We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun trip but thin walls!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun trip but thin walls!”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I and a friend stayed at the Water Club in July and were comped a room at the Borgota for 2 nights so we thought that we would try it to compare. The room is very similar to the Water Club with a few exceptions: No flat screen TV, no mini bar (but it had an empty fridge), no rainfall shower or shower massager, no desk or couch (but it had two chairs and was better for room service.) Overall, the room was very nice- almost not worth paying extra to stay at the Water Club. The real complaint that I had was the thin walls! You could hear everything not only in the rooms on each side of you, but accross the hall also! It is one thing to hear someone who is being loud, but I could hear every word of the conversation of the people next door and they were not speaking loudly. I heard explicit details of their late night romp also! How embarassing!

I would stay here again, but I certainly would be careful of what I do and say while in my room!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnabonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    1,155
    404
    177
    211
See reviews for
439
1,650
168
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We planned ti stay in Borgata for 2 days for my Husband's birthday. On our first night there we were bitten by bed bugs. We could not believe in what was happening! My leg and arms had huge bytes and when I called the Housekeeping they sent Security to our room (like the security guy would able to escort bed bugs out of the room). I was taken to the medical office where it was confirmed that that were bed bugs' bytes. I kept asking everybody were they aware of that problem before or it was the first incident. Everybody including the Manager of the Customer Service were denying personal knowledge of the problem. All we were offered was transfer to another room, as of bed bugs just contained to one room. We refused to move to any other room and left the hotel that morning! What a beautiful birthday we had! But the worse part that they keep checking people into infestated rooms and keep spreading these creatures around! They do not take any measures to cure the problem and do not offer any compensation to people who got bitten not to mention about moral and psychological damage.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
31 Thank faust2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We booked our room on the suggestion of friends. Overall, it was a nice stay. The weather was awful while we were there, but even if it were nice there wasn't a whole lot of outside space to explore or do anything for that matter. The indoor pool was over-taken by young children and the Water Tower indoor pool was crammed. I am a staunch non-smoker and that might be quite an oxymoron for a casino, but it is what it is. The smoking odor in the main hallways along the first/check-in floor is unescapable. The casino is designed such that the smoking section of slot machines greet you as you enter from the parking garage. While walking to the hotel restaurants in the hotel, the smoking odor pervades. You just can't escape the smoking odor at this hotel while on the main floor, and as a result I won't stay at this hotel again.

We did go to the V-Variety show at the Trump Plaza and took a cab from the Borgata to the Trump. The Trump gaming floor air quality was much better. There was a designated smoking lounge and the smoking slot machine area was off the main walkways. I enjoyed the nonsmoking blackjack tables. I have no ideas what the rooms look like at Trump. Our room at the Borgata was very nice, had a good sleep, and the shower was nice, though the glass door wasn't sealed properly and water leaked all over the floor.

All-in-all my experience at Borgata was just OK. I would not stay here again because of the smokey atmosphere and will try other locations in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cityheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstown, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I writing this to hopefully help someone else avoid the mistake I made. I went to the Borgata for my 10 wedding anniversary. I assumed that higest price would equal highest quality. Wrong. Where do I start, the checking line was 35 minutes. When we got to the room it smelled like smoke ev though it was a non-smoking room. The rug was stained and there was food debris on the floor. The sheets had either mold or mascara on them and the blanket (if you can call it that) was a cheap, thin, sorry excuse. Our view was of the roof of another building. We later ordered room service and they brought 1/2 the order. Perhaps the most annoying thing about my stay was the staff. My politely bringing any of these problems to their attention was either met with an eye roll, out and out laughter, or the statement "that isnt my department", not once did I feel like any of them cared one tiny bit that I was actually embarassed for having brought my wife there. Never again will I stay at the Borgata. We ended up going to another property and having a great time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mike3322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The Borgata is nice but in my opinion very overpriced. The rooms are ok...but nothing great and I'm not really sure what all the hoopla is about this place. It is much nicer than most other hotels in Atlantic City but too pricey. Think I would put the money to good use in another spot.
Saw a great show...but it was mayhem when it was time to exit!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Linda0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

While the Borgata is in my opinion the nicest casino in Atlantic City, there still are many changes and improvements that could and should be made. First of all, their standard check out time is 11:00 AM, while at every other casino it is 12/noon. And, if you want to request a late check-out, giving you only 1 additional hour, you must call customer care to have a rep check and see how much you have gambled, in order to determine if you have earned that extra hour or not.

Speaking of gambling, while their slots do seem somewhat looser than most, (especially Harrahs who have the tightest slots in AC) accumulating comp and slot dollars here will cost you more. I wouldn’t mind that so much, but what irritates me, as a Black Label member is that their exclusive lounge, the Amphora, charges an additional $10 comp dollars per person for entry! (While Harrahs has the most complaints of any casino, at least Diamond members, the equivalent of Black Label, can visit any Diamond Lounge without being charged.) Perhaps the Borgata feels the justification for the charge is in order due to the higher quality food and alcohol served?

As far as standard rooms, while all are nice, they are beginning to show wear and tear. Especially strange are the very old, outdated TV sets they have, flat screens are only found in premium rooms.

While you can bring your laptop to their living room and surf the net for free, there is a charge for internet/WIFI service in your room. ALso, there is a charge to use the fitness room. Both are ludicrous to me in this day and age, when almost all standard chain hotels offer both free of charge.

I would recommend the Borgata over all other casino/hotels in AC, but that doesn’t mean it is without flaws. In addition to the above issues, I want to state that the rooms and restaurants are very expensive, and in my opinion overpriced. This isn’t Vegas, so for those thinking and expecting that the Borgata will offer the closest experience to a luxury Las Vegas casino/hotel in Atlantic City, please think again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank NYgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

My stay at the Borgata was just ok, nothing special, and it certainly wasn't on par with the upscale Vegas hotels, in my opinion. I thought the Tropicana had more of a Vegas style hotel, big casino feel to it than the Borgata, but customer service at the Trop is terrible to non-existent. If the Trop had the same wonderful customer service as the Borgata, I would rather stay there. I also prefer Harrah's to the Borgata because their indoor adult pool with retractable roof is totally awesome, and it includes a restaurant with tables serving food and beverage, and beverage service at the pool.

Pros: Speedy/early check-in, good customer service, nice room and shower, nice room views of Atlantic City skyline, good security at elevator banks, comedy club.

Cons: Small indoor pool full of kids, no snack bar or drinks at outdoor lounge area next to indoor pool, small casino.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
0.9 km away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
17,359 reviews
2.4 km away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 49 in Atlantic City
10,074 reviews
0.2 km away
The Water Club by Borgata
The Water Club by Borgata
#4 of 49 in Atlantic City
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
8,486 reviews
2.2 km away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
2.3 km away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#3 of 49 in Atlantic City
3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa

Property: Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Address: 1 Borgata Way, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Family Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#1 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2002
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgata Hotel Casino And Spa
Borgata Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Casinos
Bogata Atlantic City
Borgata Atlantic City
Atlantic City Borgata Hotel
Borgata Ac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing