We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven of civilisation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
Ranked #2 of 2,739 Hotels in Shenzhen
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Haven of civilisation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

If you travel in China these days, particularly in the big cities where there are tourists and overseas visitors, there are big banners in Chinese with a slogan to encourage the citizens to behave in a civilised manner. You can draw your own conclusions as to whether there is such a problem in China.

At this hotel however, there is no need for such slogans. This is as civilised and refined a Ritz-Carlton as any other in the world, which puts it in stark contrast to the other so called luxury hotels in this bustling and up and coming city.

The secret of the success of this Ritz-Carlton, IMHO, lies in the professionalism and efficiency of its staff. They are competent and intelligent. You might say surely that is a good thing. For you and me perhaps, but this efficiency and professionalism put off the nouveaux riches. To make them even more uncomfortable, the decor and the atmosphere are deliberately underwhelming. Neither the place nor the staff make you feel you are a millionaire.

If you are insecure and want to feel that you have made it, this is not the place for you. On the other hand, if you want to be at ease and want to be treated as an ordinary person, this is a fabulous place. In China, there are not many places that regard wealth and status with a similar disdain. Everyone is treated as if he or she is the most important person.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prof_Cheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    173
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
58
58
36
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Service was excellent. the room was a good size, and I didn't upgrade. It was very nice with very comfortable bed and fabulous bathroom. I highly recommend this hotel, especially since it wasn't that expensive--I paid under $200/night.

The fitness center was beautiful. So was the outdoor pool, which was long enough to swim laps. A niggling concern: hotel pools that are long enough to swim laps have got to start painting lanes at the bottom of the pool. Otherwise, we zig-zag all over the place.

Pleasant Surprises: Even the windows were clean. Maybe I just got there after a window cleaning, but how often are your hotel room windows clean in China??

Mildly Unpleasant Surprise: I ordered a scotch in the lobby bar and I barely got a thimble-full. I don't know if it was the bartender that day, but it was a stingy offering.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VermontTraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Rooms are very nice and modern - surprising considering how affordable it is to stay. Housekeeping staff, including turn-down service, cater to your every need. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast buffet is good - combination of Amercian Continental and traditional Chinese offerings. Italian restaurant is excellent - both the food and service! Made the trip for business and felt at home at the Ritz.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJTAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We live in Hong Kong and it is great to escape for a night to Shenzhen. The Ritz is the perfect option. Great rooms, excellent service, ideal location and excellent food. We got upgraded to a beautiful suite and we enjoyed the executive lounge a lot. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Shenzhen Ritz is beautiful, with huge rooms and amazing service. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. And it's fairly inexpensive! Stay there if you're in Shenzhen.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodieMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton a few weeks ago and had a really enjoyable staystay, all the staff were friendly and very accommodating, the breakfast downstairs is great and the Italian restaurant was a nice place to relax for dinner after a busy day shopping.
The location of the hotel is convenient to everything and the subway system in this city was surprisingly good and easy to navigate
Overall I loved this hotel and cannot wait till I am able to return to Shenzhen

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vdieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I was booked in for 5 nights by my office in this very modern hotel in an excellent location. Check in fine and nice people. The corridor stank of decay and damp which really put me off. I did have breakfast - nothing to write home about. Moved out and stayed in another hotel and won't be back.
Pity really because the staff are nice - other people in my office mentioned that the hotel has had some issues.

Room Tip: Chose a diferent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelmo_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Four Seasons Hotel Shenzhen
#9 of 2,739 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Luohu Port
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
Grand Hyatt Shenzhen
#5 of 2,739 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shenzhen High-tec Industrial Park
InterContinental Shenzhen
InterContinental Shenzhen
#4 of 2,739 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Huanggang Port
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
Futian Shangri-La Shenzhen
#12 of 2,739 in Shenzhen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen
Address: 116 Fuhua San Road | Futian District, Shenzhen 518048, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Civic Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Shenzhen
#1 Business Hotel in Shenzhen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shenzhen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shenzhen
#56 Best Value Hotel in Shenzhen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Shenzhen Hotel Shenzhen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing