We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
495
32
12
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
32
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aqua restaurant haitang bay poor food quality duty free mall beer factory buffet dinner stayed nights the club lounge main restaurant balcony taxi china pools toys hainan
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 551 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2017

We originally planned to stay in InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, unfortunately, due to their slow response and poor service quality, we opted to stay at another resort. Despite an unhappy experience, we still attracted by the stunning restaurant - Aqua.

Before we visited, we heard that restaurant is expensive, poor food quality and not worth to go. Surprisingly, food is good, free juice and wine. We can choose either steak or lobster for the main course. Besides, lamb and crab are also available in the buffet which is yummy.

Our table was arranged at the end of the tunnel, it is quiet and some devilfish and sharks were passed by us. The downside is a bright light was located at both sides of the tunnel which made us feel uncomfortable.

In addition, the booking was terrible. The restaurant requested us bank-in to make the reservation, but when we asked for the details, they didn't give us response until we gave a call to IHG.

In summary, "Aqua" is worth to visit, food is good, and gave us an unforgettable dinner. We are recommended to others and will probably visit again!

Room Tip: We didn't stay in this hotel due to their poor service, but Aqua restaurant is worth to try. Recommend the table in the tunnel.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank TerrenceChu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy S, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Dear distinguished guest,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your dinner experience at Aqua – Seafood & Steak Restaurant. As China's only restaurant with an indoor aquarium, Aqua offers spectacular view of sea creatures and unmatched service in a relaxed atmosphere - true resort experience. In the evening, Aqua offers a posh and exciting ambiance with trendy music blended to present the hottest atmosphere in the island. In our stylish space designed like a living room, guests are sure to be tempted into sampling the enticing array of the season's best produce, cheeses, artisanal ingredients and tasty appetizers. Thanks again for your highly praise of our Aqua restaurant and food quality. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again so that we can create one more unforgettable experience for you and your family.
Sincerely,
Jimmy Sung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

Stay in intercontinental for 2 nights. We booked a suite and the room is big and comfy. With buffet breakfast, free tea break and happy hour on the 17 floor, all we do is eat and relax all day long. The staff is very helpful and nice. We also booked the buffet dinner in the Aqua restaurant. But I felt that here is room for improvement. For the price ($100 plus per pax) I paid, I do expect more. I think the ambience and food can be better. More quality is better than more variety. Hope the tunnel dining will just allow adult only (kids screaming during my dinner).

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank JonathanF3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy S, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you and your friends are very fond of Aqua Restaurant and IC Club, give very high appreciation of our staff’s service attitude. Thank you your advice, we will improve the food quality and more variety. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We sincerely hope you and your friends will visit us again. Jimmy Song – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017

We stayed here in September 2017 and stayed for 7 nights. Check in was easy, although not many of the staff have a good command of English. thank goodness for google translate. We booked a Premier room with the bed facing the patio doors so had a good view of the gardens and the sea when we awoke. Nice touch with the electric curtains. Room was clean and tidy and had good facilities. Every room has a balcony bath, which we used regularly. All the staff were very helpful and a special mention to Eddie on concierge, who was very helpful and made a beeline for us everytime he saw us. Also all the staff in the club lounge including Wayne. One niggle was the fact that my wife is gluten free and no-one understood what it was despite menus stating any allergies inform the staff. The did make every effort to get gluten free bread and it did arrive the last day. I am sure most of the hotel staff understand what a gluten allergy is now. There isn't much to do in the resort other than the China Duty Free Mall, but buses and taxis are available to other parts of the island. Thanks to all the staff that helped us. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy S, Manager at InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty as an IHG® Rewards Club member. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your praise our Staff Wayne. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.We will also increase more English training for our staff to serve you better. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We sincerely hope you and your friends will visit us again. Jimmy Song – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2016

We stayed here for just 1 night on our arrival in Sanya and were very impressed. From our huge room on the 7th floor we had a fantastic view of both the resort and Haitang Bay, the room was so good we were sorry to leave. The staff were most welcoming and made every effort to speak English with us, Rebecca on guest reception was outstanding. Well tended grounds and an stylish feel added to the atmosphere. Sadly we were not able to eat in the Aqua Restaurant which is under the aquarium, booking well in advance recommended but we had a very positive experience in the Resort's Chinese Restaurant. We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackNIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy S, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2016

Dear valuable guest, Thank you so much for your good review and recommendation of our hotel. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in.so we value your feedback and would make all aspects more and more better. We do hope you and your family will visit us again in the future. Sincerely by General Manager Jimmy Sung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful property. Our room was exceptional, my wife and I were very impressed. The General Manager was kind enough to upgrade us from a standard room to and executive room. However, we were somewhat confined to the resort for the first few days without access to most of the amenities due to typhoon Sarika, which through no fault of the resort, left us very bored.

I was quite disappointed with the room service. This is not an "English speaking" friendly facility. I called down to room service to order dinner and the gentleman could not speak english and asked for me to wait. I waited for a few minutes and then he eventually hung up the phone on me without notice. I then called the front desk and was advised someone would call me back in 5 minutes to take my order. Someone did call back and took my order, but he didn't sound confident when repeating my dinner order in broken english. My suspicions were confirmed when a hotel staff member came to my room about 15 minutes later to confirm my dinner order. I had to point out the Chinese translation on the menu of my order before he understood. I am pleased to say that our dinner did eventually arrive 55 minutes later complete with a complimentary bottle of red wine for the tardy delivery. We also found the Room cleaning staff challenged when requests were made in english.

This was the first InterContinental property that did not include mini bar and Club lounge access for Royal Ambassadors. Granted I used rewards nights which means they are not obliged to do so but InterContinental properties in Tokyo and Singapore did offer me all the Royal Ambassador privileges on reward night stays. Not a huge issue but rather surprising for an organisation that has a client recognition program that acknowledges their most "valued" customers with the Royal Ambassador label but treats them differently when rewards night are used as payment. One never appreciates being "nickelled and dimed" for every little thing.

All in all, I would still recommend this facility, especially if you do not want to venture away from the resort. The Aqua dinner buffet is excellent but a bit on the pricey side at 598RMB per person. The property is somewhat secluded and far away from many attractions. I would suggest a rental car pick up at the airport so you have some diversity in your stay in Sanya. We managed to pick up a four door compact for about 150RMB per day which is about the same price as a one way trip to/from the airport to resort if you prefer not to use the complimentary shuttle. And, parking is complimentary at this resort!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank CanadaPeterW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy S, General Manager at InterContinental Sanya Haitang Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Dear valuable guest, Thank you for your candid and detailed review of our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty as an IHG® Rewards Club member. Firstly we apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. Active service carefully, do a good job in every detail, is the goal of our service. We attach great importance to your feedback and immediately reflected in the hotel management. Now we have arranged the staff to attend the Hotel English Course Traning and our food & beverage manager would also carry out the particularly "Room Order Sevice" traning so that we can continue to improve our services.We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide you a better experience.
Sincerely by General Manager Jimmy Sung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews