We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy design, helpful staff, uncomfortable furnishings, too noisy....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Trendy design, helpful staff, uncomfortable furnishings, too noisy....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Good location, friendly staff, shoddy construction, poor lighting and mediocre furnishings. Zero sound insulation and disco on the ground floor with booming music until the wee hours of the morning results in little sleep. Staff says disco only operates on "weekends" but weekends in Colombia start Thursday night and go through Sunday night.
If you value peace and quiet and go to bed before 3 a.m. look elsewhere. Would not recommend or stay here again. Rating should be lower but I chose average rating because of helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeezleBub561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    222
    74
    39
    31
See reviews for
78
213
67
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boquete
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

The Diez hotel was beautifully done in every way and located next to the Zona Rosa. A steal at $100 per night

Room Tip: Can't imagine a bad one. The hotel is only a year old and the designer/architect did a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReverendRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel, where each floor is themed after a region of Colombia, complete with gigantic photographs and cultural objects tastefully on display. Dinner and breakfast were also of good quality, with reasonable options for a vegetarian (not often the case in Colombia). The excellent service was what most impressed, with genuinely friendly staff eager to help at each possibility. The rooftop spa is also a plus.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwadem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This hotel is new, clean, modern, and the staff is very nice. It is located 2 blocks from popular Parke Lleras (area of many bars and restaurants) and 5 minutes from the El Tesoro Mall (best mall in Medellin with arcade for children). The breakfast served in the open air roof top is good to very good. This was the host hotel for our guest from the U.S. for our wedding, and everyone was pleased with the hotel and its location. One negative: no bathtubs, showers only. Parking underground is easy. The rates are fair. The only reason to stay in another hotel is if you prefer a different location, but this hotel is in El Poblado, which is considered to be the best location in the city.

Room Tip: Choose a room far from the elevators which have a ring which can be heard inside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoTraveler32814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

From the moment you enter this hotel, you feel peace and calm. Hard to believe it's in the middle of the city. Loved the use of bamboo and stone. Beautiful spa on the top floor. Guest rooms are average but the public space makes up for that. Nice business hotel for small meetings. Loved the outdoor space on the top level. Quiet and peaceful for breakfast and afternoon cocktail. If you're looking for something outside the box...this is it!

Room Tip: Loved the views overlooking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wife and I were scheduled to stay at this hotel 3 nights, but the bed in our room was so uncomfortable my back could only take two and we checked out early. By the second night the rock hard, concrete mattress had my back muscles in trismus and I couldn't bend over or tie my own shoes. Rate we paid for our suite was around $158 per night. We made firm advanced reservations with the hotel to pick us up at the hotel (their taxis/shuttle) service and upon our late evening arrival no one was there to greet or transport us back to the hotel. Very nice airport in Medellin, and it was closing up for the night and no taxis available at one point. Lucky us one finally did show up to take us to the Hotel. Check in went well, but no welcome cocktail included in package was ever given. Overall hotel staff not that friendly. Hotel was clean. Morning buffet breakfast was just okay and the lowest rated one I'd give on some 20 plus hotel breakfast buffets I've had in Colombia. Housekeeping staff very pleasant and thorough. Front desk staff very standoffish and didn't go out of their way with information or assistance. Just going through the motion of being there. No concierge on duty. This hotel is very near the Zona Rosa section of Medellin which unless you were young and wanted to drink until you vomited I was not impressed. Zona Rosa restaurants and bars were not appealing. Seedy comes to mind. We checked out and visited Poblado Plaza and our visit to Medellin instantly got better. See that review. I am contacting Trip Advisor to re-check the reviews on Hotel Diez as being possibly fake as there is no way this Hotel deserves such a rating.

Room Tip: The bed is equivalent to a concrete floor just a little warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Studio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights during a recent trip to Medellin. The location was good. The staff very nice. The lobby was very beautifully and tastefully decorated. The room was spacious and well furnished. The view was good. Had 3 or 4 computers with internet access in the lobby as well as free newspapers and coffee. Nothing really to complain about.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColombicanoDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.9 km away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#15 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#1 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.9 km away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#13 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 km away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#33 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#2 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia

Property: Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Address: Carrera 10a 34-11, Medellin 050014, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing