We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Review Highlights
FANTASTIC, Love the Playhouse. A must go for all

My first time going there was in January, I so enjoyed the playhouse, that I keep bringing friends... read more

Reviewed March 25, 2024
GailL594
,
Matawan, New Jersey
via mobile
Extraordinary

The cast was absolutely phenomenal, the energy level was palpable, the talent rivaled anything I’ve... read more

Reviewed August 13, 2023
OnAir314707
,
Palm Beach, Florida
via mobile
Read all 125 reviews
  
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
112
10
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
112
10
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cake every month opening night intimate setting amazing performance talented actors coffee or tea next month driving miss daisy look forward an added bonus last saturday mouse trap any age wonderful play non stop new york
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 125 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2017

Funny, great show. The actors were wonderful, the desserts were delicious and both the staff and patrons were sociable.
Can't wait to see another show.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank morriselsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S-E P, Public Relations Manager at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Thank you for your great review!
We look forward to your next visit to our Playhouse.
With a new production every month, for the past 28 years, there's always something to enjoy and a piece of yummy cake waiting for you.


*Please note that Reservations may only be made by calling our reservation line, They may NOT be made online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2016

Last weekend I attended the opening performance of "Sleeping Indoors", this year's holiday offering at First Avenue. Each December, I look forward to the holiday season inspired plays, and this year's was worth the wait. This is a funny funny warm and thoughtful story about..., well, you should see it for yourself. The doors open a little before 8 pm, so have dinner at home or your favorite restaurant, then relax in the theatre and have coffee and dessert. For those of you that don't want to venture out at night, I see on the website that there are 2 Sunday matinees in December. This beautiful and humorous play, starring 4 talented actors, will really put a smile on your face, and the spirit of the season in your heart. Do yourself a favor and call for your reservation now.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank NJJUDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 25, 2016

We always enjoy our night out at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre. Always friendly and comfortable. The monthly shows have variety and there is always a mix of new and familiar actors onstage. A real gem.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank EAD714
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S-E P, Public Relations Manager at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Come back and visit us this month for our November musical revue.....Break A Leg On Broadway.
Thanks for the review. We look forward to your next visit to our intimate venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

Great show. The story line was interesting and funny and the dessert and coffee was a plus after the dinner at a local restaurant.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
S-E P, Public Relations Manager at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Thanks for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed the play. We hope you'll come back and see us soon.


Thanks for the great review! We're glad you had an enjoyable time.
Every month there is a new production. When one play is onstage another is in rehearsal.
Onstage in August "Adam's Eve" by Matthew Carlin Directed by Dave Mc Grath will surely tickle you!
In September "Cheaper By The Dozen" by Frank and Earnestine Gilbreth, with director Gina Shuster. This entertaining play tells the true story of a dad, his twelve children and their lives as efficient family. The authors are actually two of the children from this family.
We look forward to your return visits. Reserve Early!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2016

My husband and i did a date night last month and saw our first play at the First Avenue Theater. We both weren't sure what to expect. We were happily surprised. The play was great....had a good story line, was very funny and the ladies put on an excellent performance. Everyone was super nice... including the performers, who we got to meet afterwards. We will definitely be back! Job well done!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank KLD408
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews