We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Decameron Cartagena
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Casa Lola(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Cartagena Ocean Pavillion Hotel(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$128
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$380
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,985)
Filter reviews
1,985 results
Traveller rating
310
638
707
194
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
638
707
194
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnighttime entertainmentdecameron aquariumevening showscabernet sauvignonold citytypical resortcity tourhotel offerwalled citysan pedrorooms are basic but cleana la carte restaurantsmassage ladiesno graciaslimited englishfree shuttlecab ride
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,985 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2017 via mobile

My husband, our 18 months-old son and I had a great time at Decameron Cartagena. We stayed there for 4 days 3 nights and the service was excellent from the moment we booked our vacation on the phone, till the day they dropped us off at the airport to return home.

Unlike Decameron Aquarium in San Andres, we were able to book all our dining options from the moment we arrived, no lines and no need to wake up early to line up and do this. Their schedule is very wide as well as the one to book your excursions and day pass to their other resort at Baru.
The restaurants options are very good, we were able to book one different restaurant for every night but couldn't go to the one at Downtown since my husband needed to follow their dress code which requires long pants, but well we understand, and we had a great time at the other venues. The food was always ready, their service and friendliness, and especially facilitating our son's food to be delivered extra fast, that was a big wow.

Entertainment during the day by the pool area was also great, their buffet options, and their section by the beach with the entertaining staff right there was also fantastic.

I have to tell you, Decameron Baru was fantabulous. The whole place is stunning and very well maintained. We spent a day there, which was the only excursion we took.
We were super lucky and able to get a tent right in front of the beach cause some Canadian guests had to leave to go to the airport so they nicely gave it to us. My son enjoyed to play by the beach and we all loved the scenery as well as the beautiful clear blue waters.
We spent the morning by the beach, then went up for lunch to a variety of food options. And then spent the rest of our day by the pool, which was the perfect height for our son and that made us all happy. He looooved it and so did us as parents.

We are definitely going back and this time we're hoping to find availability at their Hotel in Baru.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank PilarMBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2017

Hotel was just outside OLD CARTAGENA,was about 15 minutes from the Airport. We made arrangements to get picked up at the airport when we arrived and taken back when it was time to leave,the price was $42 American/$115,920 Columbian pesos.
JAIME, the manager for the excursion trips was EXCELLANT,he goes over and above to make sure your trips out of the Hotel run smoothly. JOEL in the poolside restaurant and IVAN in the ITALIAN restaurant were great and their service was exceptional.The lady that serviced our room was excellent also,she made sure w
e didn't run out of anything. The only complaint I had was one of the girls at the front desk was alittle difficult when it came to changing DOLLARS into COLUMBIAN PESOS. Also when we went on the BARU trip they gave out sandwiches for the ride since we left the hotel at 6am,but they didn't take into consid eration that people might be DIABETIC or have HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE, but that was about it. the Hotel was old but clean the amenities were great and the staff was pleasant though some didn't speak much English but they were very quick to pick up on what I wanted with my limited SPANISH. I was very happy my wife and mother-in- law took care of most of the interaction.
If you have a chance you should walk around the hotel and check out the shops/restaurants, LA FONDA in particular. We plan on going back again next time we go to COLUMBIA
I would like to take the time to thank JAIME again for going out of his way to make sure I got a chicken sandwich instead of ham/cheese since I have high blood pressure
Bill&Julie Manning

Room Tip: All the rooms have an OCEAN VIEW
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2017

Different experience then our usual trips as this is a tower hotel rather than a resort.
Be prepared to wait for elevator or take the stair. other than that the rooms are decent, the view is excellent with Ocean view and also the old city to the side. The bathrooms are very nice and luxurious.
We opted for Decameron Cartagena because of the add-ons this hotel offered; we had the opportunity to go for dinner at the San Pedro restaurant in the old city as well as spending a day at the Decameron Baru.

The biggest downside to the hotel was the persistence of the vendors just outside of the hotel ground.

The food was decent, the hotel offer buffet for breakfast and lunch and a-la-carte only for dinner. You have the options of Italian, Seafood and Steakhouse.The steakhouse was the most disappointing of the three.

The city of Cartagena is very safe and you can go out at all time of the day and night safely. It is however a very Spanish town.It was difficult at time to get understood even though I speak both French and English and do an effort to attempt speaking a bit of Spanish.

I would recommend both the hotel and the city for people who want to experience other countries and cultures.

Room Tip: 15 floor and up offer the best view
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JV_379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2017

The hotel is about 2 km to the Clock Tower of historic Cartagena, approx 20min walk. Great location! The facility is as we expected for the 3-star hotel. No complaints. Our room is on the 13 th floor, the balcony has a great oceanview, but the traffic noise is rather loud, as the main road is right in front of the hotel, and right underneath our balcony. Our room is very clean. The maid did a great job. Room furniture is dated, but okay by us. Food is reasonable, not outstanding but not bad either. Hotel staff are generally polite, some are very nice. The hotel is not suitable for people with mobility challenges, there are many half-level stairs, from lobby to bar, from bar to pool, etc.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and the convenient location to walk to the old town, as well as to walk around Bocagrande in the evening. Safe and fun. The beaches in front of the hotel is a real let down, dirty water, not enough tents for shade (provided by Decameron), and constant harassment of the massage ladies. The day at Decameron Baru was a bonus, great beaches!

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are nice but traffic noise can be loud, even from the 13th floor.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0wBudgetTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights over christmas. It was very busy with lots people coming and going. I stayed here mostly because I wanted a city stay before heading out to Baru. The rooms are bright white, basic furnishings but spacious and a flat screen tv with channels in English. The view of the sea is beautiful. The bathrom was small but shower had good pressure and hot water. There is no free wifi in the room so you have to be down in lobby or lobby bar area. Some connection by pool. The pool is small and was very busy. The beach is across the street with lounge chairs available. You have to book the dinners and the times are not convenient to book, so you can't get an early start. We ate in Italian restaurant twice as other choices were full. It was fine but the christmas turkey dinner was odd with orange sauce rather than gravy. Breakfast was good but the area by pool was always full. There is another space at street level but was also busy running out of food. We only had lunch buffet once as we ate in town the other days. We also had dinner at San Pedro restaurant which is part of the all inclusive, this was excellent. Free shuttle included. There is also a concierge service in the old city near the cathedral san pedro. Handy for the washroom, cool down and a beverage. The hotel manager was very helpful and spoke English very well. It is close to the old city and costs about 7000 one way in cab. There is also ave San Martin with shops and casinos and restaurants around the corner. The lobby bar is a good place to hang out for a few drinks and chill out. For a short stay it was fine overall.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews