We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
169
107
41
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
107
41
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stone pony dance club nightclub attached club paradise famous stone the jersey shore ocean side summer stage continental breakfast hotel manager the hotel is clean great pool bit dated off season new jersey mid week gay
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 355 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

Even during one of the busiest weekends of the year (NJ Pride) Kristin, Dug and the rest of the staff at the Empress deliver a warm welcome and a pleasant stay!!! We had a wonderful time enjoying the cozy room, the exhilarating dance club and the breezy balcony overlooking the glorious Atlantic. Despite what must have been exhausting for everyone working their tails off to keep people happy (we got an early check in!), they still managed to smile right through til Monday. Great people to come “home” to when we are in Asbury Park!! Highly recommend this hotel and love the staff!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank carolynknievel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empres101, Guest Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Carolyn,

We loved your review and "Coming Home" was the best line ever! We'll have to use that in our advertising!
We're glad you noticed how busy we are but, busy, hectic or what ever, we all try to remember to smile a lot. We make our day all about our guests. Not easy at times - definitely the reason our guests have been coming back snce the hotel opened 17 years ago.
See you again soon Carolyn and thank you!

Enjoy your day,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018

This was the second time my partner and I came to The Empress. Like the first time, the staff was welcoming and most helpful, answering any of our questions regarding the local area. The Empress is a located in a great area that is within walking distance of everything from the train station and town to the movie theater complex that has many shops and restaurants along the way. Having the bar and nightclub downstairs is great when you want excitement but do not feel like battling the weather.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor on the opposite side of the nightclub, facing the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empres101, Guest Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a great reminder how easy our hotel location is with walking distance to the best food and drinks anywhere!
Your second time staying with us will turn into three - on and on - we'll still be as welcoming as the first time you entered our lobby!
We're a great staff and we all work hard to make our guests return season after season.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2018

A fun place to stay. Right on the beach. Clean and nice rooms. Staff was very friendly, and good.
Would highly recommend, not a lot of hotels like the Empress in Asbury Park. One block from the famous
Stone pony...

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Clifford E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empres101, Guest Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Clifford,

Thanks for your review...we appreciate you taking the time to write about the Empress.
We love where we're located. The Stony Pony is a legend we're proud to be next door to. We're also happy to have many of the musicians who perform at the Stony Pony book their reservations with us when they're in Asbury Park.
We know you'll be back and look forward to your next reservation.

Fondly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018

My wife and I (and our 4 mon. old puppy) had a fabulous early dose of summer at the Empress. The location - across the street from the boardwalk and beach - is perfect and the staff was even better. They were helpful and accommodating. The hotel is clean although the bathroom fixtures are from an earlier hotel era. We will absolutely consider the Empress when we travel to the Jersey Shore again, with or without our dog.

Room Tip: Obviously, rooms on the ocean side offer beautiful morning views.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank herbgo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empres101, Guest Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Herb,

We love our furry guests and remember your puppy well! We are one of very few hotels with pet rooms at no extra charge.
Thank you for the review - it was nice of you to mention our staff (which we're proud of) and our cleanliness. Both of these assets are the reason our guests return reservation after reservation.
We agree on the fixtures - refer to it as the "Retro" look - the good thing is our hotel is always a work in progress!

Fondly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

This hotel is a gem. Besides that they are pet-friendly, they are also people-friendly as well! The location can't be beat, as you can watch the sunrise from your bedroom, or listen to music from the Stone Pony from your balcony. It has been here forever (I've been coming to Asbury for 40 years) and has that "real feel" of an eclectic, diverse, exciting place. A special thanks to Max, who was so kind to me when I was checking in, to the manager for "making an exception to the rules," and to Bridg at the front desk, who was also wonderful. This was just a 1-night getaway, but we will back this July and every July! P.S. Paix and Luna also love it.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want, whether it's an ocean view, quiet, etc. The staff knows how to accommodate you if you say what you need.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empres101, Guest Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Ellen,

Thank you for your review and also for the nice compliments to our staff!
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and yes, we are pet friendly, one of the only hotels to allow pets at no extra charge.
Our rooms all have an eight-foot sliding glass door onto a balcony where you can relax, feel ocean breezes, listen to music or watch the most interesting people ever!
We look forward to your next reservation.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews