We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely-- Except for the Noisy Bedsheets” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huiquan Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huiquan Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,643 Hotels in Qingdao
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely-- Except for the Noisy Bedsheets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

We stayed at the Huiquan in late September. Loved the location right across from the beach-- but had to be extra careful crossing the busy road to access the beach. Too bad it wasn't bathing suit weather, nevertheless, strolling on the beach in the late afternoon was refreshing.

The hotel is managed well, and the staff are trained well. We especially noted that the staff spoke in quiet voices, as opposed to the annoying shouting that we've experienced at other hotels in China.

Our room faced a park in the back of the hotel. The night we stayed, there was an outdoor concert in the park, but it was over by 9 p.m., and things were quiet after that. Our room was clean and comfortable. All electric appliances were in working order. We had no problem with the internet connection either. We really liked that the linens, towels, and bathrobes were really white, and not grayish that's so common at other Chinese hotels. I keep wondering when the Chinese will learn to use some bleach in their laundry process.

Be aware of a few drawbacks of the rooms: First, the bedsheets are way too crisp, to the point of being annoyingly noisy and uncomfortable every time one moved or turned in bed. The hotel should definitely switch to sateen sheets. Second, the "wall" between the shower stall in the bathroom and room itself is an opaque glass. This design is really awful because of lack of privacy, especially when the bathroom light is on. Third, when using the wash basin, the water splashes everywhere, and this was with the water flow on low. This is because of the basin's design as well as the fact that the drain was clogged. We had to surround the basin with a couple of towels to soak up the water on the counter top.

I would recommend this hotel mainly for its great beachside location.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuripidesSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    135
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
5
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

For those of you looking for the ultimate in luxury, look elsewhere. For those of you wanting a great hotel at a very reasonable rate, in the best location in Qingdao... look no further than this hotel! Some of the older rooms are in need of renovation, but the seaview rooms on the front are excellent. Food in the revolving restuarant is a delicious mix of many cultures, so there should always be something even for the most discerning visitor, and that view makes every meal a real pleasurable experience.

I have found the staff to be very helpful without being intrusive. Almost all speak English, sometimes limited, but quickly find all the help you will need. Of course you may encounter slight problems, but no major dramas. I have lived in this hotel on business for many occassions, and extended periods, and find it both charming and modernly efficient.

Qingdao is full of every style of restaurant you could want, but for my taste there would be no need to eat out too often. In fact I'd choose to dine in the hotel not just for the convenience but the variety and quality. Want to impress a friend, family or business collegue? Dine in the sky in the evening!

I am informed that the hotel will be demolished in 2010 to be completely rebuilt in the same location as a genuine 5 star-deluxe hotel, but I am sure the new prices will reflect the upgraded status. But in Qingdao you will not find better value with this view!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockJock52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

Like so many things in China, consistency is a problem. So those expecting an all round 5 star experience should move on to the Shangrila or the Crowne Plaza and pay accordingly. In some ways the Huiqan Dynasty is definitely worthy of 4-5 star status but in other ways it falls short. For example, Lobby and main floor are spotless, but rooms in the south tower have not been renovated since the addition of the tower in the early 90's. I had to swap rooms until I found one that had a door lock in proper order and a more functional bathroom. While clean, carpets and furniture were worn. Travelers should choose a room in the newly renovated North wing as these rooms are far nicer, which I was unfortunately unable to secure

Amenities of the hotel were also hit and miss. Pool and health club need renovation. The sushi restaurant and the Shandong restaurant were quite poor. But the rotating restaurant on the 25th floor offered great views and tasty buffet breakfasts and dinners. Everything was very fresh and well prepared. Even more of note is the Hong Kong restaurant. During my stay we ate dinner there most nights because it was simply offered the best Southern Chinese cuisine- certainly equal to the Shangrila. And it was far from expensive.

Despite these deficiencies I have to recommend the Huiqan Dynasty for it's level of service and location. Most staff could speak some English and were very helpful and considerate. The location of the hotel could not be better, since it is right on No. 1 bathing beach and conveniently placed between the old town of Qingdao and the new downtown. The scenic Badaguan area and the buildings of the old town are all in walking distance.

Reasonable rates, good service, great scenic location and one of the best restaurants in Qingdao would have me happily check into the Huiqan Dynasty once more.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foreigndevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2007

We arrived at the hotel, and although we were like first in line, it look like 20 minutes to check in. Reservations were written by hand. There were no computers.

We arrived at the rooms. Two tiny beds. My dad could barely fit in it alone. The TV was tiny and even had pornography on it. We booked an ocean-view room, but we had to stick our head out the balcony until we almost fall off in order to see the ocean. The disgusting bathroom was most disappointing. The toilet, sink, and shower were at least 10 years old. There was mold everywhere. Definitely never staying here again.

  • Liked — Nothing. Elevators, maybe?
  • Disliked — the fact that it's called a five-star hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank zhangpianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

The first thing I noticed walking into the lobby was a musty smell. I don't know if it was because the hotel is near the beach and the smell from outside comes into the lobby, but it was there for the entire five days I was there. The hotel is across the street from the beach. If you are a beach person, there is very easy access to Bathing Beach #1. Check-in was painless and quick. The room was okay for the price. The bed was as hard as a rock. If you like a firm mattress, you will be in heaven. The bed linens were always clean and white. Large floor to ceiling window with a view of part of the beach. The air conditioning worked, but took quite a while to cool off the room. The high setting did not seem to be much different from the low setting. The television had problems with color settings and also the remote control would frequently stop working. Sometimes the picture would just turn to snow and I would have to fiddle with the setting for a while to get the picture back. The typical English language channels were offered (CNN, HBO, etc.). There was no comfortable chair to relax in in this room. The room could use a nice soft chair or love seat which would have fit easily in the space. There was a small round table and two hard backed chairs to sit in at the table. There was a desk with free internet access. The bathroom was small, but adequate. The towels were always fluffy, clean and white. However, the shower had a great deal of rather disgusting visible mildew in the tile grout on the shower walls. The shower itself was powerful enough and had plenty of hot water. One day, housekeeping forgot to replenish the toilet paper. The restaurants were okay. Nothing exciting, but adequate, especially if you like seafood. If I go back to Qingdao, I will try the Crowne Plaza, instead.

  • Liked — Location very near the beach
  • Disliked — Mildew in the shower.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeijingBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
1.6 km away
Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel
Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel
#34 of 1,643 in Qingdao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.0 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#31 of 1,643 in Qingdao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
6.8 km away
Seaview Garden Hotel
Seaview Garden Hotel
#14 of 1,643 in Qingdao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Housing International Hotel
Housing International Hotel
#24 of 1,643 in Qingdao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
4.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
#17 of 1,643 in Qingdao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
11.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Qingdao
Hyatt Regency Qingdao
#7 of 1,643 in Qingdao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huiquan Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huiquan Dynasty Hotel

Property: Huiquan Dynasty Hotel
Address: No.9 Nanhai Road, Qingdao 266003, China
Region: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Qingdao
#23 Luxury Hotel in Qingdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Huiquan Dynasty Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Huiquan Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huiquan Dynasty Qingdao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing