 km away
The Golden Gecko Villa
The Golden Gecko Villa
#1 of 324 in Siem Reap
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Lub d Cambodia Siem Reap
Lub d Cambodia Siem Reap
#18 of 324 in Siem Reap
53 reviews
1 km away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#44 of 324 in Siem Reap
54 reviews
1 km away
Siem Reap Pub Hostel
Siem Reap Pub Hostel
#11 of 324 in Siem Reap
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Hostel

Address: 7 Makara Street | cnr of Wat Bo Road and Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 324 Speciality Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: $15 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include:- Free Wi-Fi - Hot Water- Air-Conditioning- Yoga- Cinema - Western style showers and toilets, Awesome undercover pool, bar and restaurant, chill out rooms, free computers, free bike usage, pool table, fusball table, close to Pub St & markets. Please be aware there are other near by hostels with names very similar to ours, they are hoping you end up there by mistake. There is only one hostel named 'The Siem Reap Hostel'. Accept no imitations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing