We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
136
156
21
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
156
21
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are spaciousfree wifithe hotel staffenglishbusinesstaxicomfort
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 315 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Super. Had a family suite, excellent.
Clean and large. Breakfast excellent.
Ate a la carte one evening. Superb food.
Excellent staff. Looked after some cases while we went to Beijing for a couple of days.
Shaun the door man, was most helpful, with shopping etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Nanyuan multiple times while on business in Ningbo (with VIP status) and it seems to have declined from the premier 5 star hotel it once was. The lobby is still grand and there are no major cleanliness issues but it is the service that has declined. With the opening of Western brand hotel chains such as the Shangri-La and Westin in Ningbo, the Nanyuan has steadily become much less Westerner friendly and even less attractive to the Ningbo elite. The fleets of supercars that once filled the valet on a Friday night are no more; the English speaking staff have disappeared and the Western breakfast buffet options are almost all gone. Granted, it is still suitable for a business or leisure stay but there are now better options available.

Room Tip: The wing to the left on entry is much nicer
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed for business at the NanYuan hotel in Ningbo in May 2012 and again in August 2012. Since the last time i visited Ningbo in 2007 the hotel made some changes.
The restaurant looks different, and the food offer especially for breakfast is now more Chinese then western, but tastes great.
The rooms are nice, big enough and clean. The beds in the main building are nice and soft.
The service is good and staff are very friendly and helpful.
The only downside is that the formerly known Piano bar reduced in size, and does not attract any people. In May 2012 the bar (Vikings bar) was still open but hardly any visitors, in August the bar was closed for unknown reason.
For me the Nanyuan is still ok but maybe in future it's worth trying another hotel that maybe offers more entertainment at night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaap W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I am currently staying at the Nanyuan Hotel in Ningbo, which is my regular hotel on my travels to Ningbo. I travel very regularly, and have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world, but i must commend this hotel for many things.

Firstly, every staff member i have ever encountered in this hotel is pleasant, helpful, courteous and smiling. Everyone is always trying to go the extra mile for you. The nightly rate is extremely affordable. I think this is my best value for money hotel anywhere in the world. Five star service, basic but comfortable rooms, a Chinese character hotel which can give the western branded hotels in Ningbo a run for their money.

I recommend Nanyuan hotel in Ningbo highly and will continue using it as my base in Ningbo.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank SolskjaerZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in March 2012 on a business trip. The hotel is immaculate. Whist the staff do not speak great English, they are so keen to help that nothing is too much trouble

The Vikings bar on the 3rd floor is good for a beer and a game of pool

The huge restaurant on the ground floor for breakfast was very impressive.

Room Tip: Grand Building annexe
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews