We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practical & Functional Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Douala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Douala
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Douala
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
“Practical & Functional Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed only one night on business in this crime ridden, backwater of a city. Was advised repeatedly not to go wandering out on the town by locals so I did not.

Reception was friendly and brisk. The room was small with a firm mattress (supported by wooden boards, not box springs). Shower/bathroom reminded me of those on a cruise ship they were so small but everything was clean and functional. Sleep was occasionally disturbed by poor acoustics in the noisy hallway.

The 1st floor bar was nice with good cold draft beer and the restaurant food was decent quality for Africa. Plenty of TV's playing, of course, soccer (boring!) to appease the largely European clientele. English use and comprehension by staff was pretty good if your Francais is a little rusty (or nonexistant). Breakfast "buffet" was passable with fruit, coldcuts, good juice selections and quality pastries and breads. Service altogether friendly and competent.

The big attratcion to me was the nice leafy outside area with a long pool surrounded by fences and razor wire. Bill for one night was $146 USD- Seems like alot for such a poor country but my company was paying anyway.

Altogether I can recommend the Ibis as a practical, no frills place to eat and sleep in a place with very, very few luxury options.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    122
    95
    25
    11
See reviews for
15
31
42
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The breakfast buffet is delicious...can't say enough about the tasty beans.

Rooms were clean with fast internet and AC. We booked here because of the free airport pickup. If they aren't there when you arrive go to the tourist office in the Douala airport and they are extremely helpful...they called the Ibis to remind them to pick us up and exchanged money for us. There are no ATMs in the entire country of Cameroon...unless you have a Visa card with a chip so plan ahead.
Good location as well, near downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This place was al right for the purpose of sleep. It was located in central Douala from what I remember. I remember our rooms were not that clean so we spent a few mins every night cleaning after the cleaning staff. I remember their pool was good. There is a lift in the hotel. It was cheaper than other hotels in the city. but I would advise against this hotel and to look at other options. I believe that the room sizes are good. Any ways the last time I stayed here was in 2009 so better to check at other reviews.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank youngSaudiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Compared to the other hotels I stayed in Douala this was the best bang for the buck. For the price, you cannot beat the quality of the room. The bed was very comfortable, the rooms were very clean, there was free internet access and good tv reception. The breakfast in the morning left a little to be desired but it wasn't bad, just wished the variety and selection was larger. In all, Ibis Douala is my recommendation if you are visiting Douala. I utilized Trip Advisor and stayed at their number one rated hotel for Douala and what a mistake. Not sure who was writing reviews for those hotels but they were completely off. Stay here and you will not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilfredo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno B, Directeur général at Ibis Douala, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Douala. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I was staying 2 nights in Ibis in Douala. Room was like standard Ibis style bedroom which you can find all around the world. Restaurant and bar were lovely. Welcome and very warm. Breakfast excellent again like in other hotels Ibis cooked and continental buffet. I really liked swimming pool just next to restaurant. Staff were nice and everything was perfect. But the reason I did't give full rating is because air condition in the room. It gives me flue. And widows are locked (because of air condition). Outside very hot (and I like it:)) but inside cold. Not every one can mange it. But apart from this I really like this hotel. If GM keep checking this comments, I would like to say Well Done. And say hello to this nice girl which work during the breakfast. I use to work for Ibis in UK, and Ibis in Douala is more that you use to in UK. And people who complaining about room size no fridge in the room, not enough English channel?? Helloo?? First this is 2 stars hotel so don't expect miracle, second in Cameroon you can smoke in side the hotel, clubs, restaurants. French is the main language This is old French colony so of course most of the channels will be in French (I find 3 in English). Any way I didn't came there to sit and watch the moves. Just know a little bit place and stop criticize. For me it's a good hotel with 24h security. Definitely I will be back.

Room Tip: Choose top floor rooms. Definitely book breakfast too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauretania122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno B, Directeur général at Ibis Douala, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Douala. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douala hotels
0.6 km away
Pullman Douala Rabingha
1.5 km away
Hotel Akwa Palace
Hotel Akwa Palace
#8 of 31 in Douala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Prince de Galles
Hotel Prince de Galles
#4 of 31 in Douala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Palace Bano
Hotel Palace Bano
#6 of 31 in Douala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 km away
Complexe Aquarius Marina 2000
1.3 km away
Hotel Residence La Falaise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Douala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Douala

Property: Ibis Douala
Address: Rue Pierre Loti, Bonanjo 184, Douala BP 12086, Cameroon
Phone Number:
Region: Cameroon > Littoral Region > Douala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Douala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Douala 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Douala hotel is located in the centre of the Bonanjo business centre and 5 km from the Akwa theatre district. Free shuttle service between the hotel and the airport 7 km away. Offering all the amenities of a higher class of establishment, the hotel has 160 air-conditioned rooms and a meeting room for organising seminars and conferences. You will also find a restaurant, a bar open 24/24, a terrace with a swimming pool and closed parking, free and guarded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Douala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Douala Hotel Douala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing