We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haitang Bay
Open today: 12:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sanya
from US$101.00
More Info
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
10
14
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
14
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews development deserted waves beach visitors mall hainan
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 26 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

It is still under developed but very clean water and not so many people here. Need to take water, foods and sun cream to avoid sunburn all no shops can be seen near to beach area.

1  Thank Anup K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2018

Is wery nice and beautiful with the best hotels and high price for the best price. If you can go to see place you might choose a greatest place of them all. Waves in this beach is quite alot so be carefull not to go to water if you cannot handel it.

Thank M1ska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018

One of the main bays in Hainan, Haitang Bay is very quiet and still under development.
Located about 40 minutes from Sanya (~RMB150 from the airport) the beaches here are not suitable for swimming. The waves are too strong and signs are up to warn visitors of the water condition.

To the north of Haitang square, there is a stretch of beachfront hotels. All around the area, there are construction work as many new hotels are being built.

I would almost equate Haitang Bay as a resort town, as places are not easy to get to without a car, and cabs aren’t that readily available on the streets.

I would recommend staying at Haitang Bay if you’re looking for peace and quiet and don’t need to be in the ocean. However, I wouldn’t make a day trip out here as there’s really nothing to see here (except for the duty free mall if you’re into name brands and shopping).

1  Thank xlzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2017

The beach here has a pretty rough surf - the current is strong and not good for swimming but all other aspects are great. The waves are fun, as long as you stay in the shallows, the beach is deserted and very nice to walk along and explore

Thank NickInChina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

..that Haitang Wan is as unspoilt, un-besmirched, and un-cluttered (with tourists) as it was last time I visited.. January 2016 as I recall.

The local beaches are superb - a real treasure; clean and virtually empty a lot of the time, but at the very least definitely uncrowded and unspoilt - you need go no further for a perfect beach.. miles and miles of it!

There is plenty of good food, local colour and culture in the local town of Ling Wang. I actually thought there was a better and wider choice of eating in Ling Wang than Sanya.. and if you really must.. you can visit Sanya's Wanda super mall.. a mall to end them all.. hopefully.. ;>

Thank Barrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2016

First of all: during my stay swimming was interdicted due to dangerous waves. But moreover, this is not the kind of beaches we are used to from Thailand, Philippines, Malaysia,... They are not vivid at all, because each hotel has a part of it, 5-star hotels adjacent to each other, so no local flavour or atmosphere when you walk along

5  Thank ralfm844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2016

If are a lover of just peace and guiet this is for you. Miles of empty beach to enjoy. We even found parts of a Japanese pill box and cement barriers to prevent landing. That was fascinating. Gigantic mall next door. Seems strange to have a mall of this scale to so remote. But the plans are to build up the area.

1  Thank trunorth2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2016

I came across this bay when I was looking for a location from a TVC featuring an actor walking on a deserted beach. Haitang Bay at the time only had 4 hotels. The beach could look deserted if we blocked the pedestrian traffic right. A few years forward, Haitang Bay has over a dozen hotels. But you can still take nice photos of the beach all by yourself. The crowds are starting to come in especially the weekends. But still a good place to visit.

Thank clubikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Make sure to visit this beach now before this area gets filled with aback to back hotels. It’s far from everything in Sanya however that’s what makes it a good beach to visit. Not a lot of tourist so perfect for having the beach to yourself.

Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2016

Beautiful beach, not crowdy, silent, but it is not allowed to swim here. Lots of luxurious hotels in that area.

1  Thank Asianshavemorefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews