We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
75
203
48
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
203
48
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews subway station free wifi location is excellent a great place to stay rooms are spacious minute walk shopping convenience
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 337 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2018

I have stayed at this hotel several times before and it has never let me down. The location is excellent being close to the subway system and to a large shopping centre with some great places to eat. This is quite a famous old style hotel in ShenZhen and it has a nice ambience. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The restaurants serve good food and the breakfast is good. I'll be back again for sure.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are better in my opinion.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2017

Hotel is not fantastic as it is quite old. BUT the hotel is very clean. Room size is pretty good although no frills type of environment. Hotel is located in a great location with lots of eating outlets nearby. Most important is the customer service. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. And this is what made my stay a very pleasant one. My first stay at this hotel but I will certainly make Shanghai Hotel my choice next time I visit Shenzhen again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift door
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jamesgohups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017

We stayed at the Shanghai Hotel for three nights during our trip to Shenzhen and Hong Kong.

It is an impressive looking building. The room was spacious and has everything you could need such as air conditioning, safe, fridge, complimentary bottles of water, desk, wardrobe, WiFi etc.

The bathroom was also spacious although it did have a large clear glass partition between it and the main room which was strange (luckily there was a blind that could be pulled down for privacy)!

It is located very close to Huaqiang Rd metro station which is only 5 stops from the Luohu checkpoint if travelling from Hong Kong. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and it is also a short walk from the Huaqiangbei electronics markets. The Dongmen tourist area is only 5 metro stops away too although there are many shops and restaurants only a short walk away from the hotel.

Although it is in a busy area I never found outside noise to be an issue when staying there.

The staff were very helpful with organising taxis etc.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anybody looking a good value hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOFmtwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017

There is the train station within a one minute walk. The check in process was very simple and the staff behind the counter could converse in basic English. The room was not too small neither was it spacious but its what you pay for it. Bathroom was okay, safety box was a bit dodgy but nonetheless the room and bathroom was clean.

The restaurant on the first floor was actually not bad and i recommend the roast pork dish.

Room Tip: Speak in Chinese
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hedger9uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

The hotel was a bit of a surprise; in a good way. The rooms were reasonable in size and the hotel had an oddly but well done 1930's (I think) theme going on.
Located close to major shopping centers and the electronics district, great for shopping :)
Unfortunately it rain all three days that we stayed.
Would definitely recommend as an affordable and central hotel.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank TJR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews