We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 04/08
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Planet Hotel(Douala)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$157
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
2
7
8
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
7
8
10
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 32 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I was in this hotel for 5 days, clean, with very nice people ready to help you, the WiFi working good, the food is ok, but same everyday,have swimming pool and small bar, the price for drinks very high,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandru T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I spent three nights there and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. The room was filthy, and the bathroom had a severe case of mould with a putrid smell to it. Some of the staff were nice though. The whole hotel description online has to be taken with a pinch of salt.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Gaute L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Extremely small room underground, very humid with lots of mosquitoes, strong choking musty smell.
Only a small window. Impossible to sleep without mosquito net. Risk of malaria.
Staff at reception impolite and have a suspicious attitude toward guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJL384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had a short trip to douala (2 nights) and I chose somatel for it's location. The hotel staff was pleasant. though my French was a little rusty, i got directions to places I needed to visit.The room was clean,there was wifi (decent),clean bathroom, free shuttle to and from the airport. the swimming pool looked nice(didn't swim since it rained throughout my visit!),buffet breakfast was nice.
The downside: i found the hotel design leading to the dinning room a bit strange.by stairs or elevator, it's not straightforward. the gym room hardly functions(though there exist some gym equipment).
The hotel is pleasant and it's appearance doesn't quite relay the message of a hotel with a decent budget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophernd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Pretty much everything was of a poor standard; rooms, service, food, internet.

Rooms were dirty, with stained sheets.

Service was bad. At my arrival, after 24hrs of travelling, I requested a bottle of water, which they did not have. It was in the middle of the night, and after arguing with the receptionist, he'd promise that he'd obtain some water. It arrived on my door 30 mins later.

Food was also not good, and internet was generally not working. Had access from time to time, but it was mostly not working.

The only plus was good air-conditioning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1V1VVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews