We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
164
25
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
25
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea house fantastic design typical park pool house private beach le labo beach bag kids pool area hotel design hot water fresh coconut chinese restaurant general manager spacious room f b hong kong seafood
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 201 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2017

The previous review titled "Wow" gave very good and detailed descriptions which I wouldn't repeat. Regarding the hotel design, it falls in the category of 'contemporary', with an interesting collection of art pieces, in various medium, placed all around the hotel premises, including its gardens. The architectural design is unusual and strikes one as a commercial building with multiple blocks connected by walkways. At night, the exterior is lit up, just like commercial buildings, and all these making it a somewhat charming visual experience.
The blemishes are largely about service quality (due to basically inexperienced staff who do seem to be trying their best) and poor signage that makes getting around bewildering for the first 2 days. The gripe about "guest ambience" is probably a common experience in all Sanya resorts, but the super luxury environment at Park Hyatt makes this somewhat more difficult to take to for hotel guests used to basic courtesies amongst themselves, such as not speaking to each other across the room). The last gripe is the ridiculous prices of wine, especially given that some of the selections are mass market brands that we know don't deserve the very high premium price as listed. If management wish to charge high prices, at least select not so common brands (think Cloudy Bay) that a guest doesn't feel so blatantly fleeced.

Room Tip: ocean front in a building block close to swimming pool
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank normad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sanya Sunny Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to provide such a detailed review of your experience at Park Hyatt Sanya Sunny Bay. It was nice to learn your compliments on overall hotel designs. At meantime please accept our apology for the inconvenience you encountered with our service and the hotel signage. We will continue enhance guest service training throughout all hotel associates aim to meet and exceed guest expectation, we are also in the stage to install extra signage in public area to fine-tune way finding / direction. We are in review wine price in comparing with market price, thank you for your valuable feedback on this as well. We look forward to welcoming you visit us in the hopefully not too distant future. All the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2017

We stopped in at the Terrace bar for afternoon tea and gin and tonic on a sunny evening at sundown. Service was excellent and it was a lovely experience. The hotel is elegantly designed and the terrace provides a very nice view out over the bay into the South China Sea.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Park Hyatt Sanya Sunny Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Dear David L
Thank you for your stay with us at Park Hyatt Sanya Sunny Bay Resort. We are pleased to know that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations. Thank you!
Thank you once again, we look very much forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2017

This is the best hotel in Sanya City. It has a very good view and a private beach!
Everything in the hotel is artistic. Staffs are kindly to help me. The Chinese restaurant is wonderful, especially the lobster.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank guyuez2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Park Hyatt Sanya Sunny Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear guyuez2017 ,Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our ocean view room made your stay experience more memorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve. Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future.

Thank you!
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a work of art. I have stayed in many fine hotels including five star beach resorts and other Park Hyatt hotels. Only one property from my experience, the Amanpuri, in Phuket Thailand, compares the Park Hyatt in Sanya.

The obvious item to note is the outstanding design by Jean Michele Gathy. Each common area is stunning, a centerpiece in its own right. It feels flawless from the building layout, with gallery corridors connecting one section to the next, to curated decor. The entire property reads like an architectural digest. I am not a particular fan of Asian or contemporary design, but I could not help but greatly appreciate both as I experienced this place.

It has a feel of exclusivity that is not something I've experienced anywhere outside the Aman series. The land is at the end of a newly developed bay in Sanya, "Sunny Bay" and is reached by a long hilltop road lined with a walking strip and meticulously maintained lamps and flower beds space five meters apart for miles. Also, there aren't a lot of rooms which means there aren't many guests. It was lovely to feel as though go we nearly had the place to ourselves. If you are looking for a spot to bond with fellow travelers and make new friendship connections, this is not where you want to go.

We tried each restaurant on the resort and had very nice experiences at each one.
The food was spendy though, 3 or 4 times the cost at the food center in Sanya. To rest our budget and experience local flavor, we took the hotel shuttle 15 minutes into sanya a few times where we had excellent meals.

The "Bath house" indoor pool is just beautiful with lots of places to lounge along the edges and private spa cabanas available for the taking. The beach was beautiful although quite small. Sunny Bay is really more if an inlet so you don't get those awe inspiring waves crashing in but, on the plus side, it is extremely private. No other resort property shares Sunny Bay, at least not yet, and the beach terminates at either end in steep rocky hillsides ... this means there are no beach joggers moving through and no chance for vagrants or bracelet sellers to disturb your repose. Our four young children were free to wander as I could easily see them wherever they were and there were not many people around anyway. It was quite relaxing. There are woven beach loungers on wooden platforms which really cut down on the sandy annoyances I associate with beach visits.

Our room was the nicest I have ever stayed in. The layout is thoughtfully designed. We had a giant window overlooking the bay and a full sized kitchen and living room. The bedroom was amazing, perfect with every amenity, including a walk in closet and a beach bag to borrow.

the weather was uncooperative during our five day stay with the sun never showing itself that whole time ... Cloudy Bay ... but we almost didn't notice. Staying at this property was like being a guest in a palace ... we spent our days gliding around in awe if our surroundings, marveling at the architecture, taking in the installations, and eating good food. The value is unbeatable with rooms renting for a few hundred dollars a night. A comparable property outside if china is easily twice the price.

We are Hyatt Platinum members and I have stayed in many fine Hyatt hotels ... this one takes the cake, and I cannot wait to return!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sanya Sunny Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at Park Hyatt Sanya Sunny Bay. I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we met all your expectations. As you highlighted, we have a very unique and special property here in Sunny Bay and I am delighted to learn that the quality of the service matched the quality of the surrounds. We will certainly be shared with our team.

Thank you again for your note. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunny Bay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is based in sunny bay which far from other beaches with great views from the rooms! Hugh property with exclusive private beach. Maybe I visited here on off peak season, there wasn't packed with screaming kids like my previous stays in other hotels in sanya. 1 hour away from airport and 30 hour away from town, it is easy to get taxi hunting food locally. Service is cool and a girl called Christina, FOM, shown the hospitality when I check out. One thing I am not comfortable about is that I have been charged small mount money for damaging a water glass. For such top end range hotel, this little thing should be waived for good well. Remember ask for the room in those buildings closing to bay with ocean view! Be prepared that sometimes the wifi cannot work properly, very slow.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank dayang60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy C, General Manager at Park Hyatt Sanya Sunny Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your candid feedback and I apology for the way you have been treated and felt on the broken glass issue and I will ensure it won't happen again. I really look forward to welcoming you back to this beautiful hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews