We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
44
44
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
44
8
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 100 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2016

I did quite enjoy my stay over there. The location is good and close to the old town (The new district is a little further). The rooms are ok designed and you sleep on some good bedding too. Food is not too bad either. I definitely recommend to check out the nearby restaurant for dinner - Its really good?

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015

This was a lovely heritage hotel on top of the signal hill, right next to the Guest House Museum. We were lucky to be upgraded to a villa with two floors and two bed rooms, two bathroom. The villa room was big and facilities was up to my requirement. This was not a luxury and fancy castle hotel, as the main castle that was occupied by the original German Governor was now turned into a museum, and the block that we were staying was the quarter for the servants of the castle in the colonial days. So please don't mix up by the name of the hotel and expect that you could stay inside the main castle (which now is a museum). Having said that, it was still a nice hotel and can give you the atmosphere and feeling of living in the German colonial days. We love this hotel.

The standard room that our other group mates stayed in was pretty standard and not big but still give you decent room decor, nice bed and clean bathroom.

Breakfast was basic.

Room Tip: take the villa room, as that was not too expensive from international standard.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HKA_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Castle for three nights. It is a great place inside the former German Governor's Mansion compound. Breakfast is simple but more than adequate. The Rathdkellar offers good Western food at very reasonable prices.

The staff has a great attitude although English level needs some work.

The Hotel is a little moldy, but otherwise a very unique place.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

I really enjoy you to read before booking here! We thought it would be fun and unique to stay in an old castle, so we tried. Very very disappointed! If you have high or average expectations, don't stay here!

We first arrived and was warmly greeted by the staff. We were out in a room in the first floor, right beside the main lobby. The window gave a great view of the parking lot. After noticing that the sheets and comforter was still wet, we requested a new room. The front desk tried very hard to accommodate us despite her limited English. We were given a second room in the basement. We were a little tired and just wanted a room.

We enjoyed a leisurely walk around the grounds and have a coffee at the outdoor cafe. The view was nice.

Our room was molded and had several places that looked like it simply had not been maintained since opening. There was mold growing around the bathtub and on the bathtub mat. There was also a huge hole in the wall covered up with decorative tape.

The morning buffet breakfast was less than desirable. The room is old and musty. The food was cold and rather limited if you prefer a western breakfast. The toast was rusted and the coffee tastes a day old.

THE WORST: we got bedbugs! I thought during the night there were Mosquitos. After returning home and visiting the doctor, confirmed bedbugs!

This hotel seems to be operating on a slim budget and overcharges for the quality. I would rather stay at a 2 star hotel. Lots a nice place to visit and take a stroll...maybe have dinner or lunch. Just beware staying here! It's very disappointing and disgusting!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Curtis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

The Castle Hotel is in a great location with beautiful views. However, the furnishings are worn, and the facilities are dated (e.g. no USB slot in the TV). The services are also lacklustre. We called for in-room dining, but they refused to give us the menu and said that the bulk of the options were unavailable. The beds are also as hard as carpeted floor. For the same price at another Chinese hotel, the services and facilities would be far, far superior.

Stayed: June 2015
2  Thank Benjamins_Franklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews