We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel in Cartagena”
Review of Hotel Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Caribe
Ranked #36 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Nice historical hotel, with renovated rooms.
Maybe not a 5-star category, but attractive and comfortable.
The pool area and the lush gardens are beautiful, with some amazing wild animals.
The restaurant and bar are also renovated and modern and offer excellent buffet.
Pity the ugly room buildings that are neither old, nor modern.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank BernatDesclot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

Our stay at the Hotel Caribe was an overall great experience! The location was great, the food was delicious, the room and hotel was very clean. The hotel also had great ammenties, our daughters loved the animals.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank catperezcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017


Dear vcatperezcaro

We read your review and we want to thank you for your recommendation. You mentioned the great locations, the food, and the cleaning in the areas.

Looking forward to your next vist to Cartagena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

This is a very nice property , well located across the street from the beach , nice pool and a professional personal , i'll recommended this hotel with my eyes closes , just stay away from the people on the streets selling everything.....

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank iranvaldes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear iranvaldes

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Caribe Hotel.

Looking fordward to your next trip to Cartagena. We will be happy to receive you again in our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel building is historical, built in 1952. But don’t worry, everything is renovated. The room is very cozy even though the curtains don’t hold the light entirely. My room was big, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also large, with a good shower. The air conditioning worked really well which is really important (I think it was 40oC and almost 100% humidity everyday outside). Breakfast with good variety. Just be aware that it is a big hotel, so it is a little crowded. We had no problems at all to sit by the pool (which is great), everyday we managed to get chairs right in front of it. But during breakfast the room was full and noisy. Nothing to worry about, just be aware that it is not a super quiet hotel. Staff is really nice, polite and they were always there for us. And a tip about the city: ALWAYS ask the price before getting in a cab.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mariana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear mariana c,

As you mentioned in your review the Caribe Hotel is full of history, is the first grand hotel in the city.

We appreciate the higthligths: nice staff, polite, with the best diposition, big
and comfortable rooms as well as large bathrooms, air conditioner that really works eventhough the high temperature and humidity. Three buildings: Colonial, Lagomar and Laguito are the perfect escenario to spend some time in Cartagena surrounded by animals, vegetation, a semi olympic swimming pool and a renewed SPA.

Looking fordward to yor next visit to Cartagena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Nice place to stay and make some memories. Big beautiful pool. Loved the he birds, sloths, and deer on the grounds. We enjoyed the breakfast - So many choices. The staff at the front desk was very helpful. Appreciated the nice choices in the Emerald gift shop and other gift shop. Wish they had an updated elevators. Easy access to the beach!

Room Tip: Stay on lower levels so you don't have to climb as many stairs.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JamesR_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear JamesR_8

We really appreciate your comments about your stay in the Caribe Hotel. Highligthing the experience lived with our animals, our great escenario in the swimming pool, the variety in our breakfast and the great staff.

Looking forward to your next visit to Cartagena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Similar to that of other guests who have left previous reviews, my boyfriend and I also experienced issues with the hotel messing up our reservation through booking.com. When we arrived to check in after an amazing 4 days in Bogota and Medillin, we found out that they had only booked for one of us to stay so they told us that we needed to pay more to add another person, in addition, they hadn't booked for us to stay a 4th night despite me emailing the hotel directly to confirm the fourth night - they also failed to organise our airport transfer which I had confirmed in the same email...

The hotel grounds were lovely but the cleanliness of our room left much to be desired. Our bathroom was dirty (there were dark hairs left in various places), the one pair of slippers that they provided were stained yellow, the toilet seat was broken, and they had clearly failed to replace the pack of cotton buds as they were dirty. Needless to say for the 3 nights that we stayed it felt pretty filthy to walk around in our room.

The pool is gorgeous although there were bird droppings over all of the sun loungers as a result of the forestry.

All in all it was a pretty disappointing experience. It was a big let down after having experienced amazing quality of service in hotels in both Bogota and Medillin. Suffice to say we decided not to stay at the hotel the fourth night and we booked into a lovely hotel in the old town which redeemed our love for Colombian hospitality!

I'm sorry to say that the hotel doesn't deserve it's four star rating. While the place would be nice to walk around as a visitor, I wouldn't recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I had a terrible time at this hotel. I went with 16 friends after a wedding in Bogota and was very disappointed. Firstly, it is advertised as a 5-star hotel, but it really a 3. It is old and lacked maintenance (the painting of the walls was falling apart and it was dirty). There are 2 sections, one that was renovated and one that was not. Got a room at the ugly part, some of my friends got one at the good one (randomly assigned) and there is a huge difference. Their room was ok. The worst part was that I booked a private tour to Tayrona with the Agency that is inside the hotel, recommended to me by the desk clerk (it ended up being her sister's agency). We were 6 so we hired a private van to take us to the park. They mislead us telling us that there was no availability to stay at the park, so we had to book a house for 1 night OUTSIDE of the Tayrona Park. We discovered later that you take so long to walk into the park that it is not worthy to sleep outside, so we decided to ask around and there WAS a place to stay inside! Liars! We did not go back to our cabin as it made no sense. We also had a private tour guide. He left us at the first beach the first day and did not come back till the next day that we randomly run into him. We were supposed to go to some village but it was so late we couldn't. Finally, when we got back to our meeting point in the cabin, the van had left us. It was supposed to be just for us, but they just took 2 friends (one did not go into the park as she felt ill). The van took them just to a bus station and they had to go back by bus! and paid for the extra ticket. It was NOT what we had hired. The rest of us had to take a private car from the cousin of the owner of the cabin that was so expensive. It all felt like a scam!! Back at the Caribe Hotel we requested a refund but we were given none, and were so mistreated by their stuff that they ruined our holidays. WILL NEVER GO BACK!

Room Tip: Stay at the renovated part. They are randomly assigned and we ended up in the old part, which had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dpto_RRPublicas, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Cyn B,

Thanks for sharing with us your impression in our hotel. As you said we have three tower full of rooms: Laguito and Lagomar are the modern and Colonial, are the renewed one. The beauty and the highligths of each one depends upon the perspective.
Regarding the private Tour to Tayrona, our agency is Contactos, the thing is we don`t offer that tour to the destination described. Eventhough we are really sorry about the wrong image you received and inconveniences by the way the tour developed.

Wishing you a good rest of the day


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#18 of 159 in Cartagena
1,153 reviews
0.5 km away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#25 of 159 in Cartagena
2,412 reviews
0.9 km away
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena
#39 of 159 in Cartagena
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
10.1 km away
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros
#33 of 159 in Cartagena
746 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
Hotel Regatta Cartagena
#84 of 159 in Cartagena
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribe

Address: Carrera 1 No. 2 - 87 | Bocagrande, Cartagena 130010, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $125 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caribe 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside the old city on the beaches of Bocagrande, Hotel Caribe, a certified ¨National Monument¨, was built in 1941 and still maintains its original five-story, 99-room Colonial structure. The resort has since added two modern buildings making it the largest hotel in Cartagena.It has 363 rooms with ocean or hotel garden-views (16 of which are wheel-chair-friendly), 4 restaurants, 10 conference rooms, a mini-zoo, tennis courts, a semi-Olympic – sized pool as well as one for the kids. The Caribe Hotel offers a first class service with lot facilities. The Caribe Hotel with three buildings and 363 rooms is considered one of the most traditional Hotel in the city, with an area of 35,000 m2 of exotic tropical trees and gardens, 5,000 being devoted to ample beaches and 30,000 to Hotel facilities. The majestic structure of the Hotel Caribe, surrounded by palms and exotic gardens, rises from the heart of Bocagrande. The Hotel has 363 rooms with different lodging options to make your stay an unforgettable experience, additional offers the finest recreational and sports facilities. We provide our guest an incredible variety of gastronomical possibilities, from the most sophisticated international cuisine to exquisite typical dishes and snacks. Our Guest may select the Catalina Restaurant, Oh Caribe bungalow, Punta Icacos garden and the pool area with a scenario for folklore reviews and theme parties. In regard to congresses, seminars, and conventions the Caribe possesses a magnificent infrastructure that includes ten meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing