We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, courteous service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo
Ranked #10 of 790 Hotels in Ningbo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed here for a couple of days on a business trip to Ningbo. My room was in the new wing. The room itself was a two-room suite with a spacious bathroom. The room was extremely clean and quite modern with a comfortable bed and an extensive pillow menu to ensure a good night's sleep. The internet was complimentary and worked well. The complimentary breakfast at the restaurant on the ground floor was good with a decent variety of of both Western and Chinese entrees. The onsite Bali-style spa is a great place for a relaxing massage. The on-site fitness room was very basic. But for the price paid, this was a great value.

What really impressed me was the extremely friendly, eager and ever smiling hotel staff. It is amazing how everyone of the hotel staff has a smile on their face as they attended to the hotel guests. Even the hostess at the breakfast lounge would walk back to the elevator with us and see us off with a smile. On my last day, when I was checking out and coming down the elevator with my luggage, there were couple of hotel staff trainees in the elevator with me, and they insisted on helping me with my luggage. Amazing service! I have never experienced anything like this in my travels in China.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VineetD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

The service in this hotel was really excellent. I travel alot outside my homebase of Beijing, and this is one of the best hotels in China I have come across. I had my usual problem with the bed being too hard, and they fixed it quickly and very well - with an excellent mattress topper. The bulter service 'rescued' me when I came back late and tired from a banquet where I didn't actually get to eat much due to toasting and having my photo taken (!) and revived me with two types of congee - for free! all this, AND you can open the windows! something which I miss in most hotels.
Next time I am down to Ningbo, I definitely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FYBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

the difference with the other hotels? this is really a Chinese style welcome and management; you feel you are in China, not in an international hotel. The rooms are nice, large, the breakfast is excellent; The butler service is impressive (I'm not used too). Price was also competitive compared to other hotels. I have to say also that Ningbo is a very nice city to visit, not far away from Shanghai.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vayton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnson l, EAM at Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2011

Thank your for choosing our hotel and encouraging us by giving us so highly-appraised comments on our effort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

What an outstanding experience. From the moment of checkin the service and attention was truly overwhelming. We could not have asked for more, including immaculate rooms, and even a little handwritten note from our housemaid welcoming us home and leaving extra supplies because she had noticed what we had used. Facilities are also outstanding. Friendly, accommodating, respectful, polite and outstanding willingness to be helpful.

Room Tip: The suites are outstanding value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Normally with hotels in china i find i am somewhat dissapointed and make conscessions for small failures in service. This hotel however...................... is wonderful. If youre in Ningbo for Business, the service here is exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wgeine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

originally booked Shangri La but changed to here after reading all the rave review.

Just checked in and understand why now - first 5 star that has butler service. The other hotels I stayed at that offers butler service starts over 1000 usd granted they provide more services than pouring tea, ironing your clothes (great for business traveler), taking order for your free night snack, etc. I asked for oil and bath salt and they were delivered promptly.

Overall, I'm very impressed with hotel, room and the friendliness of the staff and their smile. Going to enjoy my hot bath now. :)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DORAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

In my opinion the facilities are not as good as the Sheraton or Shangrila but the service is good. Check in was fantastic and great value hotel. 10 mins walk from centre of Ningbo.

Breakfast very average but the restaurant in the evening was good.

The big downside is no wifi in he bedrooms, only available in the lobby. Bad news for us IPad users.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuluNorthYorks_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ningbo hotels
4.7 km away
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
Sofitel Wanda Ningbo
#6 of 790 in Ningbo
617 reviews
1.7 km away
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
Ningbo Marriott Hotel
#1 of 790 in Ningbo
577 reviews
1.4 km away
Crowne Plaza City Center Ningbo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Westin Ningbo
The Westin Ningbo
#3 of 790 in Ningbo
303 reviews
0 km away
Novotel Ningbo East
Novotel Ningbo East
#11 of 790 in Ningbo
69 reviews
2.2 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
Shangri-La Hotel Ningbo
#2 of 790 in Ningbo
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo

Address: No.230 Liuting Street, Ningbo 315010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Zhejiang > Ningbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ningbo
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ningbo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ningbo
Price Range: $99 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Ningbo Hotel Ningbo
Howard Johnson Ningbo
Ningbo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing