We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The awakening of Santa Marta”

Marc de Sabores Restaurante
Ranked #10 of 365 Restaurants in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Restaurante de comida típica de la costa e internacional. Nos destacamos por la frescura de nuestros productos, el respeto de las recetas tradicionales y la atención personalizada en Español, Ingles y Francés. Ofrecemos un menú variado que incluye mariscos, pescados, carnes, pastas, pizzas, ensaladas, cayeyes y opciones vegetarianas. Ademas, contamos con un menú infantil. El lugar consta de dos salones con aire acondicionado y un patio con una barra. Se puede ambientar para cenas románticas, cumpleaños, eventos corporativos. Si se encuentra en Santa Marta, no puede irse sin probar nuestros platos clásicos de la costa.
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurante de comida típica de la costa e internacional. Nos destacamos por la frescura de nuestros productos, el respeto de las recetas tradicionales y la atención personalizada en Español, Ingles y Francés. Ofrecemos un menú variado que incluye mariscos, pescados, carnes, pastas, pizzas, ensaladas, cayeyes y opciones vegetarianas. Ademas, contamos con un menú infantil. El lugar consta de dos salones con aire acondicionado y un patio con una barra. Se puede ambientar para cenas románticas, cumpleaños, eventos corporativos. Si se encuentra en Santa Marta, no puede irse sin probar nuestros platos clásicos de la costa.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Santa Marta had an impressive development in the last 5 years and a lot of new restaurants is the best sign, besides the recovery of the Parque de los Novios also called Santander as a vibrant spot of nightlife. The Marc de Sabores is one of the very good new restaurants of the city center. At walking distance from the Malecón and most of the also new hotels, the place is in an old house plainly decorated and simple setting, but good cuisine. I think they should define themselves to focus on local and Caribbean dishes and let the Peruvian experiments aside because the menu is a bit confusing offering the tipical "cayeye" (mashed plantain) but also causas (Peruvian mashed potato), but the clearly Caribbean ones are much better. I suggest to try the seafood or fish caceroles or the rices, being the best the lobster and shrimp risotto that could be really wonderful if served without the annoying half lobster in the shell, precisely the part with almost no lobster meat as it comes without the claws or tail, so the shell only accomplish a very doubtful decoration purpose and is misleading to the customer when the table is served with the tool and you think a full lobster is in the way. Much to be improved, but the restaurant has a lot of merit worth to try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guillermo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc A, Propriétaire at Marc de Sabores Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Thank you very much Guillermo.
Your comment is very valuable for us. We are very detail oriented, so your comment will help us a lot.
As you said we try to do our best. We are already thinking of some changes within the next few months. I hope next time you'll be here in Santa Marta to come around and check this out by yourself.
Again, thank you very much for your words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 148 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

Combine flavorful food, good service and s pleasant decor and you have Mar de Sabor. I live in Santa Marta and this is one of the best choices for a nice seafood dinner without breaking the bank.

Highly recommended.

Thank mikeethegerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc A, Propriétaire at Marc de Sabores Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Thank you very much Mike.
We are glad to know that you've enjoyed your experience.
We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

I wouldn’t go running back here for a second time.. plenty of other places to check out.. staff was a little slow and food was good but nothing I must have again..

Thank kenyagrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc A, Propietario at Marc de Sabores Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Thank you for your comment, we always try to improve our service and food, next time you will have a better experience if you give us a chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018

I had a very nice dinner with relatives in downtown Santa Marta. We had delicious seafood dishes, very tasty and typical.
Also, others ordered meat dishes, very good as well.
You have a lot of options regarding food and beverages. Best Quality/Price offer in downtown.
We had an amazing experience.
Go ahead without dubts.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Giulia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc A, Propietario at Marc de Sabores Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Thank you very much for your comments.
We are delighted to know that you had a very nice time in our restaurant.
You are welcome anytime! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

We had to walk to the waiter to ask for drinks because he wasn't walking around much. Got our first drinks after 30 minutes. Starters took 50 minutes. Chicken wings were really tasty! For our main course we had to wait for 2 hours more. Taste was ok but nothing special. We were a bit disappointed.

Thank Anne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc A, Propietario at Marc de Sabores Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Anne,
We apologize for the service this night. We were crowded. It has been a particular night, we were surprised. I understand your disappointment, unfortunately we were not able to reach your expectations. But, we will be glad to have you next time in a different situation and show you how good the experience is.
Thank you, your comment help us to improve our work in order to offer the best experience to our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marc de Sabores Restaurante also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to Marc de Sabores Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing