We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very special”
Review of Pan Pacific Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Ranked #7 of 1,434 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So very special”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel will make you feel as though you have stepped back to a simpler time and place. We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights in April 2012. Our room which was on the third floor overlooked the beautiful centre court ponds. The bathroom was roomy and bed very comfortable. The options for breakfast were extensive and well prepared. The staff were friendly and did their very best to ensure we were comfortable.

Hotel guests have access to the beuatiful Panmen gardens which includes may bridges, canals, a pagoda, an old bell that makes a sound beautiful sound and of course lovely greenery and many trees and shrubs. Do take the time to wander through if you stay.

We didn't have time to use the pools, but they looked great.

This is truly a gem in Suzhou.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_traveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Canadian_traveller78,

Thank you very much for the high compliment to our hotel and we are happy to know you had spent some nice time here with us. Spring is great season to visit us since there are so many flowers and greenery in hotel garden and Panmen garden. We do hope you can come back here again next time and can stay longer to enjoy other hotel facilities like our indoor and outdoor swimming pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    422
    94
    24
    3
See reviews for
113
139
36
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was amazed at this hotel. Great room although bed was a little hard but normal for Chinese standards. Beautiful shower with sunlight (when sun is shining). The food was good. Especially liked buffet when the guest chefs were in from Thailand. Service was excellent. Bar service was excellent and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drtpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Drtpaper,
Thank you very much for the nice compliment. We wish you can visit our hotel in spring and summer season as well, so that you can enjoy best scenary in our garden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon in your next trip, business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed two nights using their family package with free extra bed. The room was very small, but of good quality. We got an upgrade to a higher floor (3) and had a nice view over the Pan Men Garden. You get free entrance to this garden when staying in this hotel which is a sight in itself. Breakfast was good and staff tried tomdo their best with English. Despite the relatively central location in Suzhou, you still have to taxis because Suzhou is a rather big city. Sometimes it is not easy to find a taxi.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed in this huge hotel for a week in mid March 2012. This hotel is located beside a beautiful Suzhou park called Panmen Garden. There is a pagoda, canals run along the park as well as typical Suzhou bridges across the canals. My room was facing the Panmen garden, hence I could enjoy a scenic view from my room.

The hotel has a few wings, so huge till you could easily get lost as if you are trapped in a maze and trying to find the way out. The room and bathroom are spacious. Service is good and staffs are friendly. The unique architecture of the hotel, with Chinese traditional architecture elements is truly one of its kind in Suzhou.

Location... not so convenient. Nothing much to see around the hotel. No shopping malls at all within walking distance from hotel.

It has two swimming pools, with one outdoor and one indoor with warm pool water. Food in the hotel is not bad.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Wong75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Mike_Wong75,
Thank you for your review and the nice compliment about our hotel's architecture.We hope you have enjoyed staying within a truely Suzhou style garden and the historic surroundings that can be traced back 2000 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The main point of this hotel is its style, traditional chinese "forbidden city" look with outside garden and fish ponds. It is quite big in size, rooms are spacious, clean and with all necessary ammenities, the cuisine served is very proper to western standard with several different restaurants. All staffs speak a decent english. Therefore the price is not cheap by chinese standards, but it is no surprise. A pleasant hotel all together.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris_Hongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Paris_Hongkong,
Thank you for your review and we are delighted to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.
We wish to welcome you back should you visit Suzhou another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The front entrance of the hotel is breathtaking. It's like entering an emperor's palace which I eventually found out that Pan Pac Suzhou was indeed the former residence of an emperor. So, what's good enough for an emperor is definitely good enough for me.

Hotel staff isn't exactly the friendliest but not at all bad either. Just that one would expect more from a Pan Pac chain. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable but other than that nothing spectacular.

The hotel is located beside the historic Panmen garden and this is definitely a place you shouldn't miss since all hotel guests can enter the garden for free. I usually take a stroll in Panmen after breakfast and it's a very comforting walk. A very serene and beautiful garden that you don't mind spending time there for a while.

All in all, a beautiful hotel and in a fairly good location but nothing much around the hotel that is within walking distance. Rooms are clean and comfortable as one would expect from a hotel of such stature

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idleworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Idleworm,

Thank you very much for the detailed review. We are very happy to know you are one of loyal guests of Pan Pacific chain and had enjoyed your stay with us. This Pan Pacific hotel is quite unique because of its architecture and landscape. As you said, like a Palace of Emperor. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuxi, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is a lovely hotel on the edge of Suzhou city centre. We booked a couple of nights wanting a bit of luxury in the middle of winter and that is exactly what we got. Our room was a really good size with a balcony. In the bathroom there was a separate bath and shower. Outside, the hotel has attractive gardens with free entrance to the beautiful Panmen garden next door. We managed to get a good deal on the room rate, but my only word of warning would be the hotel restaurant and bar prices are on the high side, although pretty much what you would expect in a luxury hotel. They also add a 15% service charge to all their advertised prices. There are plenty of cheaper eating options nearby if this is an issue. We found the staff to be especially helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurbeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Laurbeetle,
Thank you for your review and we are delighted to know you are satisfied with our team members' service and had a nice stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
2.5 km away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#10 of 1,434 in Suzhou
376 reviews
5.2 km away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,434 in Suzhou
692 reviews
5.6 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#3 of 1,434 in Suzhou
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
7.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#4 of 1,434 in Suzhou
896 reviews
3.5 km away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,434 in Suzhou
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Suzhou

Property: Pan Pacific Suzhou
Address: No. 259 Xinshi Road, Gusu District, Suzhou 215007, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#7 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#8 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#12 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper your senses at Pan Pacific Suzhou, a private paradise in the heart of a city steeped in Chinese artistry, culture and tradition.Indulge in the culture of this quaint charming city at a sanctuary that fuses the artistry of local architecture with contemporary luxury. Pan Pacific Suzhou offers modern-day conveniences, outstanding service and state-of-the-art amenities. Let us inspire your imagination and heighten your senses with a stay at our 5 star hotel.Flanked by a magnificent backdrop of traditional gardens, our luxury hotel is just a one-hour drive from Shanghai, close to Lake Taihu and Hanshan temple. Spend time exploring Suzhou, savour gourmet meals, tempt your senses at our spa, or experience enchantment in our silk boutique. Discover your own private paradise at the Pan Pacific Suzhou hotel, where tranquility reigns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pan Pacific Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Suzhou Hotel Suzhou
Sheraton Suzhou Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing