We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
265
79
22
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
79
22
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 379 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2016

I'm a solo female traveler that over-researches all of her trips, so I usually have a pretty good idea of what to expect when I arrive at a hotel. After reading review after review about Karmairi... I have to say none of them do it justice and mine won't either. My advice is to just go and soak in the tranquil vibe, and if you have a significant other.... bring them. This place is 'muy romantico'.

-Peaceful atmosphere - free of children and the party crowd.

-Food is outstanding. I do not say this lightly. Best food I had in Colombia even after visiting top restaurants like Tabula and Mini-mal in Bogota.

-Service was excellent. This is no small feat when your guest (me) is ignorant and can't speak more than a few phrases of Spanish. Arturo, the general manager, even gave me his cell number as I ventured into town in case I needed something.

-Rooms and grounds were beautiful and clean.

-Strong wifi for Colombia. Stops once you are beyond the pool.

-The bar serves up a killer mojito. The other reviewers on TripAdvisor weren't exaggerating.

-Incredible value, even the spa services. (probably thanks to the US Dollar/Colombian peso exchange rate)

-If you are a solo traveler, keep in mind you will see lots of public displays of affection from other guests here on a romantic holiday. So if you are fresh off a break-up (not talking about myself here) then maybe avoid and save this place for later.

Tips for a great stay:

-Warning about Colombia in general: people are sloooowww to respond to email. I suggest calling instead of email or just have more patience.

-Bring bug repellent. The mosquitoes aren't terrible, but they are out at all hours.

-Don't expect crystal clear water like you imagine the Caribbean to be. Instead make a sand castle, listen to the waves and watch the wind surfers.

I should also note that I was unexpectedly upgraded to the Suite Deluxe my last night there. I was supposed to be in a junior suite. Not sure why this happened, and I'm not going to question it because the Deluxe was AMAZING!!!!!!!! If you are celebrating something special then make sure you get some time in this room.

Karmairi was simply lovely. I would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mariam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmairi, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2016

Hello,

We are glad you had an extremely great time at our hotel and you enjoyed every service and second in Karmairi Hotel Spa.

For the hotel is very important to know everything and improve our service and areas if is necessary.

Thank you for the recommendations, our manager will try to fix anything it need to be improve in order to have a better service.

have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2016

Spent the day here on a day pass through a Cartagena booking website. The restaurant had very good, fresh seafood. All of the staff were very polite and attentive even though we were only there for the day. The property is set up very nicely and allowed for such a peaceful, relaxing day. I could definitely see myself spending a few days here!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gianni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmairi, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for spending the day with us and we hope you can stay a few days and enjoy the beauty of Karmairi Hotel Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2016

Junior suite. West-facing (i.e. sunset views). Overlooking pool and beach. Massive, comfortable, California King bed. Bathroom/shower with a BREEZE from outside :). Although perfect, the room did NOT matter! Outdoor, poolside, was impeccable; clean, upkept, right music for right place at right time! Nothing over-the-top. Nothing overlooked! Would go back in a heartbeat. Staff was warm and inviting AND never overbearing. Like the title says, JUST RIGHT!

Room Tip: Get one of the ones with a private balcony overlooking the beach!
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmairi, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Hello,

thank you for your review. We are happy you had a great time and enjoyed our service and hotel.

We hope you can come back again and relax every time you come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2016

Stayed here for 5 nights in February for a few relaxing pool/beach days after a bustling week in the old walled city. The hotel is lovely, with a great pool area, nice decor, friendly service and a good restaurant. The downside is that it's on it's own on a big stretch of beach, and unfortunately the beach is very poor. Windswept, dirty grey sand strewn with litter. Not what you would imagine a Caribbean beach to be. Having said that, i'd heard reviews that this beach, Manzanillo, is teh best in Cartagena, so perhaps Cartagena is just not teh place to come for a beach holiday.
Thankfully as mentioned the pool area is lovely, though can git a little crowded, though this appeared to be mainly due to a few folk (I will let you guess their nationality, but lets just say they lived up to the sterotype) feeling they could have two beds each so that they had one in sun and one in shade, or people putting towels down after breakfast to keep a bed when they came back from town in teh afternoon. If like me you have no problem throwing off their towels then not and issue. There was also always plenty of beds down on the beach area, though this area nowhere near as nice as the pool.
We had room 301, which is the very largest room at the top, with a huge balcony and definitely worth paying the extra for. It is literally bigger than our London flat. It appeared to be only on of three rooms with balconys facing the sea, and is multiple times the size of the others. Also had his and her shower, sink and toiltes! Two indoor seating areas, dressing area, minibar, desk area, falt screen TV and aircon.
Breakfast can be had on teh balcon for Cop10k (~£2k) and lunch/dinner for no extra cost. I assume this only applies to room 301 as it seemed the only one with a big enough balcony.

We used the spa a few times for massages. Very cheap by UK standards, and relaxing though more of a gentle rub down than a proper muscle working.

Small bar by the pool is nice, and the service is great especially if you tip a little when you pay your bar bill at teh end of teh day. Beers only about £1.50. Cocktails were strong!

Restaurant is good, and has a large menu. The menu is in Spanish, and if you ask for an English one, you get a much small translation on a couple of printed pages of paper, so if you can have a go at transalting the spanish (or just donwload google translate app to your phone) then you will have a far bigger choice. There is a reasonable size wine list, failry cheap, though no wines of note on there.

If you want to go into Cartagena they have three free shuttle bvuses a day back and forth, and it's only 20mins or so. Last one back is too early at 9:30pm but a taxi is only about £3.

Definitley a great place to stay if you just want a few relaxing days reading your book and topping up your tan by the pool, sipping cocktails. Not ideal if you're expecting a fluffy white sandy Caribbean beach.

There is some major building work going on behind the hotel where another hotel is being built, but from the pool, or room 301 on teh front you couldn;t hear or see any of this. Can't speak for rooms at the rear.

Pros:
Lovely decor
Room 301 is enormous and very nice
Pool area very nice
Service good
Restaurant food very good and decent value
Free shuttle too/from Cartagena

Cons:
Remote (in terms of walking though only 20mins taxi to old town)
Beach is windy and dirty.

Room Tip: 301 is the largest suite and it is huge. The sea/pool facing balcony alone is probably as big as some other rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rev777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmairi, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for your review. We will check all your opinions and we will improve our service. Altough we do have more rooms with the beach view and also we charge breakfaste service to all rooms not only the suite.

About the beach that is windy is because of the season, unfortunatelly there is not anything we can do against the weather.

We hope you can come back soon and enjoy our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2016

Seafood is very good here, with a reasonable selection of typical dishes, excellent cocktails, and friendly service. The landscape despite of being an small facility is very pleasant and invite to relax. It is private with good view of the sea. The beach varies depending of the time of the year sometimes is ok and during windy periods is rough. The SPA is rustic but enjoyable. Often invite friend to lunch on Sundays

Room Tip: We do not stay at the hotel as we have our vacation home nearby
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank olgamarpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karmairi, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Karmairi Hotel Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for coming again to Karmairi. We hope you can stay with us soon and enjoy another of our great services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews