We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“not up to 5 star standards” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
Ranked #14 of 746 Hotels in Ningbo
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
266 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“not up to 5 star standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

On paper, the Crowne Plaza Ningbo City Center looks like a prime 5 star hotel - a superb location across from a sprawling shopping mall and a vast array of shopping, dining, and entertainment nearby, an impressively lofty lobby, a good selection of restaurants and recreation options, and the promise of a Western brand name.

However, after checking in, you discover that your room is cramped, with an even smaller bathroom and a tiny work desk barely large enough for the average laptop computer. The poorly soundproofed windows means that the roar of outside traffic (even on the 18th floor) is present at all hours of the night. The swimming pool is under renovation and the fitness center features a creaky weight machine with plastic plugs and other debris raining down on you during use.

Good points: an excellent breakfast buffet and fine service in the restaurants and front desk.

Overall, the Crowne Plaza is a reasonable 4-star hotel, but the 5-star signs prominently displayed on the building and the lobby raise expectations that are generally not met. On the next trip to Ningbo, I would check out the Westin down the street before booking the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: book an even numbered room - the view won't be as nice but it is quieter as it doesn't face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwwyjjliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    158
    60
    11
    9
See reviews for
6
9
14
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
290 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stay here at my visits to Ningbo 3 or 4 times a year. The placement of this hotel is absolutely perfect smack center down town. Across from the Tianyi Square shopping malls and restaurant area and only minutes by feet from the river. From the impressive foyer you acces one of the two towers. The rooms are specious and the interior is good for business. Staying at the club rooms gives you acces to the club floor with breakfast and afternoon drinks. Do try the japanese restaurant - it is excellent. The indian chef at the cafe does a brilliant job as well - you will not starve. The negative sides are poor hotel management. The staff are polite but have low knowledge and no rights to think them selves. The polities regarding the club floor changes for every stay. The club floor is very seldom used you practically have the floor by your self - eat your breakfast downstairs. The gym is worn out, but the indoor pool is being restored as I write this. The verdict - stay here if your come to Ningbo.

Room Tip: Get one facing the square at a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,636 reviews
317 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 632 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I was wondering why this hotel was so lowly placed as some other crowne plazas in other countries are a delight to stay in, until I entered the room. First, the lobby - it looks ok by china standards, tacky, but somewhat grand. The check-in counter was manned by 2 well mannered guys and service was good. The south tower is apparently "new", and the north tower is apparently "newly renovated". They both have the same prices so i assume the standards are the same. I got a south tower room, expecting a "newly renovated" space, and considering the positive reviews that have been written. I couldn't be more shocked, or disappointed. The room looks 1995 with age old carpet, wallpaper, horrible dark wood. The tv is the old cathode ray tube from 20 years ago which I didn't even bother to turn up during my stay. Luckily there was a standing shower which I prefer, otherwise only 2 stars for this place. Breakfast is surprisingly better than in most 4 star hotels in terms of variety. Overall, this 4 star hotel has good front desk service, low price, but let down by the room

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

A great hotel, good rooms, excellent front desk staff and concierge, Halal food is prepared by a Pakistani chef in the restaurant. This hotel has an excellent location for shopping and food.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are higher up as the lower floors do tend to be a little noisy in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masood75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Last week was the third time I stayed in this hotel and my earlier impressions just got confirmed: it is an excellent choice in Ningbo.
It has great location (near TianYi Square, many stores, supermarkets), newly renovated rooms, great breakfast (really great!) and nice restaurants for lunch and dinner.
Value is very good, a night averaging US$ 110 on a superior room.
On the not-so-good side, despite great service, english is not widely spoken and you must pay MUCH care with concierge: the sent me to the bus station when I specifically asked directions to the TRAIN station !!!
Also, the fitness center need an uplift: the machines are past the time for a change.

All in all, it will be my choice next time I go to Ningbo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the South Tower, with view to the church and TianYi Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RafaelGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Very well located downtown Ningbo, this hotel is besides the Catholic Church downtown Ningbo and near a lot of restaurants and shopping places in that nice Chinese city.
The hotel has very nice rooms, the staff is all time cordial and ready to help, despite the English skills need to be improved.
Everytime I need assistance the front desk people was helpful and the request was promptly attended.
Breakfast was very good and the room very comfortable with king size bed, excellent bathroom and the desk table with all necessary stationarey and connection to broadbrand internet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat_Moreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Crown Plaza has a great location - walking distance to the shopping areas of TianYi and Changhuan Temple & its surrounds.
The room are the usual hotel room layout. The first room we were allocated was dusty (looks like it has not been occupied for awhile). The only trouble we had with room was that it was facing the main road and though we were on the 11th floor, we could hear the cars tooting (even at night), people shouting, motorcycle speeding and (this takes the cake) unloading of some metal pipes or poles at 6.31 am!! We called the guest service number and they sent up a young man who replied, "what can we do about it?" Thankfully, the reception offered us a room change in the morning, which we accepted. The room was smaller than the first one and I lost something in the move.
However there was no other form of apology from the hotel, not even a note.
The previous review mentioned that little English is spoken - & this is true. We aproached the conceirge for help to hire a car for sightseeing but they couldn't offer us anything - simply because they couldn't communicate with us. The staff overall seems callous and lackadaisical so we are glad we are not coming back.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms away from the main road and near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAngi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ningbo hotels
4.5 km away
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
#4 of 746 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
#2 of 746 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.4 km away
The Westin Ningbo
The Westin Ningbo
#10 of 746 in Ningbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo
1.2 km away
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
#1 of 746 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.6 km away
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
Sheraton Ningbo Hotel
#5 of 746 in Ningbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo

Property: Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
Address: No.129 Yaohang Street, Ningbo 315010, China (Formerly Mirage Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Zhejiang > Ningbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ningbo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ningbo
#15 Business Hotel in Ningbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated across from the Cathedral and Tian Yi Square, Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo is located in the city s financial, commercial, cultural and leisure center area, and just walking distance to City God s Temple, Tian Yi Pavilion, and Moon Lake. Being just 2 KM to the Railway Station, 20 KM to Ningbo Airport, and with its two levels of underground parking lot, the hotel can offer convenient transport for travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity.ca and Ctrip TA so you can book your Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo Hotel Ningbo
Crowne Plaza Ningbo
Ningbo Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing