We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“COMFORTABLE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aster Hotel
Ranked #37 of 1,405 Hotels in Suzhou
Kumamoto Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
390 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“COMFORTABLE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

This hotel is clean and comfortable . I like it. breakfast was Viking style. I enjoyed various foods. you'll be full up.
but the location is not so good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnatul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    88
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
9
27
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

It's a good modern hotel, with a nice revolving restaurant at the top (29th floor) . We had two rooms, junior suite, well furnished and very comfortable, with a nice and modern bathroom. Swimming pool was nice. Breakfast was great, with an extremely good buffet. We had dinner at the revolving restaurant and buffer was very rich (probably one of the best we had during our trip to China). Hotel was just 10 min. by cab (less than 2 euro) from the center (a pedestrian area with shopping malls and many shops).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ugomilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

For anyone doing business in Suzhou the Astor would make a good choise. The hotel is well located and offers most of the facilities a business person would require. The only thing we found was that the staff are really slack, especially those in the restaurants. However, they serve a good breakfast but it is a pity that the bufet in the revolving restaurant closes so early (9pm).

The rooms are comfortable although the layout is somewhat suboptimal. The gym equipment is of a poor quality and so not much use.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterGrobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
395 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

We arrived at the hotel and immediately knew it was not our standard 3 star accomdation, but the price was right so who was to argue. It is quite new so it is in good condition and very clean. The service was more than we needed. Shortly after we got settled in our room a staff member arrived with a pot of tea, and about an hour later there was another knock at the door, the person inquired to make sure everything was alright and asked if there was anything we needed.
The washroom had none of the odor mentioned in other reviews and infact very clean. A big plus was the hot water which was very hot and lots of it.
The staff was very attentive more often than not there was a person on the ground floor pressing the elevator up button as we approached. Each staff member was polite. The front end staff spoke very good English to the degree that they possessed the subilties required to understand humour.
Both my wife and I thought the breakfast was outstanding. I did not like breakfast at most hotels in China. For the most part breakfast consisted of cold Chinese food and was not very appetizing. At the Astor both Chinese and western food was served. The biggest plus was the Chinese food was warm and quite eatable.
The windows were very dirty. When we were there the pollution was quite bad and it seemed to glue to the windows. They could use a cleaning. The other service that could use some upgrading is the internet connections at the business centre. We choose not to carry a computer with us so we rely on internet cafes or computers at hotels. At the Astor they charge for the use of the computers at buisness centre. We waited 1/2 hr for google to load so we could access gmail, then waited longer to send the email that never did send. We did not pay the attendent.
These two things are minor and I would still recommend staying here unless these are are high on your list of requirements.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

Hotel was nice, staff friendly and most spoke english. My room was quiet and the breakfast(free) was nice. They had a small gym. Hotel and rooms were clean and internet worked well. Drawbacks, biggest was bathroom had a bad smell coming from it during my entire stay, other people had similar complaint. I keep the bathroom door closed. The hotel is not located close to anything within walking distance, so you had to take a cab everywhere. In my room I got no signal for my cell phone so had to mkae calls from the hallway.
While the hotel was nice for the above reasons I would not stay here again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

This hotel was picked on a scheduled Globus Tour of China. It was fine. We found it clean and the service was excellent. Breakfast buffet was good too. Rooms were clean.

  • Liked — size of rooms
  • Disliked — location...not alot going on around the hotel
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2007

I stayed here before the renovation and it was filthy.

However, now everything is new and I would definatly recommend this place. Although there still is some slight sewer smell in the bathroom although everything is new and very much 4-5 star appeal.
New bathroom with tub and glass shower and flat screen tv's.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Louisezgeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
0.2 km away
Scholars Hotel Suzhou Xuchengs
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel
2.9 km away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#7 of 1,405 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
New City Garden Hotel
New City Garden Hotel
#30 of 1,405 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.9 km away
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
#31 of 1,405 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
3.3 km away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aster Hotel

Property: Aster Hotel
Address: No.488 Sanxiang Road, Suzhou 215004, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
#34 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Aster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suzhou Aster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing