We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and friendly restaurant”
Review of El Rego Gastro Bar

El Rego Gastro Bar
Ranked #15 of 384 Restaurants in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Delicious hand crafted menu, mix of Asian and Western plates. Live music on weekends. Unique amazing cocktails, and the longest beer list in Santa Marta. Find us by the hand painted mural on the front of the house.
Restaurant details
Description: Delicious hand crafted menu, mix of Asian and Western plates. Live music on weekends. Unique amazing cocktails, and the longest beer list in Santa Marta. Find us by the hand painted mural on the front of the house.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

So we had just checked into our Airbnb and we are strolling down the streets of Santa Marta and we hear some great music coming out of this restaurant, so we wander in. As soon as we walk in we are greeted and sat right away. The owners of the restaurant who are the chef and the waitress are a couple. They are really nice and helpful people and even better they have a real passion for the food they make. They also offer a bunch of insight for the neighborhood. They also do a live band on Friday nights.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Asad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 87 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

This place is dope! Great food, cooked by the co-owner himself, great vibes and music choice, and friendly service. The inside has the old architechture and on weekends there is live music, where it gets packed with about 50-50 locals and foreigners. Affordable for sure if you are from another country. Prices are around 20 mil colombian pesos a dish give or take, and beers are definitely affordable. Around 4 to 9 mil pesos depending if it is craft or local colombian beer. Try the wing challenge if you dare (;

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

El Rego was our favorite place to eat in Santa Marta! We actually went twice in four days. The vibe is very fun and Anthony (owner and head chef) is super relaxed and welcoming. The chicken wings and burgers are among the best we’ve ever had. Highly, highly recommend!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank matthewlminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

My friends and I come here regularly, at least once a week when we were living in Santa Marta. Always guaranteed to have good music, the food is tasty and the drinks are original. Service is on point! It has a great atmosphere and is just off the really busy main street and is small making it perfect for more intimate setting with friends or dates. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank a k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

I live in Santa Marta and my friends I go here almost once a week. They have an amazing happy hour where you should definitely try their Magarindo (spelling?) cocktail! They have a ton of live music and it’s always unique cool talented musicians. Definitely stop by this place if you’re ever in the area!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank dingbatcosas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rego Gastro Bar also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to El Rego Gastro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing