We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$357
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$115
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton by Hilton Cartagena(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$126
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,013)
Filter reviews
2,013 results
Traveller rating
313
653
713
195
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
653
713
195
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnighttime entertainmentdecameron aquariumevening showscabernet sauvignonold citytypical resortcity tourhotel offerwalled citysan pedrorooms are basic but cleanmassage ladiesa la carte restaurantsno graciasfree shuttlecab rideempanadas
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 2,013 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2017

Different experience then our usual trips as this is a tower hotel rather than a resort.
Be prepared to wait for elevator or take the stair. other than that the rooms are decent, the view is excellent with Ocean view and also the old city to the side. The bathrooms are very nice and luxurious.
We opted for Decameron Cartagena because of the add-ons this hotel offered; we had the opportunity to go for dinner at the San Pedro restaurant in the old city as well as spending a day at the Decameron Baru.

The biggest downside to the hotel was the persistence of the vendors just outside of the hotel ground.

The food was decent, the hotel offer buffet for breakfast and lunch and a-la-carte only for dinner. You have the options of Italian, Seafood and Steakhouse.The steakhouse was the most disappointing of the three.

The city of Cartagena is very safe and you can go out at all time of the day and night safely. It is however a very Spanish town.It was difficult at time to get understood even though I speak both French and English and do an effort to attempt speaking a bit of Spanish.

I would recommend both the hotel and the city for people who want to experience other countries and cultures.

Room Tip: 15 floor and up offer the best view
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JV_379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2017

The hotel is about 2 km to the Clock Tower of historic Cartagena, approx 20min walk. Great location! The facility is as we expected for the 3-star hotel. No complaints. Our room is on the 13 th floor, the balcony has a great oceanview, but the traffic noise is rather loud, as the main road is right in front of the hotel, and right underneath our balcony. Our room is very clean. The maid did a great job. Room furniture is dated, but okay by us. Food is reasonable, not outstanding but not bad either. Hotel staff are generally polite, some are very nice. The hotel is not suitable for people with mobility challenges, there are many half-level stairs, from lobby to bar, from bar to pool, etc.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and the convenient location to walk to the old town, as well as to walk around Bocagrande in the evening. Safe and fun. The beaches in front of the hotel is a real let down, dirty water, not enough tents for shade (provided by Decameron), and constant harassment of the massage ladies. The day at Decameron Baru was a bonus, great beaches!

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are nice but traffic noise can be loud, even from the 13th floor.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0wBudgetTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights over christmas. It was very busy with lots people coming and going. I stayed here mostly because I wanted a city stay before heading out to Baru. The rooms are bright white, basic furnishings but spacious and a flat screen tv with channels in English. The view of the sea is beautiful. The bathrom was small but shower had good pressure and hot water. There is no free wifi in the room so you have to be down in lobby or lobby bar area. Some connection by pool. The pool is small and was very busy. The beach is across the street with lounge chairs available. You have to book the dinners and the times are not convenient to book, so you can't get an early start. We ate in Italian restaurant twice as other choices were full. It was fine but the christmas turkey dinner was odd with orange sauce rather than gravy. Breakfast was good but the area by pool was always full. There is another space at street level but was also busy running out of food. We only had lunch buffet once as we ate in town the other days. We also had dinner at San Pedro restaurant which is part of the all inclusive, this was excellent. Free shuttle included. There is also a concierge service in the old city near the cathedral san pedro. Handy for the washroom, cool down and a beverage. The hotel manager was very helpful and spoke English very well. It is close to the old city and costs about 7000 one way in cab. There is also ave San Martin with shops and casinos and restaurants around the corner. The lobby bar is a good place to hang out for a few drinks and chill out. For a short stay it was fine overall.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017

There is always a crowd checking in, checking out, waiting for buses, cabs. The buffet for lunch is very run of the mill. The A La Carte restaurants are fair. The seafood had a good seafood soup. The rooms are small but clean. The maid service is excellent.
The showers a disappointment, The beach on the ocean is lovely with a hotel bar in a stand. The beach is across the street. A cab ride to,old city is 3-4 dollars. The check in is not well organized. The pool area fine but often hard to get a table

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have good views
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2017 via mobile

We visited in March with the Air Transat duo package. 3 nights in Decameron Cartegena and 4 in Baru.
The check in was painful and they did not provide English info about the hotel at the time.
The orientation was the next day at 1 pm which made us return from the old city to find out info that should have been provided at the start.
The hotel is conveniently located walking distance from the old city or a $2 US cab ride.

The pool is small as is the breakfast restaurant. They are undersized for the number of guests. The buffet breakfast is adequate but not great.

The hotel includes a meal at a restaurant in the old city and shuttle there and back.

The hotel restaurants are by reservation and force you to return to the hotel at what can be inopportune times.

It is a good location for exploring the city.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Envirodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews