We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Renovated studio in center of Old Cartagena.”
other travellers have booked this property
Entering your studio with view towards the balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entering your studio with view towards the balcony
Balcony ahead and closet to the right Enjoying a Club Colombia on the balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Entering your studio with view towards the balcony
Balcony ahead and closet to the right
Enjoying a Club Colombia on the balcony
Center=main door to hall; right=door to bathroom; left=door to 1BR apt (locked)
Closed curtains on balcony doors; double locking hotel door to 1BR apt open (if you rent both apts)
View from balcony to studio with mini-kitchen
Mini-kitchen: small refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee machine, electric skillet
Your bathroom with rain showerhead
View from the balcony of Calle de la Moneda
View from the balcony of Calle de la Moneda
The building facade, showing the balconies of the one bedroom (left) and the studio (right).
You can even buy your fruit & vegetables from a vendor right in front of our building!
We're on one of the old colonial streets! Calle de la Moneda, 7-32
Red marker shows where these apartments are, within the Centro & San Diego city walls (green line).
We are a block from the lovely Parque Fernandez de Madrid
Turn right out of the building & in 3 minutes you can be on the old city wall with this great view!
Cartagena's Torre del Reloj, or Clock Tower, is a short stroll from the apartment.
The beautiful old city of Cartagena!
View of Cartagena from the Castillo San Felipe and a giant Colombian flag!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cartagena, Cartagena District, Bolivar Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gene R J
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
756 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Renovated studio in center of Old Cartagena.”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We emailed with Barbara to reserve our 6 night stay to explore this historic UNESCO site.
A $5 Uber brought us from the airport to busy Calle 36/Moneda Street. Here we were met by French/English/Spanish-speaking manager, Benjamin, to climb the stairway to the street-facing room. The very clean 13' x 16' tiled space had a comfortable double, spacious wardrobe, night stands and chair, overhead fan, marble top kitchenette fully equipped for basic use, and a modern bathroom with 40" x 56" shower. Hot water everywhere as well as cool unobtrusive AC, large flat screen with international channels, and great WIFI. The tall concave tray ceiling provides fully diffused room lighting in addition to several switched recessed lights. The small balcony's tall table with 2 bar stools was brought in for our breakfast and dinner; preferring the AC and quiet while foregoing great people watching.
We followed the extensive apartment manual to recommended restaurants for our lunches(reviewed on Trip Advisor), all within 3 blocks, as well to the Express Exito and bakery 1 block to the left, the large Exito 1 block to the right, along with coffee shops, cambios, repair, and internet shops. Each morning and night, we walked most streets of this 40 block Old City marveling at the beautifully painted structures with flowered balconies, lighted plazas filled with people, and remarkable displays of artisan goods.
One morning we walked the city wall, another a 3 mile circuit to visit Getsemani, Fort San Felipe, and El Castillo Mall, and lastly, 2.5 miles out to Bocogrande's Restaurant Bar El Muelle to earn our beach view lunch, then 2.5 miles back.
Our stay was made especially enjoyable with the ability to walk out at all hours to experience this safe neighborhood of this fascinating city, divided by narrow lanes full of taxis, fruit carts, horse carriages and strolling visitors.
Our siesta was disturbed by the shop's speaker directly across the street(fortunately closed on Sunday and Monday) and our nights were interrupted with sporadic vehicle horns, but these inconveniences were over weighed by excellent location, comfortable accommodation, and reasonable price, all providing great value.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Muchísimas gracias!! It's been great helping you with your Colombia vacation & so glad you enjoyed Cartagena especially!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizbeth11
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Right in the old town”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This tiny flat is right in the heart of the old town so is close to everything. It is located above the street level stores and has a small balcony to sit on. We were able to walk everywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: It was very close to everything in the old town. We could walk everywhere.
Liked least: It was very small. Mattress looked old.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Thank you very much for staying with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Yay -- very happy that you had such a nice stay & thank you for the lovely review! Please come back & visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 May 2015
Thank you so much for your nice review & I'm glad you & your wife enjoyed your stay. The road works have ended...I'm so sorry it was done at such odd hours while you were there. Henry & I look forward to having you back!! Gracias! Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Naples, Florida
Reviewed December 6, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amenities, location
Liked least: street below lined with shops can be noisy in the am but it was tranquil at night
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your *very* nice review & we're so glad you had a great stay -- please come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael S
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value For The Locate”
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I spent a week at Calle de Modeda Studio. I was very pleased with the apartment. The location is perfect, check in was easy, Henry (the manager) was available for any questions, and the studio was perfect for my needs. I enjoyed sitting on the balcony, sipping a beer and people watching on the street below. The street scene is hectic during the day but quiet in the evening. My only complaint is the wifi was spotty...worked great most of the time but now and then would lose signal. Henry would rest the modem for me, I'd have service for awhile, and then I'd lose service again. However it was a minor inconvenience as there is a Jan Valdez Cafe near the apartment with wifi service. I would most definitely book the unit again on a future stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The Wifi
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
Thanks so much for your nice review & glad you had a great stay! Sorry that you had an issue with the wifi; it has been looked at and there have been no problems since. Look forward to having you back again sometime soon -- gracias! Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Oct 2014
I am so glad it worked out that you could stay with us & even happier that you had such a nice visit! Thank you for your review--come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing