We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveller rating
467
78
15
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
78
15
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge tub old town walled city boutique hotel small pool egg dishes breakfasts were excellent highly recommend staying here plunge pool the breakfast area first floor fresh juice lower floor junior suite lovely room old house each morning
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 575 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Hotel Alfiz is a can't miss boutique hotel. One of the nicest places I have stayed in all of my travels. If you are to stay in Cartagena, stay within the Walled City. It is the place to be. Adventure outward during the day and enjoy the nights and evenings in the center of the mix. It's the only way.

As for the hotel, picture a beautiful discrete door off of the busy, hot streets. Ring the doorbell and be welcomed by some of the most helpful staff in the city. Enter an 8 room former estate built in the 1700's that is completely renovated with authentic and historic taste. We stayed in the Independent jr. suite which was a great place for 2. All rooms appeared to be perfect.

Made to order breakfast each morning was a fantastic way to start the day. Incredibly helpful staff. Quiet, private, nice, clean rooms. A small soaking pool. A tanning roof deck with jacuzzi. Air conditioning throughout.

Just stay here if it is available. Amazing experience you won't forget.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and private. Independent was a great Jr. Suite to stay in.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

Recently spent a week at the hotel and enjoyed it tremendously. The room was lovely and comfortable, the breakfast was incredible, but most impressive was the staff. They were gracious and very accommodating. Should I have the opportunity to visit Cartagena again I would go back to the Alfiz.
Sally

Room Tip: Second floor suite - facing the road had French doors that opened to a balcony overlooking the cobblestone street - very lively view.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjurcaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2018

Thank you for staying with us at Alfiz, every staff member is happy to hear that you enjoyed your week with us and you maybe can visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018

Excellent!! This was a truly enchanting experience.

My wife and i stayed there for a week in mid December. The manager, Mr. Pablo Sebastian Palacio, was a great help, being able to accommodate additional family, even in arranging for airport pickup of family members who were staying at other locations nearby. Everyone on staff was very attentive and caring.

The ambience was amazing from the time you enter the colonial portón, to resting on the terrace. The gourmet breakfast was outstanding, fresh fruit salad, local natural fruit juices, breads, arepas and egg dishes that were far better than any from your typical hotel or restaurant menu.

Finally, the boutique hotel only having eight rooms, does an wonderful job in their decor and comfort. It is the best place if you're not traveling with younger children (another benefit), and want a quiet place to stay when you've finished enjoying the walled city for the day.

We look forward to staying there again the next time we're able to visit Cartagenas beautiful walled city.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lariverajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2018

It's a great pleasure to read your stimulating words for all staff members, and we really are very happy that you enjoyed our facilities, the terrace with jacuzzi and of course our breakfast! We look forward to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful little place in the central location. Staff was very friendly and helped us with booking tours.
Breakfast was very good. There is small but cute swimming pool. It was such a pleasure to stay there.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank TynaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 18, 2017

Built in an old house, this is stylish, practical and a peaceful calm setting to enter. Our room was on 2 floors which gave space to spread out and relax and felt classic. It was quiet, clean and very comfortable. Staff were simply wonderful, wanting to help with anything they could. A range of breakfasts were appetising. When we had to leave before breakfast, they boxed some food for us and we really appreciated this.
You felt you were in a different era until you walked onto the street and you were back in the 21st century. Located in old town, everything is your doorstep. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

We really appreciate your recommendation and love to hear that you enjoyed your stay "back in time", we wish you happy holidays and hope to see you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews