We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
16
18
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
18
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 39 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This review is about the Qinhuang Grand Hotel, which , for some reason, is listed on this site as the Qinhuang International Hotel. There is a separate listing here for a Qinhuangdao Grand Hotel, but that is a different property. This review is for the Grand Hotel at No. 2 Wentao Road.

We booked this hotel a month in advance and paid $208 (including taxes) per room for two “deluxe sea view” rooms and stayed only one night, as planned.

The Qinhuang Grand is probably the nicest, most luxurious hotel we have ever stayed in, anywhere. The hotel seems very new and the rooms appear to be brand new. The rooms had floor to ceiling windows that provided a spectacular view of the beach, ocean and surrounding area. The rooms were spacious with high ceilings.

The bathroom had a large glass wall separating the bath tub from the main area of the hotel room. An electrically controlled blind provided privacy when necessary. It had a large, separate shower with a ceiling-mounted “rain shower” fixture.

Each room had a fridge and digital safe, which was wired for AC power so, for example, you could leave your video camera, cell phone or tablet charging while it was secured. Throughout the room, each set of power outlets contained electrical sockets compatible with both local and North American standards (and perhaps European, too) . The rooms also had large, flat-screen TVs.

The surrounding beach area is a little disappointing. It is hard to explain. The beach is long, wide and sandy. However, it doesn’t have the “feel” of comparable beaches in, say, California or Hawaii. It almost felt a bit “industrial”. In addition, we were unable to find anywhere within walking distance to eat. There were a couple open-air restaurants. But none had English menus and they generally seemed to focus on seafood (which made sense for the location, but just didn’t seem appetizing to us at the time).

The hotel is across the street from the beach and not too far from the town centre. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodated us in English. Although it is hard to imagine every being anywhere near Qinhuangdao again, if I was, I would definitely stay at the Qinhuang Grand again and I wouldn’t bother checking prices or availability anywhere else.

As of the time of this writing, the Expedia listing for this property contains a bizarre description in its first couple lines. This almost caused us not to book here, but we assumed it was either a joke or some type of on-line sabotage. We were very glad we stuck with this booking. I have alerted the hotel management about the problem but so far they haven't fixed the problem on Expedia. However, you can feel confident that this is a very normal, high-end hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdvisorKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2012

For our short getaway to the beach from the smog of Beijing, we selected the Qinhuangdao Grand Hotel Qinhuang because of the lovely room photos and advertised five star status. Expecting a beautiful experience, the US$300+ per night (with no breakfast) was acceptable. The rooms did not disappoint and were big and airy. The majority of locals were also very nice and more than willing to help with prams (when no ramps were in sight) and to give directions to find a taxi.

Much of the rest of the hotel, the surrounds, and the service provided at the hotel, did however disappoint.

Key problem at the hotel was with the service and the surrounds. The hotel told me to book on-line as they had no rooms available. But when on the hotel website the next day, I was surprised to note that the hotel had many of the rooms I wanted at around US$50 less than the Agoda price. My email to the hotel received no response. I followed up in person on arrival and then while at the hotel wasted about 4 hours explaining to various people the problem because no staff member followed up. First response was to get a refund from Agoda and re-book (they still had rooms available and had never been fully booked) but eventually the hotel offered us breakfast at the hotel (awful) and some fruit. This much less than the difference but they didn't seem to care including when I was checking out with a bill for drinking water and swimming caps (purchased for use in hotel pool). When I said that the level of service left much to be desired and that I would outline my experience on the internet, the reception staff agreed but said the Manager had decided they had done enough and did not care about reviews.

Further problems:
- The complementary breakfast was overcrowded, loud and dirty. Hotel is a coach stop for (very hungry) tourists and the food was insufficient for the task and below standard for a "western" style hotel.
- Staff said it would be "a lot of trouble" to find a second baby seat in the hotel (from the restaurant upstairs) and only did so when pressed.
- Very limited restaurant options within walking distance, hotel unable to assist beyond suggesting their own restaurants.
- Hotel not helpful in relation to tourism options.
- Beach over the road was very dirty (rubbish-laden, black sand), ocean is filthy and air smells of industry.
- Terribly polluted air.
- Inflexible attitude to the need for swimming caps, including for children (despite the photos on this site), and even tried to insist that my baby had to wear one. This was one small argument that I won when they could see that she refused to do so.

Key tips:
- Ability to speak Chinese is a must. Almost no English spoken in town and finding a taxi was a long difficult walk (carrying children and bags) down to the hot and dusty main street. Some had difficulty understanding my map in chinese too… A lovely local offered to direct us in order for us not to be forced into the single taxi parked close (ish) to the Qinhuangdao Railway station exit that was trying to scalp tourists.
- Investigate alternative food options ahead of time as the hotel restaurants (especially for breakfast) was overcrowded and had below par food with very little to tempt the palate of western children.
- Expect to pay for water (only 500mls of drinking water provided per adult, despite travelling with children) and must bring/buy swimming caps (minimum cost RMB50 each) to use indoor pool (even babies).

Room Tip: Sea-view West Wing do not really have a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AusMoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Very big room, love the bathroom. lighting a little dim. room service menu a little bit limited. the japanese/korean restaurant only serves japanese teppanyaki... that was kinda weird. predominantly chinese guests hence the hotel staff are not very well versed in english. very close to the beach and other sights.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed February 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews