We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
287
381
63
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
381
63
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sinorama tour the river one night nice lobby imperial china breakfast variety bright lights amazing light show day tour great hotel huge park rooftop bar revolving restaurant visited this hotel many choices luxurious hotel room was spacious and clean
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 743 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2018

We arrived late evening so were treated to the amazing light show along the riverfront. All the buildings are lit up and its quite a spectacle. The HJ is part of this so with its iconic glitter ball on its roof it does stand out . Roof top bar is quite impressive but the only issue is the outside lights restrict your view (too much light coming back ) . Generally hotel is pretty good . .Breakfast was great though , nice spacious area on the first floor. Great selection of food and plenty of helpful staff around. Outside the hotel there is a great riverside promenade with landscaped areas and lots of people out walking or doing the morning dance classes.

Room Tip: Riverside if you can get one
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GedJon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenZhao, 客户关系经理 at Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear guest, thank you for choosing to stay at the Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Hotel in Wuhan. Thank you very much for your comments, your comments will make us do better,We will strengthen the wireless network signal. We are looking forward to your visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2018

This hotel had the best coffee on our tour. However, the room was the smallest we stayed in during our 14 days in China. The room was clean and we only stayed there one night. The breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ludwig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenZhao, 客户关系经理 at Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Dear guest, thank you for choosing to stay at the Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Hotel in Wuhan. Thank you very much for your comments, your comments will make us do better, Sincerely look forward to your visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

Howard Johnson Pear Plaza Wuhan, Tel. 86-27-8277-6666, We stayed in this hotel for three nights on the Third leg of a 12 day tour of China with Sinorama. This hotel is located opposite the Yangtze River, there is a nice promenade and gardens to walk along. there are plenty of small shops and restaurants in the area (pack a cork screw if you like wine) We had a twin bedded room with a city view, which was clean and comfortable (a bit small and basic basic but adequate) the shower is located over the bath, I would have preferred a separate shower. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice, if your on a group tour it gets very busy so be prepared to wait. In the restaurant there was always one member of staff who spoke good English. We ate dinner a couple of times but it was hit and miss depending on the chef, one evening it was absolutely delicious, next evening the wrong food arrived then it arrived not as described. English is not widely spoken anywhere in China and you may find it difficult to communicate If you have any specific food requirements, (vegetarian/gluten fee/pescatarian ) get yourself a translator app on your phone, I used Google Translate set to Chinese Traditional (not Mandarin), make sure you do this before you go as Google is banned in China, use Bing if you need to use the internet. Wifi is free at this hotel.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenZhao, 客户关系经理 at Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear guest, thank you for choosing to stay at the Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Hotel in Wuhan. Thank you very much for your comments, your comments will make us do better, we will pay more attention to the needs of the guests, so that guests stay more comfortable. Sincerely look forward to your visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018

Impressive looking hotel with spacious and comfortable rooms overlooking the river and park which was an absolute delight to walk along, particularly at night, but I feel it stops there. The staff did their job, but that was all. From check-in, it just didn't have that extra warmth that made you feel like you were a valued guest. We were only there one night and they had a large tourist group from America, but service was extremely ordinary. Trying to have dinner at the restaurant was a nightmare. The tourist group took over most of the restaurant and they had a buffet set up which we could partake, but at this stage there wasn't much left so we sat down to order. Understandably (as we blended in with the tourist group) no-one came to give us a menu so I went to get one from the bar and was pointed to what appeared to be the only menu in the whole restaurant, being used at another table, so I waited. Then the waiter at this table took the menu to another table and then another. We decided that room service would be quicker. After ordering by phone the first item on the menu - an avocado and salmon entrée we were told that they don't do that. I was a little confused, so the lady offered to come to our room and when she saw the picture smiled and confirmed that they could make after all. However the rest of the meal came completely wrong and in the wrong quantities. The waiter was lovely and apologised and returned a short time later with one of the meals, instead of the 2 we had asked for. At this stage it was getting quite late, but finally the meal came and it was very tasty. I hate being negative, but believe that it is details like this that make or break hotels. Also, the bathroom was large and well appointed but the towels were extremely thin and made you feel like you were staying at a 2 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jannnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenZhao, 客户关系经理 at Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2018

Dear guest, thank you for choosing to stay at the Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Hotel in Wuhan. Thank you for your valuable advice, we will pay more attention to the needs of the guests, so that guests stay more comfortable. We are looking forward to your visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2018 via mobile

Horrible!! Horrible! Horrible!! The attitude alone from the staff about my complaint regarding the 32 degree temperature... Was beyond rediculous and rude. Basically.... Live with it was the answer. And this in a suite on the business level floor. Clearly my future business with them... Not valuable. Have had better service at a two star hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Tatiana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmenZhao, 客户关系经理 at Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Dear guest, thank you for choosing to stay at the Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Hotel in Wuhan. Thank you for your valuable advice, we will pay more attention to the needs of the guests, so that guests stay more comfortable.Look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews