We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Cali”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stein Colonial
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Cali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Hotel Stein is a great place to stay in Cali. Upon your arrival you will be immediately surprised by the beautiful Colonial/historic look of the hotel.

The level of customer service you get at the hotel is great! and this is, probably, the best feature of the hotel. The owner is always available to answer your questions, address any concerns, offer suggestions or just to chat about anything. He speaks English and Spanish. The staff is very helpful and there is a security guard at the door day and night.

Breakfast is good with a variety of fresh fruit, eggs, breads and cheeses. There are good restaurants in the vicinity and a shopping mall with a big food court at a walking distance. Also, there is always delivery available.

The hotel grounds are small but there is an outdoor pool and some common areas with nice gardens and a small playground for children.

The hotel location is fantastic! Great neighborhood and close to major attractions.

Transportation is always available and easy to get.

The rooms are big and comfortable. Bathrooms have showers (I don’t know if tubs are available in some rooms).

Staying at the Stein was a great experience. I highly recommend it if you want to forget about the traditional “hotel” feeling and enjoy a home away from home place with lots to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the property are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2016

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful property. The grounds are lush, the pool is very nice, the rooms are very comfortable, and the staff is friendly and very accommodating. It is also a very safe property with security 24/7. The rates include a free breakfast that is very good. They also serve lunch and dinner, and the food is wonderful, home cooked, and they will try to meet any request you have. We truly felt at home with the wonderful owners and their staff. We really enjoyed the beautiful and comfortable veranda, enjoying the evening breeze and making new friends. This was one of the best overall experiences I have had at a hotel.

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SMODAKMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

Extremely friendly owner and staff welcome guests to this oasis in the downtown of Cali. The grounds are lush with beautiful terraces filled with flowers. Each room is different, filled with character. Some have A/C and others just have a fan. I recommend an AC since the hotel is downtown and traffic can be loud. Cute pool to get wet in and lovely exercise area overlooking the gardens. Delightful stay.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

This is a gorgeous 19th century home that has been a hotel for almost 60 years. Its old-time luxury--wood floors, oil paintings and a sprawling interior--are unmatched in Cali and perhaps South America, especially at this price. We got a suite which was reasonably priced and very spacious. We did have some issues with a noisy air conditioner (never fixed in three days) and the hot water (basically there was none, but it was sort of warm).

Beyond that, the owner is very sociable and the staff is extremely helpful. The grounds are nice. The gym is not much of a gym. The pool is OK-sized and deep, a rarity in Colombia for some reason. The place is secluded but central, very easy to find for a taxi and well-known around town. The breakfast is also excellent, with options all week and a respectable buffet on Sunday.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

I have to agree with the reviews. The owner is there everyday greeting and talking to everyone. The people seem to enjoy working at the Stein Colonial. My wife is Colombian and she says the owner has no accent.
They welcomed our dog and there are ample outside areas for her to do her business. This will be our first choice when we go to Cali.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank EDWARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel in the centre of Cali. Old-stylish, non-standard hotel with good staff, chambers and wifi. Those seeking standard hotels where everything is always the same should stay away. Close to the path leading to the tres croces and on walking distance from the main centre.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank Aad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We were visiting Cali, Columbia to support our son in the World Youth Championships which was held at the Pascual Guerrero Olympic Stadium. This was one of best stays at a hotel that we've experienced! It is a beautifully decorated colonial style hotel with amazing gardens and plants throughout the entire place. The grounds are well maintained and very clean! The owner/manager along with his staff was extremely nice, courteous and helpful. The breakfast food was fresh and very delicious every morning. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that plans to travel abroad to Cali, Columbia

Room Tip: The hotel is gated with 24 hour security. We felt very safe at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Carbin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cali hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
0.8 km away
Hampton by Hilton Cali, Colombia
0.3 km away
Hotel El Penon
Hotel El Penon
#14 of 92 in Cali
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Torre De Cali Hotel
Torre De Cali Hotel
#29 of 92 in Cali
194 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Four Points By Sheraton Cali
12.2 km away
Hotel Faroles
Hotel Faroles
#10 of 92 in Cali
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stein Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stein Colonial

Address: Av 4N No 3-33, Cali, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cali
#5 Family Hotel in Cali
Price Range: $50 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stein Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stein Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Cali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing