We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
13
7
6
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
7
6
4
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 36 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

We booked an all inclusive land-based tour through a travel agency in New York. Hotel Tortuga was the home base for this tour and we couldn't be happier. The manager, Carlos, made sure that we were well taken care off. We were given personal attention - most of our tours included just my family and the hotel staff personally accompanied us to any larger excursions in order to ensure we made our connections correctly. We enjoyed our time so much that we stayed an extra two days. Even though these extra days were not part of our all-inclusive package, Carlos helped us secure day trips and followed up with the providers to make sure things went smoothly. The distance from the town center was not a problem at all. We went on excursions right after breakfast and returned for lunch when we naturally needed a break and some "down-time". We were off again for another activity in the afternoon. The food was very good. Lots of fresh fruit and fruit juices every morning along with the standard breakfast foods.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Freedom664492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

I feel like we were scammed. We booked hotel in centre if city and under a different name and when we showed up it was about a 10min car drive to city and under a different name. When we asked they pretended that it must be our booking site but I looked on 3 different booking sites and all were the same. You have to take a taxi in every time. The actual hotel is nice. Big rooms. Quiet. Pool was nice. But for us it is all about location and was very disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

We went for a family vacations to Galapagos and we choose this hotel we were really disappointed for the location of the hotel is really far from downtown you must use taxis for move. You need to think that you will not expend much time at the hotel so you do not need a fancy hotel instead look for something clean and in a good location (downtown) so you will be close to everything.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank juanrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2015

We enjoyed the peace and quiet but this hotel has some issues with water pressure.
Food was ok and our room was clean and confortable. Managers and staff very good and very helpful.
Because of our location Taxis always necessary to do anything.

Room tip: Wifi in lobby only no dif in rooms.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welltravelled019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2015 via mobile

We were sold this hotel as a all inclusive luxury resort,but not with the name of Tortuga Bay,but as Galapagos Garden hotel.The reason for that is because it doesn't have any bad reviews as Galapagos Garden so when you get there ,they will tell you we just changed the name.The food is very basic,its what you should expect from the charity organisation on the streets for free.If the whole food is not finished,don't worry,they will mix it with something else and give it to you as your next meal.Don't dare to ask for more food if you are hungry,as for them all inclusive mean,1egg and a mini bread roll,the dessert is 1grape,a mini slice of banana and a tiny piece of water melon.The rooms are basic but good size,if you want a hot shower,you need to let the water running for 15-20 minutes before you get hot water.Nobody speaks English.The swimming pool look like it never been cleaned and the jacuzzi is with cold water.As for entertainment,you can play pool (but the 1-5 balls are missing) so you can start from ball 6 and the table lean on one side.The wi-fi works only near the reception but if more than 2/3 people are connected it doesn't work.
Dinner is 7pm-8pm,but if you arrive 7:25 the kitchen is cleaned up,as the same 2 lady's are cooking breakfast,lunch and dinner and they can't wait to go home.All inclusive drinks are considered a glass of juice with your main meal and a cup of coffee.If you are thirsty you have access to water at certain times.You can have a snack 5-5:30pm (crisps,water or juice in a plastic cup)
Don't go there as is one of the worst hotels I have seen,,and I have been on few around the world.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank selenicari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews