We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good standard resort hotel with great restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Ranked #9 of 1,066 Hotels in Dongguan
NorthEastUK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good standard resort hotel with great restaurants”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is a very good standard hotel with great restaurants (Chinese & Japanese) plus a great breakfast and evening buffet, with a huge choice of food.
The hotel caters for business people, but also Golfers as there is a good standard Golf complex close by (I'm not a golfer, so it's only what I was told!).
The rooms are a good size, my only complaint being that the bed was far too hard for me and when I requested a change I was informed that there would be a charge for a softer mattress!
Other than this issue, the service levels are very good and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    155
    19
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
5
7
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

If you want great facilities - then this is definitely the hotel to come to. Rooms are spacious and clean and some even have exercise bikes on the balcony. You can get rooms with harder or softer mattresses - just make sure you let them know what you want when you check in. The swimming options are vast - both indoor (excellent) and outdoor. The gym is good and has a wide range of machines. The gardens and views are what the hotel is about and "Goodview" is an apt name.
The food is good with a wide range of options from buffet or via menu.
Transport to and from the hotel is not great - watch out for taxis as they do NOT run from the meter - so be sure you know where you are going and have a pre-agreed price.
If you like entertainment then there is plenty on offer - but it is typical of this area - lots of opportunity to meet girls if that is what you are after - this is probably more the seedier and tackier aspect of the hotel (unless you are into that kind of thing). Having said that - you don't have to go to this part of the hotel - but the other bar is very quiet and small.
Overall - I've enjoyed my stays here but just wish I had the time to enjoy more of the leisure facilities during my stays.

Room Tip: Specify what kind of mattress you prefer as there are options. If you want a pool/lake/garden view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elygalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I stayed here 4-5 times over the course of 2 months for business purposes. This is a resort style hotel however I only stayed at the basic room instead of the highly recommended poolside rooms.

The rating and following comments are based on western standards. I've heard this hotel is a top tel compared to Chinese standards so please bear that in mind.

All of the rooms I stayed in were the same, and all had a stale / smokey smell. I've developed a habit to open the door and turn the A/C on full blast when I first arrive in room, then have a shower, and then close the door and go out for dinner. By the time I come back the A/C has usually done the trick to clear the smell.

The layout is weird, and there are some of the longest corridor I've ever had to walk in a hotel to get to my room.

The service was good, they've responded quickly and friendly when I needed. There is in room cable Internet and the usual amenities.

There are 2 free bottles of water HOWEVER there were also 2 CHARGE-ABLE Evian bottles which from what I've overheard, confused some guests.

I think this is a family oriented hotel (based on the real nice pool around the hotel and the packages), however there seems to be a nightclub / KTV which may provide the entertainment for those who are after it.

By the way - if you want to have the peking duck at the Chinese restaurant, you HAVE TO arrive early when there aren't many customers and the staff are free. They will claim there is no duck available if you arrive later when there are many other customers. The reason is that the duck takes time to prepare and serve and they would only do so when there aren't many customers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank austrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

After stayed at Dongguan Hyatt Regency last year and would like to try something different this time and chose this hotel based on tripadvisor #1 ranking.

Pros
* lovely garden -I guess it must cost the hotel a fortune to do the gardening.
* great place for jogging - the hotel was very big and jogging in such green environment made you think if you are really in the industrialized Dongguan
* great buffet breakfast - very impress with the range of food (both western and Chinese) available in the morning
* high speed internet
* hard mattress - I personally prefer hard mattress
* proximity to major highways - while the public transport is poor at this location but if you have a car to go around, this hotel is in fact at a good location
* lively club and bar - if you enjoy drinks at bar (or looking for companion) - the hotel's nightclub is a great place to be
* great outdoor and indoor swimming pool - the outdoor swimming pool is HUGE (I would call this a waterpark instead) and the indoor pool open till midnight
* a balcony at each room for you to relax
* good value for money
* only 45mins from Shenzhen Airport (SZX)


Cons
* staffs are not trained to smile to their guests
* people smokes inside elevators and left very bad smell
* the corridor was long, you have to walk 100+ metres if you room is situated at the end of each floor
* public transport is an issue (hotel provides infrequent bus service to Zhangmutou station)
* basic gym

Room Tip: room numbers ends with 30 or lower are closer to elevators, otherwise could be a long walk. Even roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2011

It's absolute the best hotel I've ever visited and not expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiregidaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A great holiday resorts for the family in the summer time. Good pool, moderate facilities, nice room, easy access from Hong Kong. However the check in and check out times are always awful. And breakfast times are also horrible.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YWPHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Large and very well appointed room in a resort setting with lake, mountain, and garden views. Each room is similar to a junior suite with private deck (some equipped with excercise bike.) Large bathroom. Free internet and good writing table. Excellent buffet breakfast/dinner at Coffee Shop and Chinese Restaurant (Han Palace) offers very good Cantonese food. Guests on weekdays are usually businessmen and attract families from Hong Kong on weekend. Premise does have a spa where you can get a extremely relaxing foot massage within a very clean and comfortable environment (with window view facing lake.) This hotel does have a very large karioke bar/night club with a lot of lady escorts that sometimes roam around lobby and guest area which can be distracting (either good or bad.)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMW405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dongguan hotels
34.8 km away
TANGLA Dongguan
TANGLA Dongguan
#1 of 1,066 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
21.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
Hyatt Regency Dongguan
#2 of 1,066 in Dongguan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
22.8 km away
Goodview Hotel Qiaotou
Goodview Hotel Qiaotou
#472 of 1,066 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Good View Hotel Sangem
Good View Hotel Sangem
#25 of 1,066 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
42.8 km away
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
Sheraton Dongguan Hotel
#11 of 1,066 in Dongguan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
38.5 km away
Kande International Hotel Dongguan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodview Hotel Tangxia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodview Hotel Tangxia

Property: Goodview Hotel Tangxia
Address: Entrance of Longlin Highway, Yingbin Avenue, Tangxia Zhen, Dongguan 523710, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Dongguan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dongguan
#5 Business Hotel in Dongguan
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dongguan
#19 Best Value Hotel in Dongguan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodview Hotel Tangxia 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Goodview Hotel Tangxia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodview Hotel Dongguan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing