We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best Seafood in Atlantic City”

Dock's Oyster House
Reserve with OpenTable
Dock's Oyster House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 399 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Georgia Avenue
Atlantic City
Level Contributor
216 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Still the Best Seafood in Atlantic City”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We visited on a VERY BUSY Wednesday night. We called for reservations three days in advance and the earliest seating was for 8:00 PM, which is a little late for us. But, we wanted to eat at Dock's, so we made the reservation. We were seated at 8:05, Very good considering the crowd. It was a little noisy because of the huge crowd, but not unbearable. The Maine Clam chowder is the best anywhere. The fillet of flounder stuffed with crab was delicious, as was the Filet Mignon. The pound cake with chocolate ice cream was wonderful. The service was very prompt and attentive, despite the sell out crowd. Once again, the Dougherty family excels!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elman1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    928
    213
    57
    34
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I can't believe this is the #1 restaurant in AC!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I were both shocked by the quality of the food after we had our meal. The seafood tower for 2 was pretty good but we have had better and the entrees were a disappointment. I had the scallop entree which was loaded with oil and didn't have any flavor to it. All i could taste was salt. My husband's entree was the sushi grade tuna which was also okay. Myabe we are used to excellent seafood since we live close to NYC but there are other restaurants in AC such as Seablue which are amazing. Another downside to this place is that the tables are very close to each other and the lady next to us wouldnt stop talking to us which was very annoying. We would not go back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Upas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npdsgt618
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great Atlantic City original!”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

always outstanding. great food, great service. an AC legacy

Helpful?
Thank npdsgt618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The top seafood HOUSE”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Regardless this is the TOP SEAFOOD HOUSE Nothing More to say --100 yr old --eat there when i was a kid now 65 years still doing it

Helpful?
Thank Cook125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozier, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Awesome Birthday Destination!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Went here with my husband to celebrate my birthday and it was fantastic. I know why they have been in business since 1895. I had their Main clam chowder and it was served with the clams still in the shell - it was like a creamy potato soup with the addition of the clams. My husband had the fried oyster dinner and said it was the best oysters he has ever had. If we ever return to Atlantic City, I will visit this place again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danmar333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dock's Oyster House also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Dock's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing