We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A site in and of Itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pan Pacific Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Ranked #6 of 1,418 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A site in and of Itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We arrived late at night and my wife's words were something like this: "Is that the site..oh it's a hotel...oh it's our hotel." We were met and checked in to the Pacific CLub and they never missed a beat the whole weekend. Everyone had a smile and their face and were etremely helpful whether recommending a site, booking a massage, or personally walking us from one restaurant (that had closed a bit early) to their other restaurant to ensure we were seated and taken care of. Room was comfortable and well apointed. Definitely take advantage of Pan Men next door.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdD99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear EdD99_12,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know you and family like the surrounding of our hotel and enjoyed your stay here. We warmly welcome you to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    414
    91
    23
    3
See reviews for
109
133
33
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times since 2007 - three or four times in its former incarnation as the Sheraton and now twice as the Pan Pacific. I still think it's a good, 4-star hotel, and worth considering as a base for exploring the older sections of Suzhou. Having Pan Men next door (free access for guests) is a huge bonus too. However I think that if this hotel wants to compete with the newer kids on Suzhou's block (e.g. Intercontinental, Kempinski, Shangri-La) it needs to raise its game.

Usually I stay in a standard (deluxe) room, and many of these have balconies and wonderful views over Pan Men. This time, though, I was in the club wing. The room was much larger, and very comfortable, but the view was poor. There was also a real lack of natural light. Another thing that bothered me was the poor drainage in the bath, shower and sink.

I really liked the evening 'cocktail hour' at the Pacific Club (6-9pm), and the selection of drinks was good (champagne, red/white wine, spirits, beer). The service was very good too, even though there was only one (very over-worked) member of staff. The hors d'oeuvres, though, were a disappointment - not a great selection and quite bland tasting. In fact I think F&B at this hotel has gone seriously downhill over the years. Breakfast at the Garden Brasserie was also very average (the potatoes weren't cooked properly and my danish was a little stale).

I used the swimming pool twice and both times found wet towels and slippers strewn around the changing room. Another black mark.

All of this is a real shame, as I love this hotel and have spent many enjoyable holidays there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear jamesc23,

Thank you very much for your review and the feedback from a loyal return guest like you is very precious to us. The management already take note of the areas you mentioned and address to the team for action. We sincerely invite you to come back in near future and hope you can see positive changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I had the privilege to stay at the Pan Pacific while traveling for work. It is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in, and I have stay in many over the years. The price of the hotel was about $150 U.S. dollars per night. For that amount, you got a suite, with a marble bathroom, wonderful bedroom and separate office/den. The restaurants were very good (even the Italian one) and the staff very helpful. One I wanted to mail postcards home, all I had to do was ask at the desk and give them some money and they took care of it. Also, there are some lovely gardens right behind the hotel which you can visit. The admission fee is only about $4.00. There is a temple that was built in 1000 A.D. still on the grounds. I wish we had been able to stay at the Pan Pacific for more than one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunamoth2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Lunamoth2001,

Thank you very much for the review. For sure one night is a bit too short to experience the beauty of surroundings and make fully use of the hotel facilities, we are happy you had a good time, and wish to see you back very soon and stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed for a full week at the Pan Pacific Suzhou in March 2012 and enjoyed every minute. There are two different sections of the hotel and I was lodged in the section that was geared more toward Western guests. From what I could tell, the staff members in this section were more experienced with the English language, which made things easier. (I'm working on my Chinese, but it will take a few more decades, I think!) In this section there is an Italian restaurant that serves a nice variety of food. Of course, we could also walk over to the other section of the hotel to take advantage of the large Asian buffet. There is also a very pleasant lounge across from the Italian restaurant that serves complimentary finger food and wine in the evenings. It was a very relaxing place to sit and read or chat.

The room was perfect, functional and elegant. The work desk is large and the chair is comfortable. Others have mentioned the beautiful showers with stonework and natural light channeled in from the roof. I was pleased to find that the bed was not hard. I like soft support and this was just right.

I spoiled myself with one spa treatment, a short reflexology foot massage, on my last day. I should have tried more. It was easy to walk in and schedule, and they seemed to have plenty availability.

Finally, the staff members are absolutely wonderful. They are very attentive and personable.

I will definitely stay here again, and I will try other Pan Pacific properties when I get the chance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brg1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear brg1060,

Thank you very much for your review and we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay so much. For us, "felt like home" is always the highest compliment from guests. We wish to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel will make you feel as though you have stepped back to a simpler time and place. We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights in April 2012. Our room which was on the third floor overlooked the beautiful centre court ponds. The bathroom was roomy and bed very comfortable. The options for breakfast were extensive and well prepared. The staff were friendly and did their very best to ensure we were comfortable.

Hotel guests have access to the beuatiful Panmen gardens which includes may bridges, canals, a pagoda, an old bell that makes a sound beautiful sound and of course lovely greenery and many trees and shrubs. Do take the time to wander through if you stay.

We didn't have time to use the pools, but they looked great.

This is truly a gem in Suzhou.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_traveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Canadian_traveller78,

Thank you very much for the high compliment to our hotel and we are happy to know you had spent some nice time here with us. Spring is great season to visit us since there are so many flowers and greenery in hotel garden and Panmen garden. We do hope you can come back here again next time and can stay longer to enjoy other hotel facilities like our indoor and outdoor swimming pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was amazed at this hotel. Great room although bed was a little hard but normal for Chinese standards. Beautiful shower with sunlight (when sun is shining). The food was good. Especially liked buffet when the guest chefs were in from Thailand. Service was excellent. Bar service was excellent and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drtpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Drtpaper,
Thank you very much for the nice compliment. We wish you can visit our hotel in spring and summer season as well, so that you can enjoy best scenary in our garden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon in your next trip, business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed two nights using their family package with free extra bed. The room was very small, but of good quality. We got an upgrade to a higher floor (3) and had a nice view over the Pan Men Garden. You get free entrance to this garden when staying in this hotel which is a sight in itself. Breakfast was good and staff tried tomdo their best with English. Despite the relatively central location in Suzhou, you still have to taxis because Suzhou is a rather big city. Sometimes it is not easy to find a taxi.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
2.5 km away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#8 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
5.2 km away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
5.6 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#5 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
7.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#3 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
3.5 km away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Suzhou

Property: Pan Pacific Suzhou
Address: No. 259 Xinshi Road, Gusu District, Suzhou 215007, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#8 Business Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper your senses at Pan Pacific Suzhou, a private paradise in the heart of a city steeped in Chinese artistry, culture and tradition.Indulge in the culture of this quaint charming city at a sanctuary that fuses the artistry of local architecture with contemporary luxury. Pan Pacific Suzhou offers modern-day conveniences, outstanding service and state-of-the-art amenities. Let us inspire your imagination and heighten your senses with a stay at our 5 star hotel.Flanked by a magnificent backdrop of traditional gardens, our luxury hotel is just a one-hour drive from Shanghai, close to Lake Taihu and Hanshan temple. Spend time exploring Suzhou, savour gourmet meals, tempt your senses at our spa, or experience enchantment in our silk boutique. Discover your own private paradise at the Pan Pacific Suzhou hotel, where tranquility reigns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Suzhou Hotel Suzhou
Sheraton Suzhou Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing