We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
798
223
56
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
798
223
56
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred knifeconvention centerrooftop poolwalled cityold cityclock towerboutique hotelgetsemani neighborhoodmin walkrain showerjuan valdezrooms are smallthe hotel is cleanthe breakfast areabonbonstop floorevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last wknd and my experience was average. The installations are nice, but the customer service is very poor. The food it is also not the best food I’ve had and the room service closes at 1030pm, so if you are hungry by midnight you won’t be able to eat. I would definitely not rate this hotel as a 5 star hotel.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Geraldine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Dear Geraldine L

Thank you for the time taken to provide us your review of your recent stay at Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma; every comment raised by you it is of utmost importance at the time that we evaluate our hotel and services.

It is very disappointing to hear that your experiences did not live up to expectations. We can assure you that your experiences are not reflective of dining experiences and unique Gourmet Inclusive experience we offer to our guests.

Your comments and feedback will be used constructively; ensuring we make every stay as close to perfection. Please do not hesitate to contact the customer service department at customercare@karismamexico.com, therefore, your comments could be personally attended.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2018

I was there for only 1 night. This hotel reminds me of Ian Schrager hotels minus the hip crowded bar. Hotel seems new? Rooms are smallish but are modern and tastefully appointed. There is a rooftop bar/pool and large restaurant on the ground floor. Breakfast buffet has all the standard fare - neither disappointing or memorable. Most of the staff spoke English and the atm and cafe are across the street. While the hotel seemed busy, common spaces were surprisingly quiet and peaceful.

High quality attentive service elevates this hotel. I asked for another set of toiletries for my roommate and they were at my door in under 10 minutes. That's faster than the Four Seasons in Canary Wharf.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allure H, Front Office Manager at Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Hola Asuchio,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Allure Hotels for your vacation, we know there are many options in Cartagena to stay. We are very happy to hear that you spent a very good time with us, Also, your comments are very important to us, since they are our priority number one. We appreciate your post on this social media, so others travelers can see it.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon in a near future,
Sincerely,

David Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Allure Chocolat had everything that we were looking for in a hotel during our recent stay in Cartagena. The staff was friendly and helpful, happily offering advice on local excursions. Rooms were beautiful, comfortable and clean - the complimentary drinking water was highly appreciated.

Facilities are wonderful - the rooftop pool is the perfect size and has an amazing view of the Bocagrande skyline; this was ideal for taking a mid-afternoon break from the heat and given the tropical weather in Cartagena I would suggest selecting a hotel that has this amenity. Breakfast at Red Knife was great as well - variety of fresh fruit and pastries plus made-to-order eggs and breakfast meats. Strong, reliable wifi which was important to us as foreigners!

We were extremely happy with the location. Located in Getsemani, it is <5 minute walk form the walled city (where you will want to spend most of your time). Though I was hesitant about this at first, Getsemani is also an extremely safe and colorful neighborhood filled with cafes and restaurants and we enjoyed spending time here in addition to the old city (of note - Arsenal, rum bar/restaurant next door is EXCELLENT!). We actually ended up preferring the location slightly outside of the walled city itself.

Overall, we would not have changed anything about our stay and would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Cartagena!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allure H, Front Office Manager at Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2018

Hola Cristina,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Allure Hotels for your vacation, we know there are many options in Cartagena to stay. We are very happy to hear that you spent a very good time with us, Also, your comments are very important to us, since they are our priority number one. We appreciate your post on this social media, so others travelers can see it.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon in a near future,

Sincerely,

David Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2018

Loved everything about our stay at Allure! David took care of us from the moment we walked in to the lobby. The doorman, whose name i can not remember was also very helpful. And Carlos, who worked in the dining room and at the pool bar was so wonderful! Their buffet breakfasts were incredible.
My friend who recommended this trip told me that a week was to long but it wasn't for us. We took a boat ride for the day to an island and had lunch there, went to the gold and emerald museums, hired a tour guide through . Allure, Daniel Cartagena Tour HQ, and did a 3 hour tour of the city and outskirts, shopped and dined in some incredible restaurants, our favorites were Carmen (went twice!), La Perla (went twice!), had incredible salads and cappuccino at Mila's Vargas (twice!). Heard Moshi, within the same buildding as Carmens and Peru Sushi were great but didnt make it there. Next time!

Stayed: January 2018
Thank BackPacker803181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allure H, Front Office Manager at Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Hola !!

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Allure Hotels for your vacation, we know there are many options in Cartagena to stay. We are very happy to hear that you spent a very good time with us, Also, your comments are very important to us, since they are our priority number one. We appreciate your post on this social media, so others travelers can see it.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon in a near future,

Sincerely,



David Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2018

This hotel is big enough for what one needs: nice restaurant, small fitness room and a a pool with bar. Yet is is small enough to feel at home. The staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. They learned our names and we learned theirs. We felt more like company that paying customers. Carlos, a waiter in the breakfast area and in the Red Knife restaurant, was beyond compare. Charles and Amaury at the pool bar were great hosts and made great drinks. Alfonso, a bellman was most cheerful and always chatted us up in a effort to improve his English. Let me also point out Anghelo who works the front desk in the afternoon. He is the best source for anyone seeking a tour
Thanks, everyone.
.

Above the pool is yet another deck. Two terraces, really. There are chairs and loungers but no bar service. One is on his own. Great views.

For those who feel constrained by TSA rules on flying with liquids, I offer a piece of advice. There is a modern, well stocked drugstore within walking distance. It carries many of the products found in North American stores. Walk out the hotel and turn left. Walk up the street to the intersection. On the corner is an old fortification with a restaurant on top. It opens at 4 PM. Walk across the bridge and Farmatodo is on the left. Most of the brand names are readily recognizable.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, odd numbered side. We were a bit sheltered from traffic noise and received a lot of natural light.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castaway_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allure H, Front Office Manager at Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Hola castaway,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Allure Hotels for your vacation, we know there are many options in Cartagena to stay. We are very happy to hear that you spent a very good time with us, Also, your comments are very important to us, since they are our priority number one. We appreciate your post on this social media, so others travelers can see it.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon in a near future,
Sincerely,



David Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews