We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
222
193
31
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
193
31
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large swimming pool sanya bay seafood close to the airport breakfast buffet was good rooms are spacious bathtub balcony english proximity china pros cons
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 464 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I are currently still staying at the Ocean Sonic in Sanya. In short, it's been a nightmare. Sure, the hotel is beautiful, the grounds are beautiful, as is the beach. However, for a "5 star resort", the service is a disgrace. The start of each day is horrific. As if fighting with the other guests to get to food at breakfast isn't hassle enough... But trying to find a table to actually eat your meal at is next to impossible. So much so, that the staff cleared our table prematurely, and then attempted to move us to another floor to finish our breakfast!! When I complained, they laughed as they said "I'm so sorry, we have too many guests." The pool, day after day, ran out of pool/beach towels, and left the guests sitting on the nasty lounge chairs without anything. The wifi didn't work outside of the lobby until the Chinese holiday was upon us. (Although they tell you otherwise) When you ask a question in English, they bring someone that "speaks English", but you never really get an answer. Our room, although beautiful and spacious, has a horrible musty/smokey smell when entering.
The restaurants at the hotel are extremely over priced, which of course is normal, if it's at least decent food. The ocean sonic beach bar has awful food, and even worse service. It took 20-30 minutes to receive drinks, and over an hour to receive your food.
Also to mention- there is nothing in the vicinity to walk to for entertainment or dining.
At the end of the day, I wish we were leaving now instead of in 4 days to return home.
Don't punish yourselves by visiting this hotel.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Very big, clean and all containing hotel. Very rich and different breakfast, very polite and helpful staff. My living room was big and modern in design, which is good if you're open for new ideas (like glass doors to the toilet and shower, no walls between toilet and living area or bath on the balcony). Clean sea side. Not sure if it is the case for the whole Sanya - hotel sea part for swimming is very small, actually you can walk till the limiter. Hotel is far away from any nightlife / city walking activities that can be reached by bus or taxi only.

Room Tip: all-included hotel, sea inactivity
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna_0q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2015 via mobile

Ocean Sonic Resort is a good resort located on Sanya Bay, close to the airport.

The rooms are clean and spacious. And my overall experience is that the hotel are very well maintained and clean. The room standard are more of a 4-star hotel than 5, but as mentioned before - very clean and spacious rooms.

The breakfast is not good at all and it is very hard to find something that you can eat, except of the candy we found in the kids corner.

The staff are great and even if the English skills are bad sometimes, they always do their best to find someone able to speak English. There was a guy called Bobby that speaks good English, ask for him if you have trouble.

The beach is very close and there is an underpass so it is safe to go there. The beach is like everywhere else on Sanya Bay, very commercial which in some way is charming. Could recommend the roof pool (which is more like a balcony) - very quiet and peaceful compared to the big pool.

Could really recommend this resort. Do not expect a 5-star hotel at its best but expect a 4-star hotel. The reason why I give Ocean Sonic 3, is because of the bad breakfast...

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
4  Thank Dino J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

Amazing, spacious and clean rooms with lots of extra amenities and huge towels! Two bathrooms per suite so great for sharing with friends. Breakfast busy but lots of choice for westerners compared to other breakfasts in china. Staff very polite and helpful and always tried to find someone who could speak English. Underpass to private beach area with loungers and more big towels supplied. Beach was clean and sea clear. A fabulous hotel in South china!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank helenvyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2015

Nice and clean hotel, massive swimming pool, 2 mins walk to the beach.
Even the staff english is not good, they also try their best to speak and help. This is the most appreciate part and make you feel warm
Breakfast buffet have a lot selection on both chinese and western style
Only thing need to improve is the swimming pool surrounding chairs, there always have flies is keep flying, it annoying and irritating. And don't clean the swimming pool when its open too ^^ Beside of this all is perfect
U feel quite and relax here, we sure will stay here for our next arrival.

Room Tip: We drop a remarks as we travel there for honey moon. They upgraded our room and provide a lovely decoration for us, thx
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kennase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews