We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decadent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santo Toribio
Ranked #101 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Before sending the review I have found through internet a definition of boutique hotel: "Small but exclusive property that caters to the affluent clientele with an exceptional level of service at premium prices. The room are usually personalized and well finished." Unfortunately the 'Santo Toribio' hotel was a great disillusion.
When we arrived they informed us that 3 of 8 rooms were not available due to a problem of air conditioning machine. They assigned us a room that should have been a superior. On the contrary, the most important discomfort was the high percentage of humidity inside the room due to bad isolation of the walls. We have been forced to let a fan and a AC machine (dry position) working day and night. Due to the humidity all the accessories in the bathroom were rusted.
The tv cable was not working and the jacuzzi on the roof had the engine out of order.
We just had the breakfast there, they prepared only a part of the food they should have provided (for the fixed price paid) from the list shown.
Regarding the service of the reception, apart from one person, all the other have proved quite unprofessional.
In sum, Santo Toribio is a decadent boutique hotel in need of substantive maintenance.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Michela1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Just returned from spending 4 nights here, stayed in 3 different rooms because two are not suitable, and there are only 8 total rooms. DO NOT TAKE BASEMENT ROOM, as there is the kitchen right next to it and the employees like to hang out there and talk, but worse is the sewage smell emitting from the bathroom drain. The other room to avoid is the one 4 feet away from the reception area where you will hear everyone come and go talking and you need to be quiet if you want any privacy. The rooms are extremely small. There is no water pressure in the restroom and you will need to flush 3 or 4 times. There is no pool, what they call the pool is a 12 foot long area in the reception area, it is not for swimming or relaxing.
The hotel is in a great location and the staff is very courteous.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank floridaman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

So we weren't enamoured. Having paid around £100 a night for a double room, we were not expecting a practically windowless room that backs into reception. Unless you want staff/guests peering in the room, you have to keep the internal window closed. But that doesn't mean you don't get the sound - of breakfast being laid up, staff chatting, guests coming and going, lobby music.

when we arrived there were a number of issues with our room, and we were not delighted to be paying to effectively sleep in the entrance hallway. while the staff (once they had finally decided to acknowledge our arrival) tried hard to fix the issues in the room, we really wished we'd saved our money and booked elsewhere.

Am sure if you're booking one of the better rooms you'll be treated a bit better and have a better experience, but as standard double occupants we felt like poor cousins (even for £100 a night). We were relieved to leave following more shoddy service on checkout.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gemma050982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

A friend and I stayed at the Santo Toribio for 4 nights at the end of January, and had a great experience. The rooms and bathrooms were lovely and clean, the staff was warm and helpful (notwithstanding a pretty significant language barrier) and the roof was delightful in the late afternoon. The wireless service was not quite up to scratch which proved a bit challenging, and the only reason I am not giving the property 5 stars! Breakfast each day was delicious. Would recommend and return.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank reibs1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

This is more to congratulate the exellent crew of this quiet boutique hotel in the center of everything. Maria was so kind and awesome with us. Wiston our waiter was great and everyone in that propriety have the most beutifull smile and spirit Thank you. The room we stayed in the ground floor was peaceful and convinient. A\C worked great and you need it in Cartagena. Plenty of food around and their restaurant also serves decent food.. Ideas? make the Loby downstairs air conditioned so it is more welcoming to the people arriving and will bring some more business to this charming city oasis. There is a great terrace upstair to look at the stars. Saudades.

Room Tip: the ones looking at the internal garden. Any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cfreitas9944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately we didn't end up staying at this hotel for personal reasons. The manager of the hotel was attentive to our needs, kind and understood the importance of having happy customers. He was very nice with us and did what he could to assist. I was very happy with the service we received and I would be happy to stay at this hotel on my next visit to Cartagena. Thanks Jeison!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank talgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I stayed at Hotel Santo Toribio for four days and had a wonderful stay. I was in the room on the first floor across from the pool, and though other reviews are accurate in saying that it can be noisy, I only found it to be a slight annoyance if sleeping in or taking a nap - otherwise the room was perfectly quiet. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked great! The bathroom was modern looking and felt very high end.

As someone who can hardly speak any Spanish at all, I was still able to communicate with the majority of the staff and had no problem with check-in, check-out, and ordering breakfast. As an English speaker, if you run into someone who only speaks Spanish, you can ask for someone who speaks English and there seems to always be someone on staff that can translate.

Breakfast was very good and was complimentary. Unlike other hotels, the breakfast was not a continental breakfast, nor was it a buffet. A full meal was served with a fruit plate, coffee, juice, and your selection from a number of different types for breakfasts. Options ranged from traditional Colombian dishes (Arepas de Huevos) to more "american" breakfasts like scrambled eggs and omelettes.

Overall I had a wonderful stay in this beautiful little hotel and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor seem to be the best, but my first floor room wasn't bad at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pnero01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0 km away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#14 of 159 in Cartagena
953 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa La Cartujita
Casa La Cartujita
#74 of 159 in Cartagena
92 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#62 of 159 in Cartagena
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Passion Hotel Lounge
La Passion Hotel Lounge
#92 of 159 in Cartagena
241 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#59 of 159 in Cartagena
596 reviews
0.3 km away
NH Collection Cartagena La Merced Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Toribio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Toribio

Address: Calle Segunda de Badillo No 36-87 | Plaza Fernandez Madrid, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 159 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: C$159 - C$247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Toribio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santo Toribio Boutique Hotel is located at the heart of the walled city of Cartagena de Indias, declared a World Heritage Site since 1984. A beautifully restored home for a new generation of world travelers that preserves the Caribbean magic behind its doors. Its 8 room color blended HOTEL DESCRIPTION scheme was inspired by the city’s history and some of its important personalities combining local culture and modern service requirements. It is the perfect place to spend magnificent days and nights.Located in a privileged and safe area, it is the perfect choice for travelers who enjoy wandering down ancient alleyways leading to nearby squares, iconic parks, historically significant sites, restaurants and bars.Every room has a special name, evoking characters that are part of the local culture giving them a special tribute through photographs captured by a well-known Colombian artist.The hotel features a wide range of on-site facilities including pleasant walkways surrounded by vertical gardens, a rooftop solarium and outdoor jacuzzi, bbq area, kitchen, a swimming pool on the ground floor, dining areas in small patios, music and bar with a special screen for enjoying Cable sporting events.Begin your day in Caribbean style with local flavors served at breakfast (included in the fee). Room service, prepared by our expert chef, offers a distinct variety of land and sea food for an unforgettable dining experience.We provide reliable vehicle transport to and from the airport as an additional service, as well as tour guides, historic sites guided tours, arrangements for beach days or visits to the Rosario Islands. Our Special Plan additionally offers room arrangements for romantic nights and focused massage sessions for total relaxation.DOUBLE CELLAR ROOMA refurbished wine-cellar room on the underground floor is ideal for those who wish for complete privacy as it offers guests a space away from public areas. Total area of 17 sqm.DOUBLE ROOMA classic room on the first floor, near the reception and public areas. Average Area 15 sqm.SUPERIOR DOUBLE ROOMLarger rooms with windows opening up into balconies on the first and second floor, give a better view of the inner hotel areas, gardens, pool, neighboring roofs and Caribbean blue sky. Area average 18 sqm.DOBLE DELUXE ROOMThe brightest and most spacious room, 20 sqm, with balconies facing the inner gardens right by the terrace area, with desk space and room for a third guest, if so required.Each room has a King size bed with high resting mattresses and pillows, reading lights, air conditioning, ceiling fans, bathrooms & showers, hot water & bathrobes, closet with shelf-space and safety box, Wi-Fi, interactive TV, minibar and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santo Toribio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing