We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that clean”
Review of Ibis Douala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Douala
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Douala
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This place was al right for the purpose of sleep. It was located in central Douala from what I remember. I remember our rooms were not that clean so we spent a few mins every night cleaning after the cleaning staff. I remember their pool was good. There is a lift in the hotel. It was cheaper than other hotels in the city. but I would advise against this hotel and to look at other options. I believe that the room sizes are good. Any ways the last time I stayed here was in 2009 so better to check at other reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank youngSaudiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 372 reviews

An Accor traveller
Singapore, Singapore
1
Reviewed 27 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Compared to the other hotels I stayed in Douala this was the best bang for the buck. For the price, you cannot beat the quality of the room. The bed was very comfortable, the rooms were very clean, there was free internet access and good tv reception. The breakfast in the morning left a little to be desired but it wasn't bad, just wished the variety and selection was larger. In all, Ibis Douala is my recommendation if you are visiting Douala. I utilized Trip Advisor and stayed at their number one rated hotel for Douala and what a mistake. Not sure who was writing reviews for those hotels but they were completely off. Stay here and you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilfredo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno B, Directeur général at Ibis Douala, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Douala. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I was staying 2 nights in Ibis in Douala. Room was like standard Ibis style bedroom which you can find all around the world. Restaurant and bar were lovely. Welcome and very warm. Breakfast excellent again like in other hotels Ibis cooked and continental buffet. I really liked swimming pool just next to restaurant. Staff were nice and everything was perfect. But the reason I did't give full rating is because air condition in the room. It gives me flue. And widows are locked (because of air condition). Outside very hot (and I like it:)) but inside cold. Not every one can mange it. But apart from this I really like this hotel. If GM keep checking this comments, I would like to say Well Done. And say hello to this nice girl which work during the breakfast. I use to work for Ibis in UK, and Ibis in Douala is more that you use to in UK. And people who complaining about room size no fridge in the room, not enough English channel?? Helloo?? First this is 2 stars hotel so don't expect miracle, second in Cameroon you can smoke in side the hotel, clubs, restaurants. French is the main language This is old French colony so of course most of the channels will be in French (I find 3 in English). Any way I didn't came there to sit and watch the moves. Just know a little bit place and stop criticize. For me it's a good hotel with 24h security. Definitely I will be back.

Room Tip: Choose top floor rooms. Definitely book breakfast too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauretania122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno B, Directeur général at Ibis Douala, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Douala. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The staff is very friendly, professional and welcomes customers.

Room Tip: Rooms are comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno B, Directeur général at Ibis Douala, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Douala. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

No CNN English News. No BBC English News. No France24 English News. You could watch only the Chinese News in English on 3 or 4 different channels (Why???). It felt like the hotel television had been colonized by China. You could watch any news you wanted to, as long as it was Chinese. The 15 minutes to resolve a problem was not true. After a few requests to sort out the TV channels I just gave up - so much for the 15 minute solutions! At one stage they even had the Chinese news playing in the hotel lobby with not one Chinese person in site. What madness!!! It is because of this I rate the hotel so low.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marineeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno B, Directeur général at Ibis Douala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Douala. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

On 25 October, one month before arriving at the Ibis Hotel Douala, I wrote to the hotel to express my concerns about some of the things I had read:

1. The hotel room is like a box.
2. There will be prostitutes at the hotel bar and in the hotel rooms making noises that can be heard by other guests.
3. The room would probably not have an individual air con and in the event that it did, it would not work effectively.
4. If my room is dirty, the staff will have no sense of urgency about correcting the problem.
5. There won’t be any fridges in the rooms.
6. There will be a lot of noise from the street.
7. No one will fetch me from the airport as has apparently happened with some guests.

The hotel replied that all of the things mentioned above were fiction and I was promised a non-smoking room next to the pool.

Here are my experiences from my first hour at the hotel:

1. There was a heavy smell of cigarette smoke in the lobby.
2. I showed e-mails between me and the hotel to one of the people on duty and he indicated he was aware of the contents of the communications. My room is nowhere near the pool. It is on the fifth floor. It is a non-smoking room but I smell smoke. I am not sure at the moment if this simply is the smell from the lobby that clung to me. The Ibis Hotel in Cotonou has much nicer rooms.
3. The hotel room is a lot like a box. It is adequate for one person for business only. A second person would keep walking into the wall each time they got out of the bed, that is how close the bed is to the one wall. The bathroom is just adequate but cramped. The cupboard looks tiny. I will need to see if what I can fit in there if I am stuck with this room for the rest of my stay.
4. It appears my room has individual air con but I could not get it to work or, if it does work, it is very ineffective. I phoned reception to tell them I think the air con is not working. They told me that the air con is centralised. If it is centralised, is the individual control then purely for decoration?
5. I also told reception that there was a huge wet, mouldy patch on the carpet. It stinks and it is not healthy. They told me I could go to reception tomorrow to change the room. So much for the lack of a sense of urgency regarding hygiene and cleanliness being fictitious.
6. I had also told the porter that I was supposed to have a pool side room and showed him the e-mail. His response was to change rooms tomorrow. Again, why is there no sense of urgency if point number 4 is fiction?
7. There is no fridge in the room. So much for point number 5 being fictitious.
8. I did not see any instructions on how to phone reception, so I guessed the number to dial.
9. The TV does have a few English channels. One reviewer had only one English channel during their stay.
10. The bed is hard. It is okay for me but would be a problem for a lot of people. If you accidentally fall onto the bit or sit down too hard, I suspect you could fracture something. I think they could solve the problem if they used a thicker mattress.
11. There is no kettle in the room. If I recall correctly, the hotel advertises that its rooms have kettles.
12. The carpet generally could be quite a bit cleaner.
13. The room’s window does not open at all. In fact, the handle to open it is missing.
14. Thus far I have not seen any prostitutes.
15. At the moment, there is also no noise from the street. I am not sure if it is because it is late or if it is because I am higher up.
16. The hotel did book a shuttle for me but, at the client’s request, I had to cancel the shuttle.
17. There is a constant noise coming from some type of vent that is in the bathroom.
18. You can change USD at the front desk, which is a good thing.
19. The lifts are tiny. There is room in there for one porter with a trolley and one guest and that is it. If a number of people ever get stuck in the lift together, they will find it very difficult to breathe.
20. The staff are very polite and were helpful when my Internet password did not work.

Hopefully there will be more of a sense of urgency “tomorrow” as regards my room.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 519.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douala hotels
1.7 km away
Star Land Hotel
Star Land Hotel
#2 of 32 in Douala
126 reviews
0.7 km away
Pullman Douala Rabingha
2.3 km away
Bano Palace Hotel
Bano Palace Hotel
#7 of 32 in Douala
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Prince de Galles
Hotel Prince de Galles
#6 of 32 in Douala
68 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Akwa Palace
Hotel Akwa Palace
#8 of 32 in Douala
209 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Residence La Falaise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Douala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Douala

Address: Rue Pierre Loti, Bonanjo 184, Douala BP 12086, Cameroon
Phone Number:
Region: Cameroon > Littoral Region > Douala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Douala
Price Range: $129 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Douala 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Douala hotel is located in the centre of the Bonanjo business centre and 5 km from the Akwa theatre district. Free shuttle service between the hotel and the airport 7 km away. Offering all the amenities of a higher class of establishment, the hotel has 160 air-conditioned rooms and a meeting room for organising seminars and conferences. You will also find a restaurant, a bar open 24/24, a terrace with a swimming pool and closed parking, free and guarded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Douala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Douala Hotel Douala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing