We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Increible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2017

The hotel building is excellent. All the structure provided to the guests is great: the swimming pool, hot tub, wifi access, breakfast, bikes, and all the services. But above all, hotel employees make all the difference. Cristina, the recepctionist, is an outlier. She did her best to solve all of our problems, she gave us a lot of good tips to enjoy Cartagena. Definetely, we felt like home. People called us by our names. For all of that, we strongly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are amazing: quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jubyteixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2017

Establish your priorities about what you are looking for in a hotel---I think Bantu has all of them. It's a small place with just over 20 rooms. It's an easy walk to all the tourist destinations and has lots of restaurants within a 10 minute radius. The beds are comfortable and the showers are good. We stayed in the room right above the reception and loved the "outdoor" shower. The air conditioning is excellent. Reviews from a year or so ago were critical of the breakfast--all we can figure is that the hotel read those and made changes. In two weeks in Colombia and Ecuador, we had no better breakfast buffet--a great mix of food recognizable to American tourists, but also some interesting local dishes to try. They would happily fix eggs as well.
The staff is exceptional. It is the ONLY hotel in the tour where all six of our group tipped the staff. Christina on the front desk is simply wonderful, always friendly and smiling. I'm bringing a larger group back next year and only hope Christina is still there. One of the real treats is the welcome by Tatu, the toucan; one of three "pets" in the reception area.
If you are looking for a comfortable, relaxed, friendly place, this is the one.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RichardinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

The hotel is in the middle of Old Cartagena but away from most of the tourist traffic. The staff was very friendly and helpful. the rooms were classic in style but updated with card locks, no keys for the door. the beds were very comfortable. The rooms surround an open atrium where two Macaws made there home. There is a nice, restaurant with a buffet but you can order from a menu. The food was fresh and quite good.
One of the plazas in the old town was a half block away and there was alway something happening, music, light show, dancing with mostly locals. Restaurants surrounded the park with outside seating.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank X9868FWdavida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We had a good stay in this beautiful hotel. The hotel has a large mango tree with a swing in the middle of the small court yard. There is a small library with mostly Spanish books and the rooms are nicely decorated.
The reason this hotel does not get 5 points from us: the pool is tiny (just for cooling off, not for swimming) and the bars next to the pool and in the courtyard were never staffed during our 3 days there. If you show up for breakfast after 8 AM, you will likely not get a table in small restaurant (5 tables) and have to eat outside in the heat - having to bring each item from the breakfast room outside. At our late breakfast at 9 AM we had limited food choices. There are items in the room (hat, flip flops, bag), that have no information or price tag. They are actually for sale only and will be charged to your room.
In general, the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 40familyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Bantu while visiting Cartagena. The staff are wonderful, the hotel is very clean, the rooftop pool is great after a hot day. The 3 Tucans that hang out are very friendly. Breakfast is excellent and really varied. The location is great as well.
Really recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ralph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Nice centrally located in old quarter of cartagena. easy walking distance around to lots of eateries markets.has 3 tucons on site.staff are wonderful and very helpful Spanish and english.nice breakfast same format everyday but they are helpful to your requests.most enjoyable stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 57dave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

This boutique hotel is styled like an old colonial house. Our group of 10 travelers (5 couples) stayed here 3 nights. My husband and I stayed in room 216. It was spacious, well air conditioned, with a unique bathroom. Between bedroom and bathroom was a door. Bathroom was open air and partially covered. Beautiful tile bathtub was open to the sky. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast buffet was modest but delicious. The hotel has three toucans that have free reign. We enjoyed interacting with them. A welcome drink was offered during check in. Location is close to city wall, restaurants and shops.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arleth , Gerente at Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your excelent comments. We are always working to improve our service. All our staff is committed to providing our guests an unforgettable stay and make them feel at home.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Bantu Hotel always will be Your home away from home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 km away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 158 in Cartagena
456 reviews
0.2 km away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 158 in Cartagena
1,140 reviews
0.6 km away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#18 of 158 in Cartagena
620 reviews
0.4 km away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#5 of 158 in Cartagena
515 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 158 in Cartagena
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique

Address: Calle de la Tablada 7-62 | Historic Center, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#8 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#19 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: $215 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bantu invites you to discover a charming boutique hotel in the historic center of Cartagena de Indias, colonial city of Colombia, and one of the most amazing places in the Caribbean, full of warmth and authenticity. Distinguished with the category of 5 stars, Bantu Hotel offers an inside-edge design, colonial architecture and unique services: XVIII colonial infrastructure, chill out terrace, solarium, pool area, spa, bar, restaurant ... a bespoke luxury. Meet one of the most charming hotels in Colombia for couple getaways and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bantu Hotel And Lifestyle
Bantu Hotel Cartagena
Bantu Hotel Lifestyle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing