We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
233
175
44
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
175
44
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room the free walking tour common areas el poblado metro station exito supermarket well equipped kitchen own bathroom beds were comfortable hot water free coffee great wifi great atmosphere quiet street other travelers top floor great area
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 485 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018

my least favorite hostel. showers were hot, clean, but only two toilets on the entire first floor sucks. the shower stall has no surface for your soap or belongings. People were smoking all over the place. I just didn't like it there and it doesn't come with breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

This was a nice hostel for a shorter stay in Medellin. It was clean, and the kitchen was the best we've had in all of our trip which was so appreciated. A lot of places to chill out and even a tv with Netflix. Too few bathrooms though, so you always had to wait. There was also construction going on during our stay that made any mid-day napping impossible (but they can't really help that). We were a bit disappointed at the guy at the reception (not the owner) who promised us multiple times that it would NOT be worth buying or own tickets to the soccer game but rather book their tour. We were sceptical and wanted to go to the stadium and get tickets on our own since the tour was very pricey, but he assured us on multiple occasions that that would definetly just be a waste of time. Turns out our dorm-mate did what we wanted to do and had zero problem getting a ticket at the stadium for under half the price we paid. Felt dishonest and unnecessary and a bit of a bitter ending to an otherwise lovely stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Hallapandatravels416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2018 via mobile

Went there for new year. Felt a little bit old (32) comparing to the other guests but still ok. Nice staff, helps you with everything.
Little bit of a party hostel. But it was New Years so don’t know if it is the same other weekends.
Nice and clean rooms!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

It's all about what kind of traveler you are and what kind of experience you are looking for.

The Black Sheep Hostel had a good location (close to the metro and the main El Poblado area, but not right in the middle of the madness); a friendly, helpful, bi-lingual staff; hot water; great wifi; and a secure premises. It is a 15 minute, uphill walk to the main El Poblado area and a 10 minute walk to the metro (you'll want to be close to a metro stop in Medellin). For a private room during peak season, the price was reasonable, but not fantastic. There are three computers for use and fridges stocked with drinks that you can put on your room tab, which turned out to be very convenient.

With all of that being said, this is a party hostel. If you're a young traveler looking for a place to hangout, drink, and socialize, this is the place for you. If you're a more mellow traveler who is looking for some peace and quiet at night, don't stay here. We are more on the mellow end of the spectrum, but still really enjoyed staying at the hostel. Again, it's all about the type of experience you're looking for with a hostel.

The one major downside for us was that the property always smelled like Cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a night whilst visiting Medellin. Lovely hostel with amazing staff, attentive and helpful assisting with day trips and local information. We stayed in a twin room which was huge and very comfortable!
I would definitely stay here again, and recommend a visit to others
Thank you!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lindz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews