We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
132
41
8
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
41
8
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool grill family pool deluxe suite international star hotel small mall the club lounge walk in closet the south china sea haitang bay chinese restaurant huge bathtub shower room limited english hotpot free upgrade nice balcony short stay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 194 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Hotel is modern and exceptional quality. Superb facilities with three pools. Excellent staff with good attitude. Room was excellent and perfect for our family of four. Club floor facilities excellent for breakfast. afternoon tea and happy hour.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank simonharden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SanyaHTB, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Sanya Haitang Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Sanya Haitang Bay Resort & Spa and sharing your comments with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will continue to provide you with efficient service, clean space and delicious food, so that you can enjoy a perfect stay experience. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Very recommended! The service was really good, especially the guard at the swimming pool - they're very concerned about safety, especially in children's pools. the facilities at the hotel are very satisfying, and the location is close to a mall with lots of food.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SanyaHTB, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Sanya Haitang Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Sanya Haitang Bay Resort & Spa and sharing your comments with us. Our hotel is situated amid the serene and sandy beach in the center of the National Coast, Haitang Bay. With a contemporary design inspired by traditional Chinese lanterns, this splendid resort is a beacon on the shore guiding travellers to a destination of comfort, luxury and rejuvenation.We will diligently make every effort to improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

The property opened 3 years ago. The guest room is nice with lounge chairs, small dining table and nice balcony with lounge chair again. There is an adult zen pool, a quiet place for people with no kids. Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. They booked our golf game and arranged taxi for us. The only down side is because of the summer holiday period, there are many Chinese tourists with children. The lobby and check in counter are full of kids, very noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SanyaHTB, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Sanya Haitang Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Sanya Haitang Bay Resort & Spa and sharing your comments with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will continue to provide you with efficient service, clean space and delicious food, so that you can enjoy a perfect stay experience. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018

Let's start with prior to reaching the hotel... Grand Hyatt is about 45 minutes taxi ride from the airport. It should cost you about 170 - 180 RMB. We did not go with the hotel Limo as we find it over priced at 900 RMB.

Upon arrival at 11am, we checked in and the room wasn't ready (which we understand). We then realised there was nothing we could do. We wanted food but the restaurants in the hotel only started serving lunch at 12pm. Not a wise business choice, as i reckon at least one of your 3 restaurants could be open.

Anyway, we went to the Spa to make a booking. I must say the service personnel at the spa were very friendly. However, it was really weird, and also disappointing to know that the spa has no spa facilities!?! How can it be call resort and spa, when the spa has no basic facilities like sauna, steam rooms, dip pools or hot tubs?! They literally have massage rooms... so after making our spa booking for the evening, we just sat at the waiting area in the spa till 12pm for our lunch.

Lunch was at the hotel's chinese restaurant, Yu chun. Overall experience was good, food was delicious, portions are huge, service was prompt (not crowded). It is a little pricey but we had some F&B vouchers that the staff gave us. I would recommend it for a try, but not a place you would die to go back after that.

We got our room at 1.30pm, which is a pleasant surprise, and we stayed in room #708. The room was amazing, it was value for money for its size and comfort, the room was pretty much the highlight of our short getaway. We rested and napped before proceeding to the spa for our 1.5 hours treatment.

Spa treatment was also good, but it really wasn't worth the price. We have visited several spas around the globe but we just found this experience lackluster. The therapists were friendly and nice, but one of the guys kept sneezing, as though he was allergic to the oil that he was using, not very professional. The massage felt good but there wasn't much for us to do before and after the treatment. The 1.5 hours treatment was almost the same price as 1 night stay in the hotel. We would have spent the money on another night stay instead of the 1.5 hours massage.

Dinner was at the pool grill. Similarly, service and food was great cause the restaurants was quiet.

Moving on to the next day, we visited the gym, pool and sea!
Sea was clean and the water was warm, took some nice pictures and laid down for a while before moving to the zen pool. Love the zen pool as there was no kids allowed (really plus point). We were literally the only ones there and pool water was warm from the weather. great place to chill and relax. The gym was also impressive, they had so much space and all the equipment i needed for a proper workout. they even had a studio for yoga/stretching. The gym has got to be one of my favorite place in the hotel.
In the toilet where the gym is located, we realized that they do have a Jacuzzi and steam room which wasn't on/working. it is really weird, how are these facilities not at the spa? Perhaps some proper planning to locate the gym and spa together and have theses facilities made available?! It was under maintenance or something, but what a waste! Anyway, just to share that the gym was empty and i love it.

Anyway, where the gym is, there are some entertainment too. KTV rooms are available for booking, and we also spent some time in the mini arcade that they had.
We ended the evening with a drink at the rooftop bar, which was also beautiful. Drinks are a little pricey but worth the experience as it wasn't crowded at all. you only find one server/bartender there.

We pretty much repeated what we did there, except we also visited the family pool, which was huge and gave us a better view, but much noisier as well. There is a cafe on the lobby level that serves really nice ice cream for the hot weather. We ventured out into the mall next to the hotel for more food options (they are slightly more affordable); and also supermarket to buy some drinks and snacks.

Overall, it was a good experience, but something is just simply lacking from a Grand Hyatt experience. I do think that the overall service is lacking, probably due to the lack of staff.
The staff could also take more initiative considering how empty and quiet most parts of the hotel are, there wasn't much interaction with them and really didn't complete the service experience.

2 key things to work on:

1. Breakfast needs to be better managed. We were asked for our room numbers and we had to HUNT for our own tables, which is ridiculous. Is this even allowed for a 5 star luxury property?! Shouldn't the hostess sit us? The table management is so poor, it is probably why everyone has to wait for tables and what a lousy start to the day, please fix it!

2. we love the room and the huge bath tub, but the draining system in room 708 is faulty. please have it checked!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SanyaHTB, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Sanya Haitang Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is not exactly beach front. It is beautifully landscaped providing scenic pathways for hotel guests to access restaurants and pools that are about 5-8 minutes walk from the main building lobby. Rooms are spacious and faces the ocean. Do request higher floors for better views.

Staff English proficiency is limited. The resort is catered for family mainly & 90% of guests appear to be from China.

The spa is very nice but prices are no different than other five star hotel spas outside of China.

Onsite restaurants offer decent selection. Food is good but pricey.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mags Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_SanyaHTB, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Sanya Haitang Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews