We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our stay!”
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Chris and Linda truly make your stay memorable! The moment you enter their hostel, you feel like you arrived home! They are truly friendly, welcoming and accomodating meeting every request with a smile.
The location is splendid - just 2 minute walk from the beach (plus u get beach towels and floating boards for free!), the food street, pharmacy, banks, a huge supermarket are all withing walking distance from the hostel. The bar street is just a few bus stops away (around 10-12 rmb by taxi) and the hostel has a very decent bar itself.
The towels are changed everyday and rooms are cleaned on a daily basis which is rare in most hotels in Sanya.
Chris organizes marvelous trips to the rainforest and waterfall and is a very talented and patient surfing instructor ;))) Had a lot of unforgettable experiences all thanks to them! They are the people who'll make you smile first thing in the morning. Plus there a lot of foreigners in the hostel who are really outgoing and interested in getting to know you.
By and large, I believe this is one of the best places to stay in Sanya. Will definitely recommend to everyone who is looking for a relaxed and friendly atmosphere right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bezoomniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

great staff great location,about 3 minutes walk to pharmacy, beach, cheap cheap food and an awesome surfer bar. lots of foreigners in the area and about 3yuan (50 cents?) away from the bar area of the town. great run for the money. oh and did I mention, they provide free beach towel and toys for the beach! (like a volleyball!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yonk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Sanya Backpackers has a great location and friendly atmosphere! Restaurants, the beach and party, all nearby. Chris and Linda help you with everything you need and give good tips on what to do on the area. Hope we can come back to surf again :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Came to Hainan from mainland China where we had stayed in some pretty average hostels, had a complete nightmare of a journey over to the island and we were about ready to give up when we arrived. However, from start to finish our stay in Sanya was brilliant, can't speak highly enough of Chris, Linda and all the staff (especially Mimi!) who were helpful and happy at all times. Even if the island hadn't been as beautiful as it was, I'd recommend going to Sanya Backpackers! Best place I stayed in China without a doubt.

Nilia and James.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idirnilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

great place and really nice staff. Thanks Linda a & Chris. The buffet party at the hostel was amazing. Was a perfect extend weekend. I liked very much my 4 days in Snaya. Small waves in my weekend but Chris shown us the paradise beach with only a few people there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlessioFriasGadelha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Sanya Backpackers is the best hostel we've been too. Especially our love to Chris and Linda. They were really nice, helpfull, social and most important funny to hang out with! Ofcours we dont forgot the mascot Mimi. A friends of ours wanted to change her ticket and Linda immediately helped out. They are so friendly it feels like you are home. We all prefer Sanya Backpackers more than a Hotel. The rooms are very clean and there was even a bar with all kinds of named shots. Our stay in Sanya was perfect thanks to them!

Our Love

Danielle, Lucia, Pamela & Shou-Ai

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shou-Ai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

A great stay.. If i had it my way I would've stayed here alot longer than the 3 nights.

Great character, Great staff, Great family orientated Enviroment.

& very affordable.

On top of that very clean.

What more else could be needed to enhance my experience here?.. there was even a bar.

Sanya backpackers; the Best Undisputed Hostel in China.

Room Tip: All rooms prefered, if a problem occurs with your room don't be hesitant to ask Chris or Linda f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Captain's House
#1 of 618 in Sanya
86 reviews
Palmena Apartment
#133 of 1,364 in Sanya
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
MGM Grand Sanya
#15 of 1,364 in Sanya
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 260 Speciality Lodging in Sanya
Price Range: $16 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanya Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing