We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
70
25
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
25
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownervariety of fresh fruitsitting roomoutdoor poolquiet neighborhooda great place to stayenriquefriepopayan
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 104 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2016

Hotel Stein is a great place to stay in Cali. Upon your arrival you will be immediately surprised by the beautiful Colonial/historic look of the hotel.

The level of customer service you get at the hotel is great! and this is, probably, the best feature of the hotel. The owner is always available to answer your questions, address any concerns, offer suggestions or just to chat about anything. He speaks English and Spanish. The staff is very helpful and there is a security guard at the door day and night.

Breakfast is good with a variety of fresh fruit, eggs, breads and cheeses. There are good restaurants in the vicinity and a shopping mall with a big food court at a walking distance. Also, there is always delivery available.

The hotel grounds are small but there is an outdoor pool and some common areas with nice gardens and a small playground for children.

The hotel location is fantastic! Great neighborhood and close to major attractions.

Transportation is always available and easy to get.

The rooms are big and comfortable. Bathrooms have showers (I don’t know if tubs are available in some rooms).

Staying at the Stein was a great experience. I highly recommend it if you want to forget about the traditional “hotel” feeling and enjoy a home away from home place with lots to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the property are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful property. The grounds are lush, the pool is very nice, the rooms are very comfortable, and the staff is friendly and very accommodating. It is also a very safe property with security 24/7. The rates include a free breakfast that is very good. They also serve lunch and dinner, and the food is wonderful, home cooked, and they will try to meet any request you have. We truly felt at home with the wonderful owners and their staff. We really enjoyed the beautiful and comfortable veranda, enjoying the evening breeze and making new friends. This was one of the best overall experiences I have had at a hotel.

Room Tip: No elevator
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SMODAKMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2016 via mobile

Extremely friendly owner and staff welcome guests to this oasis in the downtown of Cali. The grounds are lush with beautiful terraces filled with flowers. Each room is different, filled with character. Some have A/C and others just have a fan. I recommend an AC since the hotel is downtown and traffic can be loud. Cute pool to get wet in and lovely exercise area overlooking the gardens. Delightful stay.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2016

This is a gorgeous 19th century home that has been a hotel for almost 60 years. Its old-time luxury--wood floors, oil paintings and a sprawling interior--are unmatched in Cali and perhaps South America, especially at this price. We got a suite which was reasonably priced and very spacious. We did have some issues with a noisy air conditioner (never fixed in three days) and the hot water (basically there was none, but it was sort of warm).

Beyond that, the owner is very sociable and the staff is extremely helpful. The grounds are nice. The gym is not much of a gym. The pool is OK-sized and deep, a rarity in Colombia for some reason. The place is secluded but central, very easy to find for a taxi and well-known around town. The breakfast is also excellent, with options all week and a respectable buffet on Sunday.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

I have to agree with the reviews. The owner is there everyday greeting and talking to everyone. The people seem to enjoy working at the Stein Colonial. My wife is Colombian and she says the owner has no accent.
They welcomed our dog and there are ample outside areas for her to do her business. This will be our first choice when we go to Cali.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank EDWARD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews