We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,402)
Filter reviews
3,402 results
Traveller rating
1,793
1,280
257
40
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,793
1,280
257
40
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuk tuk great hotel pub street foot massage pool area breakfast buffet comfortable hotel close to angkor wat stayed here for nights town centre us dollars nice pool our honeymoon loved this hotel welcome drink old market hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
2,405 - 2,410 of 3,402 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The reason I pick Tara was not to choose a big chain hotel with too many rooms. Tara is sufficiently sized, and therefore has the required amneties and quietness to go along. Came here with family, with mum and her grandchildren. So when hard-to-please mum who normally complains from A - Z has no comments, that means it's a silent compliment. Breakfast was excellent, and the ala-carte menu for lunch/dinner is also reasonably priced and good. The pool was relatively quiet in the morning, and the children love it. Hotel has a gym as well. They even have a free bicycle rental, but I did not have the time to use it. Near to Angkor Wat, which is a plus, as my family went there very early to catch the sunrise and head back to hotel for a hearty breakfast. The welcome was good, housekeepers to the guards were just as friendly, very typical Khmer warmth. It's my second time to Siem Reap, and for those who have yet to come to this beautiful country, you should not miss it. Tara does the job.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Man, we lucked out with this joint in Siem Reap. We found it on sale on some consolidator website (hotels.com???) and paid about USD65 in early June.

The hotel lobby is quite grand and comfortable. The bell staff takes your bags immediately and the front desk asks you to sit and brings the applicable paper work to you. (Nice touch.) The rooms are well-appointed, comfortable and had some nice decorative flourishes. GREAT swimming pool. Decent gym. Free computers and internet in the lobby. We arrived, exhausted from a 6am flight from Singapore and they were able to get us into a room well ahead of our check-in time.

This hotel has everything you need to have a comfortable stay between your trips to the temples. But it is the staff that makes this place special. There are about a half dozen folks behind the front desk who were unbelievably helpful. They arranged drivers, recommended restaurants, looked up flights and made insightful suggestions at every turn. One thing you'll discover when you arrive in Cambodia is the inherent goodness of the Khmer people. At Angkor Tara, they have harnessed this tendency in staff that speaks impeccable English.

Big time thumbs up.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btheoburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I visited Siem Reap with 2 other friends for a total of 7 days and, while there are no shortage of hotels in Siem Reap and we considered staying at FCC and Hotel de la Paix, both of which are decidedly more 'upmarket' than the Tara. But we decided to stay at the Tara Angkor because we got an extremely good deal. We shared a triple room, which was reasonably spacious and very clean (housekeeping staff tend to the rooms twice a day). The rooms, however are not boutique by any means but they were comfortable enough and we were hardly at the hotel anyway.

All the staff, from the recception, to the concierge, the restaurant and housekeeping staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, knowing that visitors are not accustomed to the stifling Cambodian heat, staff quickly seat you down, hand you a cold towel and a cold lemongrass beverage in the airconditioned comfort of the hotel lobby, while they process your stay.

For me, the stay wasn't perfect for a number of reasons. The rooms are a little dated and the facilities are a little old. Internet access, though free, was slow. The gym was very small. The pool, was a reasonable size and luckily we visited Siem Reap during low season so there were hardly any people there. The restaurant food was decent but a dime-a-dozen so we hardly ate there. But my major qualm is that the triple room we stayed in had a bathroom the same size as the standard double or twin. The hotel should've taken into account there will be 3 people staying in that room and increase the size of the bathroom accordingly. However, this isn't such a major quibble as my friends and I did quite well with the space we had.

For those wanting to be in the thick of the party life (ie Pub St.), this is probably not the best place to stay because it is about a 10 minute tuk-tuk ride from the hotel, and while it's only $2US each way, it can become an expensive exercise if you're travelling back and forth from the hotel every night. But I preferred staying a quiet distance away from town centre. For temple-hoppers, the Tara is a great choice as it is located on the way to Angkor Wat and its surrounding smaller temples.

As far as value goes, our money went a long way here. Included in the price was hotel pick-up and drop-off and a great buffet breakfast everyday. If I were to receive the same services back home, it would easily be triple the price of the Tara.

No, the Tara Angkor is not a boutique hotel. For those wanting boutique should consider Hotel de la Paix or Le Meridien but be reasonable and consider what amount you're paying. It is an exceptional hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonelypiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Overall - we were pleased. Just a few things that bothered us.

The hotel does not provide a free transport shuttle to/from the airport. Expect to pay US$7 hiring a taxi when you get outside the airport. The hotel charges US$9 (when I called ahead to check). Considering that this is a 4-star hotel, and especially when this is low-season (that is the wet and rainy season) and there weren't many hotel guests at all, we'd thought this would be a nice service. In the end, we did hire the hotel transport when we checked out back to the airport, as the hotel staff was not willing to call a local taxi for us.

The bathroom was pretty to look at - with shimmery brown tiles. They had a shower stall and a bath tub with shower (but without a shower curtain which made the floor wet). Unfortunately, the water pressure in the shower stall was extremely weak, and the drainage was bad. It starts to collect water about 2 minutes into the shower and takes another 1 hour for it to clear after you have completed the shower.

If you like a firm bed, then you are in luck. We liked it but some may not. Linens were clean and white. Also the beds were not queen-size (as they said on the phone and described on the website for their deluxe room). The room came with 2 queen sized beds, they told me on the phone. But they were really just slightly wider than a single and definitely not a queen bed, as we know it.

We had a noisy air-conditioner vent near the door but the staff were very quick to see to it and fixed it very quickly too. We were happy that most of the staff could speak and had a working knowledge of English, both at the front desk as well as the breakfast restaurant.

Great thing about this place is its proximity to Angkor Wat. We were quite happy to be away from the dust in the town of Siem Reap too. Takes US$2-3 on a tuk-tuk into the town of Siem Reap.

The food in the restaurant was so-so. The breakfast spread looked great initially but we quickly realised that they were not of very good quality. I personally only enjoyed the noodles in a nice broth (which they kinda re-heat when serving you) and the coffee. The fruits did not seem terribly fresh. Lunch was served in another little restaurant opposite the breakfast restaurant. Again, nothing to shout about.

So do head into the town of Siem Reap for a wider variety and choice. Prices start about US$3 onwards for a main meal along Pub Street.

But the hotel was clean, the rooms were clean, the staff seem happy to be working there, and we loved being away from the hustle and bustle of Siem Reap. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenpapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2009

We stayed at the Tara from the 25th-28th June for a 3 day stay before flying onto China. We had looked at the reviews before booking and all seemed favourable. As soon as we entered the hotel we knew we had made the right choice, the service we received from beginning to the time we left was exceptional. The hotel offered very good value and included free internet, sumptious breakfasts and an amazing swimming pool.In terms of location, it is walking distance to the National Musuem and nothing is too far away. A tuk tuk is only $2 dollars and will take you into the centre of town. We would stay here again when visiting Siam Reap.Whilst we were in Siam Reap we found this amazing guide and she was very knowledgable about the the whole of the temples and ruins in the area and very reasonable. Her name is Miss Allan and is contactable on [--]or email [--]

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriscillaLondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews